Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Wrestling: Determined Brandon wins Ippolito Memorial for the 26th time

BRANDON — Motivation never seems to be a problem for Brandon, which is currently on a 10-year state championship run and ranked fifth in the nation.

Nonetheless, coach Russ Cozart admitted his team might have been a bit more fired up for this weekend's two-day tournament named after the late Tony Ippolito who was Brandon's, as well as Hillsborough County's, first state champion. Ippolito died of cancer in 1990.

The Eagles won the Tony Ippolito Memorial Tournament for the 26th time in 28 seasons Saturday, totaling 326.5 points to runnerup Springstead's 259. North Port (161) placed third, and Jesuit (122.5) finished fourth.

"Tradition runs a little bit thick around the locker room and on the mat," Cozart said. "I think we're hitting on all cylinders. Every team's different. What you want to do is see them peak."

Brandon won nine of 14 divisions, including the finals' most thrilling match as Travis Berridge edged two-time state champion Cody Ross of Springstead 5-2 in triple overtime at 152 pounds.

Brandon's other winners included: James Flint (113), Devan Berrian (120), Rossi Bruno (126), Kevin Norstrem (132), Dakota Greene (145), Clark Glass (160), Jacob Haydock (170) and Kyle Koziel (182).

The other winner from Hillsborough County was Wharton's Tyler Liberatore at 138.

Springstead claimed one title with John Dreggors pining Celebration's Alvaro Norena at 285. The Eagles had shots at five other crowns, but finalists Matt Landgraff, Mike McDonald, Josh Hererra, Thomas Gupton and Ross came up short.

"I think Springstead has an excellent team," said Coazrt, who considers the Eagles as frontrunners for the Class 2A state championship. "I thought they did an outstanding job at this tournament."

Another outstanding performance was turned in by Hernando's Jesse Gaudin, who beat Jesuit's Austin Underwood in the 220 final.

Boys Basketball

Wharton avoids fade at Ulrich Classic

WESLEY CHAPEL — For the second Saturday in a row, the Wharton boys basketball team entered the fourth quarter of against a formidable opponent with an eight-point lead.

Last week, the Wildcats were outscored 23-7 by Seminole in the final quarter for only their third loss of the season.

Saturday against Wiregrass Ranch at the Ulrich Family Classic, Wharton (18-3) weathered the Bulls' frenetic, uptempo style to pull away for an 86-72 victory. Wharton overcame an uncharacteristic 17 turnovers and 27 fouls.

Ippolito Memorial Tournament


106- Schreiber (COL) d. Landgraff (SPR), 9-4

113- Flint (BR) d. Mcdonald (SP), fall 4:16

120- Berrian (BR) d. Joyce (PC), fall 3:54

126- Bruno (BR) d. Patisaul (SC), fall 2:18

132- Norstrem (BR) d. Hererra (SPR), maj. dec. 14-3

138- Liberatore (WH) d. Fulk (MAN), fall 0:58

145- Greene (BR) d. Barber (MAN), 8-5

152- Berridge (BR) d. Ross (SPR), UTB 5-2

160- Glass (BR) d. Calderon (EB), I-D

170- Haydock (BR) d. Chaney (PC), 3-1

182- Koziel (BR) d. Fernandez (LIB), fall 0:54

195- Allen (COL) d. Gupton (SPR), UTB 1-1

220- Gaudin (HER) d. Underwood (JES), 12-6

285- Dreggors (SPR) d. Norena (CEL), fall 3:08

Team scores: 1. Brandon 326.5; 2. Springstead 259.0; 3. North Port 161.0; 4. Jesuit 122.5; 5. Columbia 100.0; 6. Lincoln 91.5; 7. Plant City 87.5; 8. Fort Pierce Central 87.0; 9. Baron Collier 83.0; 10. Celebration 81.0; 11. Port St. Lucie 76.0; 12. Bradenton Manatee 73.5; 13. Venice 73.0; 14. Wharton 72.0; 15. Hernando 71.0; 16. Strawberry Crest 70.5; 17. East Bay 66.5; 18. Robinson 61.0; 19. Pasco 58.0; 20. Sarasota 56.5; 21. Gateway 56.0; 22. Liberty 56.0; 23. Chiles 55.5; 24. Wesley Chapel 48.5; 25. King 39.5; 26. Bloomingdale 39.0; 27. Hillsborough 36.0; 28. Alonso 32.5; 29. Chamberlain 28.0; 30. Central 27.0; 31. Freedom 20.0; 32. Forest 16.5

Wrestling: Determined Brandon wins Ippolito Memorial for the 26th time 01/21/12 [Last modified: Saturday, January 21, 2012 11:15pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours