Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Wrestling: Brandon wins 19th consecutive Ippolito Memorial title

BRANDON — Host Brandon won its 19th straight Tony Ippolito Memorial tournament on Saturday, marking the 25th time in 27 tries that the Eagles have won the event.

Bismark, N.D., claimed the other two titles, the last one coming in 1992.

The Eagles' success, Brandon coach Russ Cozart deemed, is a lasting tribute to the late wrestler and coach who was the first state champion from Brandon and Hillsborough County in 1974. Ippolito died from cancer in 1990 at age 36.

"I don't think there's much of a question, or doubt, that we weren't going to win this thing," Cozart said after greeting several Ippolito family members during the awards presentations.

"Tony Ippolito was kind of the heart and soul of this program," Cozart said. "The program's very rich in tradition, and we kind of want to keep it that way."

The host Eagles captured 10 of 14 individual titles. The only other team to win more than one weight class was runnerup Springstead, which had three champions among its eight finalists.

Nonetheless, as dominant as Brandon was in racking up 398.5 points compared to Springstead's 267.5, Cozart came away impressed at the talent in this year's 31-team tournament. "I thought it was one of the strongest fields we've had in a while," he said.

Not surprisingly, the two outstanding wrestlers of the tournament — Rossi Bruno and Tyler Liberatore — were from Brandon. Bruno defeated Springstead's Virgil Toms 7-2 at 130 pounds and Liberatore (135) edged Springstead's Nick Soto 4-3.

Five Brandon wrestlers relied on pins for their victories: James Flint (112) over Springstead's Jordan Rivera in 1:57; Victor Fugate (119) over North Port's Sean Ware in 2:38; Clark Glass (152) against Springstead's Shawn Landgraff in 2:49; Kyle Koziel (171) against East Bay's Morquez Forest in 2:44; and Mike Ettore (189) over Aric Fernandez of Liberty in 5:27.

Wrestling: Brandon wins 19th consecutive Ippolito Memorial title 01/22/11 [Last modified: Saturday, January 22, 2011 11:13pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Anthem protest, the latest: Jerry Jones joins Cowboys on field in show of solidarity


    As President Donald Trump continued tweeting Monday about his displeasure with NFL players for staging demonstrations during the national anthem, the Cowboys took a knee on the field just before the anthem was performed on Monday Night Football. Dallas players were joined by owner Jerry Jones, and they quickly …

    Cowboys owner Jerry Jones, center, joins the team in taking a knee before the national anthem Monday night. They stood and linked arms for the anthem.
  2. Bucs journal: Gerald McCoy says players who kneel have team's support


    TAMPA — Receivers Mike Evans and DeSean Jackson were the only Bucs players kneeling during the national anthem before Sunday's game against the Vikings, but DT Gerald McCoy said the team supports their protest "100 percent."

    Bucs tight end Cameron Brate pulls in a touchdown catch as Vikings safety Andrew Sendejo (34) hits him in the back of the head.
  3. Rays at Yankees, 7:05 p.m. Tuesday, New York

    The Heater

    Tonight: at Yankees

    7:05, Yankee Stadium, New York

    TV/radio: Fox Sports Sun; 620-AM, 680-AM (Spanish)

    Tampa Bay Rays' Blake Snell poses for a picture during the team's photo day at baseball spring training in Port Charlotte, Fla., Saturday, Feb. 18, 2017. (AP Photo/David Goldman)
  4. Luke Del Rio regains UF starting job, for now


    GAINESVILLE — Luke Del Rio is once again the starting quarterback for No. 21 Florida.

    Luke Del Rio provided a needed spark when he replaced starter Feleipe Franks and rallied Florida past Kentucky.
  5. Four questions the Lightning still has to answer

    Lightning Strikes

    FORT LAUDERDALE — The Lightning made its biggest round of cuts Monday, with some of the big-name prospects heading out.

    Tampa Bay Lightning forward Steven Stamkos (91) looks on from the bench during a shift change at Lightning hockey training camp in Brandon on Monday (09/18/17). In background on right is Nikita Kucherov (86). DIRK SHADD   |   Times