Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Upcoming auto races on major racing circuits

Sprint Cup

What: Toyota/Save Mart 350

When/where: Today, practice (Speed, 3 p.m.), qualifying (Speed, 6:30 p.m.); Saturday, practice (Speed, 12:30 p.m.); Sunday, race (TNT, 3 p.m.); Sonoma, Calif.

Fast facts: Jeff Gordon has a Cup-record nine road-course wins, five at Sonoma and four at Watkins Glen. … Juan Montoya won the 2007 race for his lone Cup victory. Before joining NASCAR, the Colombian won seven Formula One races, the 1999 Champ Car title and 11 open-wheel races. … Kyle Busch swept the 2008 road-course races at Infineon and Watkins Glen. … Tony Stewart won in August at Watkins Glen. He has seven round-course wins, two at Infineon and five at Watkins Glen.

Standings: 1. Kevin Harvick, 2,169; 2. Kyle Busch, 2,147; 3. Denny Hamlin, 2,122; 4. Kurt Busch, 2,051; 5. Matt Kenseth, 2,019; 6. Jimmie Johnson, 1,999; 7. Gordon, 1,987; 8. Jeff Burton, 1,945; 9. Greg Biffle, 1,865; 10. Carl Edwards, 1,856; 11. Stewart, 1,840; 12. Mark Martin, 1,826


What: Bucyrus 200

When/where: Today, practice; Saturday, qualifying, race (ESPN2, 3:30 p.m.); Elkhart Lake, Wis.

Fast facts: Carl Edwards, Brad Keselowski and Paul Menard will drive in the afternoon race, then fly to Sonoma, Calif., in time for Sunday's Sprint Cup race. And yes, rivals Edwards and Keselow­ski — who tangled on the track at Atlanta earlier in the season — will be taking separate airplanes. "The FAA requested it," Keselowski said. "Just kidding." Edwards has made the most of his commute in recent years, winning the past two Nationwide races at the Milwaukee Mile. But those races might be the Mile's last gasp, at least as far as NASCAR is concerned. Facing financial problems, the historic oval has withdrawn from hosting major racing events. Taking its place on the Nationwide schedule is Road America, a four-mile road course. … Canadian road racer Ron Fellows, a four-time Nationwide winner on road courses, is driving the Dale Earnhardt Jr.-owned No. 88 Chevrolet. Fellows has Trans-Am and American Le Mans wins at Road America. … Jacques Villeneuve, the 1997 Formula 1 champion, will be in Braun Racing's No. 32 Toyota. He won CART races at the track in 1994 and 1995.

Standings: 1. Keselowski, 2,306; 2. Edwards, 2,034; 3. Justin Allgaier, 1,993; 4. Kyle Busch, 1,945; 5. Kevin Harvick, 1,852; 6. Menard, 1,745; 7. Joey Logano, 1,593; 8. Steve Wallace, 1,536; 9. Brendan Gaughan, 1,520; 10. Jason Leffler, 1,450


What: Iowa Corn Indy 250

When/where: Saturday, practice, qualifying (Versus, 6 p.m.; Sunday, race (Versus, 2:30 p.m.); Newton, Iowa

Fast facts: St. Petersburg resident Dan Wheldon won the 2008 race for Ganassi, driving the final 90 laps without pitting. … Former NASCAR star Rusty Wallace designed the track.

Standings: 1. Dario Franchitti, 246; 2. Will Power, 243; 3. Scott Dixon, 235; 4. Helio Castroneves, 211; 5. Ryan Briscoe, 208


What: Thunder Valley Nationals

When/where: Today, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 7 p.m.); Sunday, final eliminations (ESPN2, 4 p.m.); Bristol, Tenn.

Fast facts: Mike Edwards (Pro Stock) has won three straight events and seven of 11 this season.

Standings: Top Fuel — 1. Larry Dixon, 1,092; 2. Tony Schumacher, 893. Funny Car — 1. Robert Hight, 844; 2. John Force, 819. Pro Stock — 1. Mike Edwards, 1,213; 2. Allen Johnson, 802. Pro Stock Motorcyle — 1. Hector Arana, 615; 2. Michael Phillips, 488


Next: Lucas Oil 200, July 11, Iowa Speedway, Newton, Iowa

Standings: 1. Todd Bodine, 1,443; 2. Aric Almirola, 1,388; 3. Timothy Peters, 1,278; 4. Ron Hornaday, 1,273; 5. Johnny Sauter, 1,179

Formula One

Next: European Grand Prix, June 27, Valencia, Spain

Standings: 1. Lewis Hamilton, 109; 2. Jenson Button, 106; 3. Mark Webber, 103; 4. Fernando Alonso, 94; 5. Sebastian Vettel, 90

Upcoming auto races on major racing circuits 06/17/10 [Last modified: Thursday, June 17, 2010 8:38pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Rowdies settle for draw at home


    ST. PETERSBURG — The good news for the Rowdies is that they still haven't lost a game at Al Lang Stadium since late April. The bad news is they had to settle for a 1-1 tie against Ottawa on Saturday night in front of 6,710 sweaty fans.

  2. Bats come to life, but Rays' freefall continues (w/video)

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG —The six runs seemed like a ton, just the second time the Rays had scored that many in a game during their numbing two-plus-weeks stretch of offensive impotency, and amazingly, the first time at the Trop in nearly two months.

    Lucas Duda connects for a two-run home run in the sixth, getting the Rays within 7-5. A Logan Morrison home run in the ninth made it 7-6, but Tampa Bay couldn’t complete the comeback.
  3. Rays journal: Cesar Puello, who has one major-league game, claimed off waivers

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — Looking to add punch to their right-handed lineup, the Rays claimed OF Cesar Puello off waivers Saturday from the Angels.

  4. Marc Topkin's takeaways from Saturday's Rays-Mariners game

    The Heater

    SS Adeiny Hechavarria doesn't always look like he's going hard, but he showed impressive reactions Saturday in reversing field to catch a ball that clanked off the catwalk then firing to second to double up Guillermo Heredia on an attempt to tag up.

  5. Bucs journal: Simeon Rice gives master class on sacks to defensive ends


    TAMPA — As the Bucs seek their first 10-sack season from a player since Simeon Rice in 2005, who better to help that cause than Rice himself?

    Former Tampa Bay Buccaneers great Simeon Rice works with defensive end Noah Spence (57) after practice at One Buccaneer Place in Tampa, Fla., on Saturday, Aug. 19, 2017.