Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

A-9 wrestling: Jesuit wins 10th straight district crown

TAMPA — Jesuit's athletic program now formally can boast a decade of dominance in two sports: the football team's 10-year win streak over rival Tampa Catholic, and the wrestling squad's equally long string of district titles.

The Tigers crowned individual champs in eight of 14 weight classes Saturday and qualified 12 wrestlers for next week's region tournament en route to the Class 1A, District 9 title in the Tiger Palace. Jesuit collected 198.5 team points; no other team managed 100. The top four individuals in each weight class advance to regional events later this week.

"This was a great day for Jesuit wrestling," said coach and alumnus Mike Scicchitano, a senior 135-pound district champion when the streak began in 2001. "I'm incredibly proud of our team. The message at practice was, we've been training for this week since March and April, and that all starts to pay off right now."

Winning titles for Jesuit were Christian Dominguez (112 pounds), Mike Popp (119), Mike Sanford (130), Anthony Cimino (140), Kevin Nichols (145), Vince Lombardo (171), Connor Gallagly (189) and Mike Lamoureux (215).

Popp (pronounced pope) had the most exciting title match, scoring a reverse in the last five seconds for a 6-4 win against Tampa Bay Christian's Troy Joyce.

"I think he knew the (time remaining), but I think that was more instinct than anything else," Scicchitano said.

Other champions: Tampa Bay Christian's James Flint (103); Tampa Prep's Eric Bach (125), Hector Fontanet (152) and Wes Jarrell (160); and Steinbrenner's Josh Fulford (135) and Cody Dunham (285).

Class 1A, District 9

at Jesuit

Team results: Jesuit (J) 198.5, Tampa Prep (TP) 98, Strawberry Crest (SC) 87.5, Middleton (M) 84, Steinbrenner (St) 79, Spoto (Sp) 70, Lennard (L) 63, Tampa Bay Christian (TBC) 54

Championship finals: 103 — Flint (TBC) p. Fernandez (SC) 5:51; 112 — Dominguez (J) p. Gallon (Sp) 1:49; 119 — Popp (J) dec. Joyce (TBC) 6-4; 125 — Bach (TP) p. Rabney (L) 5:20; 130 — Sanford (J) dec. White (Sp) 15-11; 135 — Fulford (St) dec. Aikman (Sp) 16-6; 140 — Cimino (J) dec. Mills (L) 10-0; 145 — Nichols (J) dec. Phillips (L) 5-1; 152 — Fontanet (TP) dec. Pierce (M) 9-0; 160 — Jarrell (TP) p. McKnight (St) 1:24; 171 — Lombardo (J) dec. Keith (St) 4-1; 189 — Gallagly (J) p. Bryson (M) 0:51; 215 — Lamoureux (J) p. Ibarra (SC) 1:26; 285 — Dunham (St) dec. Guerarra (L) 8-3

Consolation finals: 103 — Roop (J) p. Denzel (M) 2:29; 112 — Sierra (M) p. Mills (L) 3:33; 119 — Livernois (SC) tech. fall Garcia (St) 18-3; 125 — Greene (TBC) p. Rainey (Sp) 1:30; 130 — Adonis (M) p. Sheppard (SC) 0:58; 135 — Neal (J) dec. Judge (TP) 6-0; 140 — Gamar (M) p. Castle (SC) 1:30; 145 — Harris (TP) p. Carriere (St) 1:58; 152 — Santacruz (Sp) p. Carranza (L) 4:41; 160 — Lucas (Sp) p. Barrett (J) 1:24; 171 — Coykendall (Sp) bye; 189 — O'Brien (SC) p. Alsup (St) 4:38; 215 — Gift (TP) p. Alfanso (Sp) 4:47; 285 — Edwards (J) bye

>> Up next


Action starts at noon Friday unless noted. Semifinals start at 10 a.m. Saturday, wrestlebacks at 12:30 p.m. and finals at 6 p.m.

3A-2 at Brandon

2A-3 at Charlotte

A-3 at Evangelical Christian, Thursday-Friday

A-9 wrestling: Jesuit wins 10th straight district crown 02/06/10 [Last modified: Saturday, February 6, 2010 11:05pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours