Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Up next auto races on major circuits

Sprint Cup

What: Aaron's 499

When/where: Today, practice (Speed, 2 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (Speed, 11:30 a.m.); Sunday, race (Ch. 13, 1 p.m.); Talladega, Ala.

Fast facts: Dale Earnhardt Jr. has five Talladega victories, taking a record four straight from 2001-2003. He's winless in 100 races and has one victory — on fuel mileage at Michigan in June 2008 — in 115 starts for Hendrick Motorsports. He had 17 victories in 291 starts in nine seasons for Dale Earnhardt Inc., winning six times in 2004. … Clint Bowyer won the October race at the track. … Michael Waltrip is attempting to make his first Sprint Cup start since the season-opening Daytona 500. He has made 49 Talladega starts, winning the 2003 fall race.

Standings: 1. Carl Edwards, 256; 2. Kyle Busch, 247; 3. Matt Kenseth and Jimmie Johnson, 243; 5. Kurt Busch, 240; 6. Earnhardt, 235; 7. Ryan Newman, 233; 8. Juan Montoya, 232; 9. Kevin Harvick, 228; 10. Tony Stewart, 213


What: Aaron's 312

When/where: Today, qualifying (Speed, noon); Saturday, race (ESPN2, 3 p.m.); Talladega, Ala.

Fast facts: Kyle Busch has three victories this year to push his Nationwide total to 46, three behind Mark Martin for the series record. … Dale Earnhardt Jr. is making his eighth series start at Talladega. He won the 2003 race.

Standings: 1. Ricky Stenhouse, 218; 2. Jason Leffler, 204; 3. Justin Allgaier, 194; 4. Elliott Sadler and Reed Sorenson, 188


What: Grand Prix of Long Beach

When/where: Today, practice; Saturday, practice, qualifying (Versus, 6 p.m.); Sunday, race (Versus, 4:30 p.m.); Long Beach, Calif.

Fast facts: Dario Franchitti won the 2009 race. … Canadian star Paul Tracy, a four-time Long Beach winner, is making his first start of the season, driving Jay Penske-owned Dragon Racing's No. 8 car. … Four past race winners and four IndyCar series champions are among the drivers named to the 42 entries filed for the Indianapolis 500, scheduled for May 29. Eighty-three cars comprise the 42 entries, the most since 2002. The defending 500 champions trying to make the field: Franchitti (2007, 2010), Helio Castroneves (2001-02, 2009), Scott Dixon (2008) and Dan Wheldon (2005). Standings: 1. Will Power, 94; 2. Franchitti, 87; 3. Tony Kanaan, 63; 4. Dixon and Simona de Silvestro, 54

Formula One

What: Chinese Grand Prix

When/where: Saturday, qualifying (Speed, 2 a.m.); Sunday, race (Speed, 3 a.m.); Shanghai

Fast facts: Sebastien Vettel is attempting to become the first driver since Michael Schumacher in 2004 to start the season with three straight victories. He has 12 victories in 64 career starts. … Schumacher won the 2006 race for the last of his record 91 victories.

Standings: 1. Vettel, 50; 2. Jenson Button, 26; 3. Lewis Hamilton and Mark Webber, 22; 5. Fernando Alonso, 20


What: 4-Wide Nationals

When/where: Today, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 6 p.m.); Sunday, final eliminations (ESPN2, 7 p.m.); Concord, N.C.

Standings: Top Fuel — 1. Del Worsham, 265; 2. Antron Brown, 257. Funny Car — 1. Robert Hight, 289; 2. Cruz Pedregon, 241. Pro Stock — 1. Jason Line, 289; 2. Greg Stanfield, 222. Pro Stock Motorcycle — 1. Eddie Krawiec, 124; 2. Hector Arana, 104


Next: Bully Hill Vineyards 200, April 22, Nashville Superspeedway, Gladeville, Tenn.

Standings: 1. Johnny Sauter, 150; 2. Matt Crafton, 145; 3. Timothy Peters, 143; 4. Cole Whitt, 143; 5. Ron Hornaday, 141

Up next auto races on major circuits 04/14/11 [Last modified: Thursday, April 14, 2011 7:28pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. College World Series: Gators, LSU face off in all-SEC finals


    OMAHA, Neb. — The matchup for the College World Series finals bolsters the case for those who say the best baseball in the land is played in the SEC.

    Florida’s Brady Singer, delivering during a CWS win over Louisville last week, is scheduled to start tonight against LSU.
  2. Jones: Fox Sports Sun shows depth in Rays coverage

    TV and Radio

    tom jones' two cents

    Tampa Bay Times columnist Tom Jones looks back at the best and worst from a weekend of televised sports.

    Best coverage

    Tampa Bay Rays third baseman Evan Longoria (3) makes a run home for a score in the in the final game of a three-game series between the Tampa Bay Rays and AL East rival the Baltimore Orioles at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Fla. on Sunday, June 25, 2017.
  3. Brian Boyle says returning to Lightning a 'huge option'


    As former Lightning forward Brian Boyle approaches free agency this week, he said he's trying to stay busy.

  4. Rays journal: Blake Snell to rejoin rotation, Erasmo Ramirez heads to bullpen

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — LHP Blake Snell is rejoining the Rays' rotation, but the move has as much to do with helping the bullpen as it does with Snell's improvement during his time at Triple-A Durham.

    Tampa Bay Rays relief pitcher Erasmo Ramirez (30) delivers a pitch in the first inning against the Cincinnati Reds Wednesday, June 21, 2017 in St. Petersburg.
  5. Rays' bullpen stars lit up in loss to Orioles

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — Saturday it was the soft underbelly of the bullpen that let one get away from the Rays, incurring the wrath of the team's faithful followers, who wondered why the high-leverage guys weren't pitching.

    Rays closer Alex Colome, coming in with the score tied in the ninth, allows three runs in his second straight poor outing.