Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

North Suncoast: Gulf wins third consecutive Sunshine Athletic Conference wrestling tournament

HOLIDAY — By the midway point in Saturday's tournament, it was obvious to the programs involved that a third consecutive Sunshine Athletic Conference championship was in the cards for Gulf.

The Buccaneers built a lead of more than 100 points after the semifinals and finished with 280.5, easily outdistancing runnerup Fivay (190.5 points).

Gulf had three individuals win their third consecutive SAC championships: Anthony Ayers (130 pounds), R.J. O'Connor (160) and Ladarious Jackson (171).

"You have to have that tough mentality," Jackson said. "Being able to go into the state series with a good conference tournament performance is huge."

Friday Karr (189) and Jeff Kruse (285) also won conference titles. For Kruse, who finished third at state last season, it was his second straight SAC gold.

Chris Palasky (215), who was one of the favorites in his weight class, was upset in the semifinals by Pasco's Zack Jordan. The other state-ranked wrestler at 215, Zephyrhills' Frank Morrison, suffered a left knee injury in the semifinals and was forced to forfeit the remainder of his matches. He is questionable for district this coming week.

The opening led to Fivay's Mike Hahn taking the title in that class by pinning Jordan in 3:32.

The Falcons, a first-year program, put five wrestlers in the finals, led by Sean Speer (119). Speer, the state-ranked lightweight, defeated Gulf's Forrest Swartsel 11-5 to capture his first individual conference title.

Wiregrass Ranch, which placed right behind the Bucs last season, had three individual champs — David Hill (125), Dylan Koesling (130) and Elliot Morales (140) — but only managed third place in the team standings.

"They know that we're the underdogs, and I love being the underdog," Wiregrass Ranch coach Kris Simmons said. "We are just going to keep rolling on this success and work our butts off."

One notable wrestler was missing. River Ridge's Andrew Herr (189) suffered a rib injury last week and was unable to participate. He expected to be ready for the district tournament.

Sunshine Athletic Conference Championships

Anclote High, Holiday

Individual finals: 103: Sorrick (ANC) dec Agazarm (GUL), 16-13; 112: Gamez (PAS) pin Reed (FIV), 3:16; 119: Speer (FIV) dec Swartsel (GUL), 11-5; 125: Hill (WGR) dec Timberlake (MIT), 7-4; 130: Ayers (GUL) pin Perez (WC), 3:01; 135: Koesling (WGR) maj dec DeAugustino (PAS), 14-4; 140: Morales (WGR) pin Baxter (GUL), 3:58; 145: Wertheim (MIT) dec Hart (SUN), 9-5; 152: Popolillo (WC) pin Hayes (GUL), 1:15; 160: O'Connor (GUL) pin Grilli (FIV), 1:47; 171: Jackson (GUL) maj dec Hahn (FIV), 20-9; 189: Karr (GUL) maj dec Corrin (RVR), 18-9; 215: Hahn (FIV) pin Jordan (PAS), 3:32; 285: Kruse (GUL) pin Wilson (PAS), :35.

Team standings: 1. Gulf 280.5, 2. Fivay 190.5, 3. Wiregrass Ranch 140.5, 4. Pasco 139, 5. Mitchell 135, 6. Sunlake 110.5, 7. River Ridge 102.5, 8. Wesley Chapel 90.5, 9. Anclote 76, 10. Zephyrhills 58, 11. Land O'Lakes 48, 12. Hudson 37, 13. Ridgewood 34.5

North Suncoast: Gulf wins third consecutive Sunshine Athletic Conference wrestling tournament 01/29/11 [Last modified: Saturday, January 29, 2011 11:08pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Bucs journal: Dirk Koetter says Vernon Hargreaves needs to improve


    TAMPA — The Bucs now rank 31st in the NFL in pass defense, allowing 301 yards per game in their 2-3 start, and coach Dirk Koetter was asked Monday how concerned he is with the play of second-year CB Vernon Hargreaves.

    Ryan Fitzpatrick, throwing an incompletion under pressure after replacing injured Jameis Winston against the Cardinals,  would start this Sunday in Buffalo if Winston’s shoulder is still bothering him.
  2. Backhand shot makes Nikita Kucherov's offense even more dangerous

    Lightning Strikes

    DETROIT — Nikita Kucherov is on a historic streak, just the fourth player in the last 30 years to score a goal in each of his first six games.

    Nikita Kucherov’s backhand shot adds to his strong scoring.
  3. Rick Pitino officially fired by Louisville amid federal corruption probe


    In an expected move, the University of Louisville Athletic Association's Board of Directors on Monday voted unanimously to fire men's basketball coach Rick Pitino. The decision came 19 days after Louisville acknowledged that its men's basketball program was being investigated as part of a federal corruption probe and …

    In this Oct. 20, 2016, file photo, Louisville head basketball coach Rick Pitino reacts to a question during a press conference in Louisville, Ky. Louisville's Athletic Association on Monday officially fired Pitino, nearly three weeks after the school acknowledged that its men's basketball program is being investigated as part of a federal corruption probe. [AP Photo/Timothy D. Easley, File]
  4. Deception key to Nikita Kucherov's hot start


    Nikita Kucherov is on a historic streak, the first player in Lightning history to score a goal in each of the first five games.

    Nikita Kucherov is the first player in Lightning history to score a goal in each of the first five games.
  5. Luke Witkowski living 'lifelong dream' with Red Wings


    Defenseman Luke Witkowski couldn't help but take a peek at the Lightning's morning skate Monday at the brand-new Little Caesar's Arena.

    Luke Witkowski (28) played his first 55 NHL games with the Lightning, until signing a two-year $1.5 million deal with Detroit in the summer.