weather unavailableweather unavailable
Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Up next races on major auto racing circuits


What: Edmonton Indy

When/where: Today, practice; Saturday, practice, qualifying (NBC Sports Network, 6:30 p.m.); Sunday, race (NBC Sports Network, 2:35 p.m.); Edmonton

Fast facts: Ryan Hunter-Reay is trying to become the first driver in six years to win four straight races. … The race is the seventh of the season on road or street courses. Helio Castroneves won the opener at St. Petersburg. … Graham Rahal is giving fans a chance to design the helmet he'll wear in the series season finale. The helmet design contest will be run through Aug. 8 by the Graham Rahal Foundation. Fans can access a premade helmet template and create a design. Rahal will select the top-five designs and put them to a vote on the foundation website. The winning design will be painted by Art Rotondo for Rahal to use in the Sept. 15 finale.

Standings: 1. Hunter-Reay, 335; 2. Will Power, 301; 3. Castroneves, 289; 4. Scott Dixon, 281; 5. James Hinchcliffe, 268


What: STP 300

When/where: Saturday, practice (ESPN2, 12:30 p.m. and 2:30 p.m.); Sunday, qualifying (ESPN2, 11:30 a.m.), race (ESPN, 3 p.m.); Joliet, Ill.

Fast facts: Kyle Busch is the only Sprint Cup regular entered. He has a record 51 Nationwide victories, two at Chicagoland, but is winless in nine starts this year in his Kyle Busch Motor­sports No. 54 Toyota. He raced to his last 36 victories and 38 overall in Joe Gibbs Racing's No. 18 Toyota. … Brad Keselowski won the September race last year.

Standings: 1. Elliott Sadler, 628; 2. Austin Dillon, 625; 3. Ricky Stenhouse, 612; 4. Sam Hornish, 596; 5. Justin Allgaier, 555


What: American Ethanol 225

When/where: Today, practice; Saturday, qualifying (Speed, 4 p.m.), race (Speed, 8 p.m.); Joliet, Ill.

Fast facts: Todd Bodine will make a milestone start in the race at Chicagoland Speedway. The event will be the 200th for Bodine, making him the only driver with at least 200 starts in all three of NASCAR's national series. "You get into this sport because you love it, want to go in circles, win races and have fun, and here we are 21 years later with all these starts, and a lot of wins, good times and great friends," Bodine, 48, said. "It seems just like yesterday I was running my first race at Stafford Springs." Bodine has made 241 starts in Sprint Cup and 325 in Nationwide. His 766 starts rank 20th all-time in combined series starts. … Austin Dillon, who won the truck series championship last season, is now driving in Nationwide, where he is second in the standings.

Standings: 1. Timothy Peters, 353; 2. Justin Lofton, 341; 3. Ty Dillon, 339; 4. James Buescher, 313; 5. Parker Kligerman, 306

Formula One

What: German Grand Prix

When/where: Today, practice (Speed, 8 a.m.); Saturday, practice, qualifying (Speed, 8 a.m.); Sunday, race, 8 a.m. (Ch. 13, noon, taped); Hockenheim, Germany

Fast facts: Seven-time season champion Michael Schumacher is making his final F1 start in his home country. The 43-year-old has a record 91 victories, four at Hockenheimring. He's winless since returning to racing in 2010 after a three-year retirement.

Standings: 1. Fernando Alonso, 129; 2. Mark Webber, 116; 3. Sebastian Vettel, 100; 4. Lewis Hamilton, 92; 5. Kimi Raikkonen, 83


What: Mile-High Nationals

When/where: Today, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 5 p.m.); Sunday, final eliminations (ESPN2, 7 p.m.); Morrison, Colo.

Standings: Top Fuel — 1. Spencer Massey, 984; 2. Tony Schumacher, 955. Funny Car — 1. Robert Hight, 1,001; 2. Ron Capps, 914. Pro Stock — 1. Greg Anderson, 1,033; 2. Jason Line, 998. Pro Stock Motorcycle — 1. Eddie Krawiec, 597; 2. Andrew Hines, 571

Sprint Cup

Next: Brickyard 400, July 29, Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Standings: 1. Matt Kenseth, 707; 2. Dale Earnhardt Jr., 691; 3. Greg Biffle, 667; 4. Jimmie Johnson, 656; 5. Denny Hamlin, 628; 6. Kevin Harvick, 622; 7. Tony Stewart, 618; 8. Martin Truex, 617; 9. Clint Bowyer, 614; 10. Brad Keselowski, 613.

Up next races on major auto racing circuits

07/19/12 [Last modified: Thursday, July 19, 2012 10:07pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

Copyright: For copyright information, please check with the distributor of this item, Times wires.

Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours