Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

A-8 wrestling: Gulf wins fourth consecutive district team title

BROOKSVILLE — Gulf won its fourth consecutive district team trophy after winning Saturday night's Class A, District 8 wrestling meet.

The Buccaneers (233 points) emerged from the 10-team fray thanks to eight individual titles, winning all but one of their championship final matches.

The standouts for the Buccaneers were state favorites Anthony Ayers (119 pounds), R.J. O'Connor (135), and Ladarious Jackson (152).

The closest match of the tournament for any Gulf finalist was Jackson (47-1) against Hernando's Zach Pritz (33-5). A state finalist last season, Jackson defeated Pritz 7-5 in bout littered with stalling calls.

"I get up in the morning early and work because I know I'm going to face someone like Zach," Jackson said. "He is the toughest kid I've faced all year long."

The top four wrestlers in each weight class advance to regional meets later this week.

Nature Coast (196.5 points) was the district runnerup for the first time in program history. It is an accomplishment that was certainly a long time coming if you ask the only coach the team has ever known, Mike Lastra.

"This really shows that these kids buy into what we've been trying to sell them," Lastra said. "Four years ago, we were kind of the laughingstock of the district. It's really excited to be in this position now."

The Sharks finished with five wrestlers in the finals. However, only Scott Cronin (125), who made it the furthest of any Nature Coast wrestler last postseason as well, stood atop the podium with a gold medal.

"Scott is on a tear right now," Lastra said. "He is in it to win the whole thing. He could be our first state placer (in school history)."

Hernando's Daniel Pritz (145) won his third individual district title with an 18-2 technical fall over Wesley Chapel's Nick Popolillo. The Leopards edged Dunnellon for third with 116.5 points.

Class A, District 8

at Hernando

Team Standings: 1. Gulf 233, 2. Nature Coast 196.5, 3. Hernando 116.5, 4. Dunnellon 116, 5. Pasco 75.5, 6. Crystal River 70, 7. Wesley Chapel 52, 8. The Villages 51, 9. Ocala-Trinity Catholic 37.5, 10. Anclote 36.5.

CHAMPIONSHIP: 103: Swartsel (GUL) pin Nguyen (NCT), 0:36; 112: Carpenter (GUL) dec. Gamez (PAS), 9-7; 119: Ayers (GUL) pin Patterson (DUN), 1:44; 125: Cronin (NCT) pin Hernandez (PAS), 2:47; 130: Hoppel (OTC) pin Richardson (DUN), 1:46; 135: O'Connor (GUL) pin Bolesta (NCT), 4:07; 140: Jackson (DUN) dec. Lambert (NCT), 6-2; 145: D. Pritz (HER) tech. fall Popolillo (WC), 18-2; 152: Jackson (GUL) dec. Z. Pritz (HER), 7-5; 160: Mesagno (GUL) maj. dec. Delgado (DUN), 11-1; 171: O'Connell (DUN) pin Ritter (GUL), 5:38; 189: Brass (CR) dec. Gilbert (NCT), 7-5; 215: Palasky (GUL) pin Jordan (PAS), 2:41; 285: Kruse (GUL) pin Linton (ANC), 0:39

Consolation Finals: 103: Sorrick (ANC) pin Ruggiero (WC), 2:14; 112: Varqulish (CR) dec. Forand (NCT), 11-4; 119: Anthony (NCT) dec. DeAugustino (PAS), 10-5; 125: Young (HER) pin Surber (CR), 5:18; 130: Isom (GUL) dec. Richardson (NCT), 7-0; 135: Ayers (HER) maj. dec. Jimenez (OTC), 18-7; 140: Thompson (CR) pin Baxter (GUL), 3:13; 145: Gough (VIL) maj. dec. McCarty (NCT), 14-3; 152: Nuby (NCT) pin Williams (WC), 1:53; 160: Carasquillo (NCT) dec. Carpenter (CR), 7-1; 171: Wulff (VIL) pin Holoman (NCT), 2:10; 189: Raney (HER) pin Karr (GUL), 2:25; 215: Bowers (VIL) dec. Pascullo (HER), 3-2; 285: Jarque (NCT) pin Neff (HER), 0:38

A-8 wrestling: Gulf wins fourth consecutive district team title 02/06/10 [Last modified: Saturday, February 6, 2010 10:27pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Rowdies settle for draw at home


    ST. PETERSBURG — The good news for the Rowdies is that they still haven't lost a game at Al Lang Stadium since late April. The bad news is they had to settle for a 1-1 tie against Ottawa on Saturday night in front of 6,710 sweaty fans.

  2. Bats come to life, but Rays' freefall continues (w/video)

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG —The six runs seemed like a ton, just the second time the Rays had scored that many in a game during their numbing two-plus-weeks stretch of offensive impotency, and amazingly, the first time at the Trop in nearly two months.

    Lucas Duda connects for a two-run home run in the sixth, getting the Rays within 7-5. A Logan Morrison home run in the ninth made it 7-6, but Tampa Bay couldn’t complete the comeback.
  3. Rays journal: Cesar Puello, who has one major-league game, claimed off waivers

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — Looking to add punch to their right-handed lineup, the Rays claimed OF Cesar Puello off waivers Saturday from the Angels.

  4. Marc Topkin's takeaways from Saturday's Rays-Mariners game

    The Heater

    SS Adeiny Hechavarria doesn't always look like he's going hard, but he showed impressive reactions Saturday in reversing field to catch a ball that clanked off the catwalk then firing to second to double up Guillermo Heredia on an attempt to tag up.

  5. Bucs journal: Simeon Rice gives master class on sacks to defensive ends


    TAMPA — As the Bucs seek their first 10-sack season from a player since Simeon Rice in 2005, who better to help that cause than Rice himself?

    Former Tampa Bay Buccaneers great Simeon Rice works with defensive end Noah Spence (57) after practice at One Buccaneer Place in Tampa, Fla., on Saturday, Aug. 19, 2017.