Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Times' all-Pinellas County wrestling team

A year after his brother did so, Northside Christian’s Dalton Dennis won a state title. In fact, he was the county’s only wrestler to win a state championship.


A year after his brother did so, Northside Christian’s Dalton Dennis won a state title. In fact, he was the county’s only wrestler to win a state championship.

Wrestler of the Year | Dalton Dennis, Jr., Northside Christian, 45-2

After finishing fourth last season, Dennis vowed to win a state title at 125 pounds. He accomplished that in dominating fashion, cruising through his class during the regular season then beating Green Cove Springs Clay's Josh McLeod 7-0 in the Class A championship. Dennis was the county's only state champion.

Most impressive accomplishment: Not only was Dennis undefeated against state wrestlers this season, he did not allow a takedown.

Did you know? Dennis' older brother, Dillon, won a state title for the Mustangs at 140 pounds last season.

Coach of the Year | Marc Allison, Dunedin

He led the Falcons to a breakthrough performance with team titles at two regular-season tournaments and conference and district championships.

First team

103 Aaron Hartman, 8th, Northside Christian, 46-3: State runnerup in Class A.

112 Brian Travis, Jr., Northside Christian, 46-7: Fourth at Class A state meet.

119 Dana Harrington, So., Dixie Hollins, 33-6: Went 2-2 at 2A state meet.

125 Jeremy Goodloe, Sr., Dunedin, 47-6: Third at 2A state meet.

130 Anthony Melillo, Jr., Northside Christian, 48-8: Fifth at Class A state meet.

135 Clarence Longley, Jr., Largo, 43-4: Conference champion, state qualifier.

140 Austin Prince, Jr., Dunedin, 44-8: State qualifier, 101 career wins.

145 Louis Tonge, Sr., Osceola, 46-3: Third at 2A state meet.

152 Scott Santangelo, Sr., PHU, 52-7: Conference champion, state qualifier.

160 Thomas Gorman, Sr., Admiral Farragut, 46-2: Third at Class A state meet.

171 Jameel Bryant, Sr., St. Petersburg, 41-3: Conference champion, state qualifier.

189 Tony Murphy, Sr., Pinellas Park, 47-7: Conference champion, state qualifier.

215 Jared Willett, Jr., Osceola, 31-9: Conference champion.

285 Louis Agramonte, Sr., Dunedin, 52-1: State runnerup at 2A meet.

Second team

103: Ray Khemraj, So., Dunedin, 44-10

112: Ryan Hartman, Jr., Countryside, 46-6

119: Dryden Dennis, So., Northside Christian, 35-9

125: Jordan Harriott, So., Osceola, 24-16

130: Matt Dixon, Jr., Osceola, 28-7

135: Cliff Barker, Jr., Northside Christian, 53-9

140: Leo Quieroz, Sr., CC Catholic, 41-6

145: Dave Dougherty, Sr., East Lake *

152: Tyler Smith, Sr., Dunedin, 45-12

160: Bo Kennedy, Sr., St. Petersburg, 39-7

171: Mike Hogan, Jr., Dunedin, 39-12

189: Cooper Rekstis, Sr., Seminole, 27-10

215: Dennis Homol, Jr., Pinellas Park, 48-8

285: Trey Butler, Sr., Pinellas Park, 40-8

* Record not available

Honorable mention

Dixie Hollins: Taylor Cooper. Dunedin: Jake Cannizzaro, Kane Plate, Shaun Shakoor. Gibbs: Adam Donohue. Lakewood: Daniel Clarke. Palm Harbor: Brennan Davis. Pinellas Park: Taylor Nevitt. Seminole: Mitch Larivee.

Bob Putnam, Times staff writer

Times' all-Pinellas County wrestling team 03/13/10 [Last modified: Saturday, March 13, 2010 11:56pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Rays series preview: Who are the Mariners?


    The Rays are back home again, duking it out with another club in the American League Wild Card chase — the Mariners, who have a slight advantage over Tampa Bay. Here's the information you need to know about Seattle before the action kicks off.

    Record: 61-61, third in AL West

    Starter Erasmo Ramirez will face the Rays after they traded him to the Mariners in July.
  2. Florida Gators' Malik Zaire: 'This is everything to me'


    GAINESVILLE — We're two weeks and one day away from the Florida Gators' Sept. 2 season opener against Michigan, and the quarterback position remains unresolved.

    "This is everything to me..." said Malik Zaire, the grad transfer from Notre Dame. "I have everything to prove, everything to lose."
  3. 1997 USF Bulls: Jay Mize, a 'relentless, fearless' safety and entrepreneur


    USF football alumnus Jay Mize, 39, poses for a portrait at Irish 31 Pub House & Eatery located at 1611 W Swann Avenue in Tampa, Fla., on Tuesday, August 8, 2017. Mize, a member of the first USF football team, has evolved into an immensely successful businessman and entrepreneur and he owns the Irish 31 pubs.
  4. Revisiting the inaugural 1997 USF Bulls football roster


    The 1997 USF football team. (University of South Florida, USF Bulls)
  5. 1997 USF Bulls: Charlie Jackson navigates life's speed bumps


    USF wide receiver Charlie Jackson (1) strives for extra yardage as he is brought down from behind by the Citadel's Rob Nichols (29) in the first quarter on Sept. 14, 1997. (Times 1997)