weather unavailableweather unavailable
Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

2A-8 wrestling: Dunedin wins first district team title in school history

LAND O'LAKES — To hear Tyler Smith describe the final moments of his come-from-behind victory at 152 pounds might not grab the casual fan.

To say the Dunedin senior pulled off arguably the most impressive comeback of his career Saturday at the Class 2A-8 tournament is no understatement.

Smith trailed by one point with five seconds left when a referee called time to force Smith to have a cut beneath his left eye tended to. The break was lightning quick thanks to Falcons coach Marc Allison, who knew a long delay would give Wiregrass Ranch's Emmanuel Long more recovery time.

When wrestling resumed Smith scored a two-point takedown to win his first district title.

The match personified Dunedin's desire and was one of eight individual champs en route to the Falcons' first district team title.

"We've never won one," said Allison, who won an individual state title at Countryside. "We felt good coming into it. The kids want to be part of it. It's school history."

Falcons senior heavyweight Luis Agramonte extended his record to 50-0, registering a 24-second pin of Tarpon Springs' Kameron Romaelle.

Out of 14 weight classes, Dunedin took first or second in 10. The top four wrestlers in each weight class advance to region meets later this week.

Falcons junior Shaun Shakoor registered the first individual victory, a 16-0 win at 112 pounds. He was followed by senior Jeremy Goodloe (125, by pin) junior Kane Plate (135, overtime decision), junior Austin Prince (140, by pin), junior Jake Cannizzaro (145, technical fall) and sophomore Kyle Goodnow (160, decision).

A district team title had long eluded Dunedin, which used to battle in districts with Countryside, then Springstead.

This season Dunedin had modest goals of winning conference and district titles and advancing at least six wrestlers to state.

Thirteen will advance to one of the state's toughest regions.

"It's a nice win, but we still have two more good weekends of wrestling we need to worry about, beginning with region," Allison said.

Class 2A, District 8 at Sunlake

Team: 1. Dunedin (235), 2. Wiregrass Ranch (138), 3. Sunlake (117), 4. Zephyrhills (102), 5. River Ridge (94), 6. Mitchell (80), 7. Tarpon Springs (40).

Championship: 103: K. Koesling (WR) def. R. Khemraj (D), 8-7; 112: S. Shakoor (D) def. W. Wood (SL), 16-0; 119: N. Hynes (Z) def. D. Hill (WR), 14-2; 125: J. Goodloe (D) def. D. Koesling (WR), 1:50; 130: R. McMillan (SL) def. A. Agazarm (RR), 13-7; 135: K. Plate (D) def. E. Morales (WR), 9-5 OT; 140: A. Prince (D) def. L. Peterson (SL), 5:43; 145: J. Cannizzaro (D) def. S. Hart (SL), 17-2; 152: T. Smith (D) def. E. Long (WR), 5-4; 160: K. Goodnow (D) def. G. Andrasik (M), 6-2; 171: L. Vannata (RR) def. M. Hogan (D), 3-2; 189: J. Horning (RR) def. C. Cottrill (WR), 4:23; 215: F. Morrison (Z) def. Ryan Brosnan (M), 3:34; 285: L. Agramonte (D) def. K. Romaelle (TS), 0:24.

Consolation: 103: N. Vandam (Z) def. J. Ortiz (SL), 14-6; 112: J. Barker (RR) def. R. Starnes (Z), 9-7 OT; 119: D. Rodgers (D) def. S. Speer (RR), 9-1; 125: J. Himes (SL) def. J. Timberlake (M), 5-3; 130: M. Bradford (WR) def. L. King (D), 5-4; A.J. Bellavia (SL) def. A. Alissandratos (TS), 4:56; 140: J. Morrison (Z) def. M. Gebler (M), 3:59; 145: D. Wertheim (M) def. C. Campo (WR), 3:13; 152: L. Bruno (M) def. E. Burns (RR), 9-8; 160: Y. Karvounis (TS) def. D. Cooper (SL), 2:27; Z. Morales (WR) def. T. McDonald (Z), 4:50; 189: J. Piquette (D) def. L. Andre (M), 6-4 OT; 215: A. Bartleson (WR) def. J. Myers (SL), 12-6; 285: S. Cottrell (Z) def. D. Berardi (RR), inj. def.



Action starts at noon Friday unless noted. Semifinals start at 10 a.m. Saturday, wrestlebacks at 12:30 and finals at 6.

3A-2 at Brandon

2A-2 at Lake Gibson

A-3 at Evangelical Christian, Thursday-Friday

2A-8 wrestling: Dunedin wins first district team title in school history 02/06/10 [Last modified: Saturday, February 6, 2010 10:09pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours