weather unavailableweather unavailable
Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

This time, it's unanimous

LeBron James never did it. Neither did Magic Johnson or Larry Bird, or Wilt Chamberlain and Bill Russell. Even Michael Jordan never did it.

But Tuesday, Stephen Curry did. After a record-breaking season, he became the first player in NBA history to be elected MVP by a unanimous vote.

Curry revolutionized the game this season, pouring in a record-shattering 402 3-point shots while leading the Warriors to an all-time best 73-9 record.

All 131 voters chose him as the MVP. Kawhi Leonard of the Spurs placed second and James third, based on second- and third-place votes.

Before Curry, two players — James and Shaquille O'Neal — came within a single vote of the elusive unanimous MVP.

In 2013, James led the Heat to a 66-16 record. He got 120 votes, but one voter opted for Carmelo Anthony of the Knicks, who had led the league in scoring. In 2000, O'Neal's only MVP title came within a whisker of being unanimous. His Lakers were 67-15, and he led the league in scoring. He also took the support of 120 voters, with one opting instead for Allen Iverson.

This time, it's unanimous 05/10/16 [Last modified: Tuesday, May 10, 2016 8:02pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

Copyright: For copyright information, please check with the distributor of this item, New York Times.

Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours