Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

2A-9 wrestling: Dixie Hollins wins title, sends 12 to regionals

SEMINOLE — Last year Dixie Hollins sent 13 wrestlers to regionals, but only one qualified for states. Thanks to a dominant effort Wednesday at the Class 2A-9 tournament, the Rebels will get a second chance to avenge 2008's disappointment.

Dixie Hollins took the district team title 208-161.5 over Osceola and will send 12 to Punta Gorda next week, including five district champions.

"Twelve is great," coach Nick Spataro said. "I think our kids and our coaching staff have been working hard. We have a tough region and … all we can do is go in and work hard."

The Rebels were led by district champions Jordan McKenzie (103), Mike Lloyd (119), Taylor Cooper (135), Ryan Washington (145) and Berto Frutos (189).

Osceola placed runnerup, but coach Dan Smalley was pleased. He is sending 10 to regionals, including Matt Dixon (125), Brent Sergakis (130), Donald Lipscomb (160) and Jared Willett (215) as champions. Seven of his 10 are going back.

"We kind of expected it," Smalley said. "We knew there were going to be some tough matches at certain weights, but we're happy to send 10."

During a quick survey around the gymnasium, no one was able to recall the last time a Lakewood wrestler headed to regionals as a district champion. Everyone will remember the latest Spartan to do it. At 112 pounds, No. 4-seeded David Vasquez knocked off No. 1 seed Matt Johnson of Dixie Hollins and No. 2 seed Kyle Ulrich of Osceola. Vasquez, a sophomore, improved to 13-7 this season.

"I'm a little surprised," said Vasquez, who was hugged and held in the air like a trophy. "I knew I had to fight hard to get that title. I've been working for it all season long. I'm going to work as hard as I can so I can do it again at regions."

Seminole and Northeast will send nine to regionals; Lakewood six, Clearwater five, Gibbs three and Boca Ciega two. Other district champions included Ryan Moore (140) and Austin Yelko (171) of Northeast, and Adam Kerrin (152) and Tyler Paar (285) of Clearwater.

2A-9 wrestling: Dixie Hollins wins title, sends 12 to regionals 02/04/09 [Last modified: Wednesday, February 4, 2009 11:54pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. NFL Week 3: What we learned


    Take the knee … well, not NOW

     1. Photo of Roger Mooney for Times Sports.
  2. Marc Topkin's takeaways from Sunday's Rays-Orioles game

    The Heater

    RHP Chris Archer's primary problem Sunday, as in much of September, was a lack of slider command. When he can't throw it where he wants, and doesn't have the confidence in the changeup to throw it often, he can't win with just his fastball.

  3. Somehow, Rays' Chris Archer remains just shy of being an ace

    The Heater

    BALTIMORE — Chris Archer had another bad game Sunday.

    Chris Archer is sputtering to the finish line, his rough start on Sunday his fourth in his past five in which he hasn’t gotten past four innings.
  4. High school senior Chasten Whitfield inspires young anglers


    MADEIRA BEACH — The kids lined up single file, snow cones in hand, a procession of sweaty, excited grade schoolers watching Chasten Whitfield throw a cast net.

    Whitfield, a senior at Bradenton Manatee, demonstrates how to throw a cast net at the FishKids tournament in Madeira Beach. She also taught knot tying.
  5. Wreck helps Kyle Busch take control of Monster Cup's ISM 300

    Auto racing

    LOUDON, N.H. — Kyle Busch saw little but billowing white smoke that engulfed the track and blinded enough drivers that it caused a tremendous wreck that notably altered the race running order.

    Kyle Busch celebrates with a burnout after his third victory of the season that earns a berth in the second round of NASCAR’s playoffs. He also has some fun with Loudon the Lobster.