Partly Cloudy80° FULL FORECASTPartly Cloudy80° FULL FORECAST
Make us your home page
Instagram

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Wow! Wait ... What?

STILLWATER, Okla.

The officiating mistake was a doozy — and cannot be fixed. The play that followed was even more astonishing.

A misinterpreted rule extended the game when it should have been over and allowed Central Michigan to score a wild touchdown on a Hail Mary and lateral — yes, both — that covered half the field for a 30-27 upset of No. 22 Oklahoma State on Saturday.

OSU tried to kill the final four seconds by throwing the ball away on fourth down, but the Cowboys were penalized for intentional grounding, a loss-of-down penalty. Rules state that the game cannot end on an accepted live-ball penalty, referee Tim O'Dey of the Mid-American Conference, CMU's league, said. "There's an exception to the rule that says if enforcement of the foul involves a loss of down, then that brings the game to an end," O'Dey told a pool reporter.

O'Dey said after conferring with NCAA rules committee secretary Rogers Redding after the game that the crew determined the "extension should not have happened."

But Article 3b of the NCAA rule book states: When the referee declares that the game is ended, the score is final.

Associated Press

Wow! Wait ... What? 09/10/16 [Last modified: Saturday, September 10, 2016 8:08pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

    

Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

Loading...