NEW YORK — Already being outplayed by Sam Stosur in the U.S. Open women's final, the last thing Serena Williams needed was to lose a game for yelling during a point.
That's exactly what happened early in the second set, leading to an argument between Williams and the chair umpire, a scene just a little less ugly than the American's tirade two years ago at the same event. In the end, Stosur beat Williams 6-2, 6-3 on Sunday in a surprisingly lopsided upset for her first Grand Slam title.
"I guess to go out there and play the way I did is obviously just an unbelievable feeling," said Stosur, a Tampa resident who will rise to No. 7 in today's rankings, "and you always hope and you want to be able to do that, but to actually do it, is unbelievable."
Hitting powerful strokes from the baseline and looking fresher than Williams right from the start, the ninth-seeded Stosur became the first Australian woman to win a major title since Evonne Goolagong Cawley at Wimbledon in 1980. Goolagong Cawley texted Stosur from Australia: "Twinkletoes, you finally have got what you deserved."
Only 2-9 in tournament finals before beating Williams, Stosur made the U.S. Open the third consecutive Grand Slam tournament with a first-time women's major champion, after Li Na at the French Open and Petra Kvitova at Wimbledon.
"She played really, really well. I mean, I don't think she's ever played that well," Williams said. "Maybe she has; I haven't seen her play that well."
This was only the 27-year-old Stosur's third title at any tour-level event. She took advantage of Williams' so-so serving and stayed steady throughout despite the events that unfolded in the second set.
Down a set and facing a break point in the first game of the second, Williams, a 13-time major champion, hit a forehand and shouted, "Come on!" as Stosur reached for a backhand. Chair umpire Eva Asderaki ruled that Williams hindered Stosur's ability to complete the point and awarded it to Stosur, putting her ahead 1-0 in that set.
Williams told Asderaki, "I'm not giving her that game," and later added, "I promise you, that's not cool."
Some fans booed, delaying the start of the next game.
Tournament director Brian Earley said Asderaki's ruling was proper, according to U.S. Tennis Association spokesman Chris Widmaier.
International Tennis Federation rules say: "If a player is hindered in playing the point by a deliberate act of the opponent(s), the player shall win the point. However, the point shall be replayed if a player is hindered in playing the point by either an unintentional act of the opponent(s), or something outside the player's own control (not including a permanent fixture)."
Asderaki issued a code violation warning for verbal abuse, and Widmaier said Earley would determine today whether Williams would be fined. She was fined $92,500 in 2009 after a profanity-laced tirade at a line judge at the Open.
Williams had trouble putting the episode behind. During the next changeover, Williams continued to talk to Asderaki, saying: "You're out of control."
When Stosur wrapped up the match with a forehand winner, Williams refused to shake hands with the chair umpire.
Asked about being awarded the point because of Williams' shout, Stosur said: "I guess the rules of tennis are there for a reason. She made the call that she felt was right."