Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

All-Pinellas County boys tennis

Shorecrest’s Garrett Betsarakis just wrapped up his second consecutive undefeated regular season.


Shorecrest’s Garrett Betsarakis just wrapped up his second consecutive undefeated regular season.

Player of the Year Garrett Betsarakis, So., Shorecrest

Betsarakis rolled through the regular season undefeated for the second straight year while repeating as the district champion in singles and doubles. The talented sophomore led Shorecrest to wins over Berkeley Prep and Tampa Prep in the region tournament, then won his first-round match at the state tournament before falling to Class A overall singles champion Andrew Butz (St. Edward's) in a tight three-setter. Betsarakis was the only player out of four to take a set off Butz. Shorecrest, despite missing No. 2 player Alex Saltiel, finished in a tie for fifth at the state tournament.

Most impressive accomplishment: Behind Betsarakis' straight-sets win at No. 1, Shorecrest led Tampa Prep 3-2 after singles play in the region final. The Chargers' hopes of returning to state looked bleak though, after its No. 2 doubles team lost while Betsarakis and partner Matt Smith dropped the first set in a tiebreaker. With the match on the line, Betsarakis and Smith won the second and third sets 6-2 to complete a 4-3 (matches) victory. "We definitely stepped it up in the last two sets," Betsarakis said. One other note: in two seasons, Betsarakis has lost just two singles matches, both at state.

Did you know? A two-time Times player of the year, Betsarakis is currently training for the USTA Florida state closed singles sectional tournament to be held in Daytona Beach on June 6-11. Playing in the 16-and-under bracket, he is one of a handful of players with a legitimate shot to win the prestigious tournament. Last season, Betsarakis made it to the quarterfinals. "It's the biggest tournament on a sectional level in Florida. I really want to win it this year," he said.

First team

Michael Beiler, So., Dunedin: Won singles and doubles titles at 3A-7 district tournament to advance to states.

Edward Corty, So., St. Petersburg: Top singles player for St. Petersburg team that won its second straight district (4A-5) title.

Alex Fisch, Sr., Palm Harbor University: Can overpower opponents with his groundstrokes or finish off points with touch at the net.

Ryan Frazier, Sr., Osceola: Upset by Beiler in district final but was arguably the county's most consistent performer during the regular season.

Matt Herrock, Sr., East Lake: A PCAC second-team selection at No. 1 singles, Herrock gave the Eagles a fighting chance in every match.

Second team

Luke Burton, Sr., St. Petersburg Catholic

Dan Lang, Jr., Seminole

Robbie Nichols, Sr., Lakewood

Philip Novikov, Jr., St. Petersburg

Ricky Symanski, So., Clearwater Central Catholic

Honorable mention

Canterbury: Miles Holveit

Clearwater Central Catholic: Jose Lazaro

Dunedin: Admir Tabak

Lakewood: Nick Voce

Northeast: Trevor Van Lede-Zinn

Palm Harbor University: Peter Glomb

St. Petersburg: Robert Perry

St. Petersburg Catholic: A.J. Schuyler

Seminole: Alex Schultz

Shorecrest: Matt Smith

Coach of the Year Alan Turnquist, St. Petersburg

In his final season as Green Devils coach, Turnquist guided a young — one junior, two sophomores, two freshmen — St. Petersburg squad to its second straight district (4A-5) title.

Bryan Burns, Times staff writer

All-Pinellas County boys tennis 06/01/09 [Last modified: Monday, June 1, 2009 10:40pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Anthem protest, the latest: Jerry Jones joins Cowboys on field in show of solidarity


    As President Donald Trump continued tweeting Monday about his displeasure with NFL players for staging demonstrations during the national anthem, the Cowboys took a knee on the field just before the anthem was performed on Monday Night Football. Dallas players were joined by owner Jerry Jones, and they quickly …

    Cowboys owner Jerry Jones, center, joins the team in taking a knee before the national anthem Monday night. They stood and linked arms for the anthem.
  2. Bucs journal: Gerald McCoy says players who kneel have team's support


    TAMPA — Receivers Mike Evans and DeSean Jackson were the only Bucs players kneeling during the national anthem before Sunday's game against the Vikings, but DT Gerald McCoy said the team supports their protest "100 percent."

    Bucs tight end Cameron Brate pulls in a touchdown catch as Vikings safety Andrew Sendejo (34) hits him in the back of the head.
  3. Rays at Yankees, 7:05 p.m. Tuesday, New York

    The Heater

    Tonight: at Yankees

    7:05, Yankee Stadium, New York

    TV/radio: Fox Sports Sun; 620-AM, 680-AM (Spanish)

    Tampa Bay Rays' Blake Snell poses for a picture during the team's photo day at baseball spring training in Port Charlotte, Fla., Saturday, Feb. 18, 2017. (AP Photo/David Goldman)
  4. Luke Del Rio regains UF starting job, for now


    GAINESVILLE — Luke Del Rio is once again the starting quarterback for No. 21 Florida.

    Luke Del Rio provided a needed spark when he replaced starter Feleipe Franks and rallied Florida past Kentucky.
  5. Four questions the Lightning still has to answer

    Lightning Strikes

    FORT LAUDERDALE — The Lightning made its biggest round of cuts Monday, with some of the big-name prospects heading out.

    Tampa Bay Lightning forward Steven Stamkos (91) looks on from the bench during a shift change at Lightning hockey training camp in Brandon on Monday (09/18/17). In background on right is Nikita Kucherov (86). DIRK SHADD   |   Times