Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Wrestling: East Bay wins Jerry Mita Invitational title

PINELLAS PARK — Earlier in this young season, the East Bay wrestling team showed that it has a lot of positive building blocks. But even with such an influx of youthful talent, Indians coach Erik Matricardi wasn't too sure his team was ready to take home a title just yet.

Then the young Indians proved him wrong Saturday evening, as East Bay continued building on its recent success. The Indians sent two wrestlers to the finals and both posted victories there to help lift East Bay to the team title over a field of 22 other teams at the 18th annual Jerry Mita Invitational.

"Our goal coming in was just to take a trophy home," Matricardi said.

"Once we started and began to see the results we were putting together, we realized that it was possible for us to take home a team title. I'm just proud of the hard work all the kids and coaches have put in."

The Indians edged Palm Harbor University 277-221 for the team title. East Bay's two champions were Jonathan McEaneney (112 pounds) and Ismael Calderon (160), who wrestled in one of the more exciting bouts of the night against Osceola's Jonathan Gille.

Calderon pulled off several escapes in the final period to break open a 6-6 bout. The final escape made it 10-6 and clinched the title.

Northside Christian's Dalton Dennis continued his early season tear by easily taking care of Lely's Guillermo Moreno 18-3 in a major decision in the 135-pound final. Northside finished third with 182 points as a team.

Lakewood's Daniel Clarke broke his wrist, according to coach Frank Niles, in the 189-pound final match against Gaither's Anthony Diaz. Clarke won by default because Diaz used an illegal slam.

Jerry Mita Invitational

at Pinellas Park

Top five team scores: 1. East Bay 277, 2. Palm Harbor 221, 3. Northside Christian 182, 4. Osceola 168.5, 5. Lakewood 146

Finals: 103: Evan Dipsiner (Lakewood) over De'Jhaun Monroe (Boca Ciega); 112: Jonathan McEaneney (East Bay) dec. Spencer Kemp (Pinellas Park), 7-3; 119: Reese Gorman (Palm Harbor) default win over Jonathan Poisson (Osceola); 125: Brian Travis (Northside) dec. Josh Kampman (Palm Harbor) 8-2; 130: Aaron Hartman (Palm Harbor) dec. Dryden Dennis (Northside) 4-0; 135: Dalton Dennis (Northside) maj. dec. Guillermo Moreno (Lely) 18-3; 140: Anthony Melilo (Northside) pin Dontae McGee (Admiral Farragut), 1:18; 145: Nick Vios (Palm Harbor) maj. dec. Jordan Horriot (Osceola) 10-2; 152: Mitchell Larivee (Seminole) dec. Zane May (Northside) 8-7; 160: Ismael Calderon (East Bay) dec. Jonathan Gille (Osceola) 10-6; 171: Kenny Price (Lakewood) dec. Kaleb Deedrick (Braden River) 4-3; 189: Daniel Clarke (Lakewood) injury default Anthony Diaz (Gaither); 215: Dennis Homol (Palm Harbor) dec. Jared Willet (Osceola) 5-3; 285: Kazimierz Dymek (Booker) pin Zack Massey 1:59.

Wrestling: East Bay wins Jerry Mita Invitational title 12/11/10 [Last modified: Saturday, December 11, 2010 11:15pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Rays beat Orioles, but tough stretch looms that could change their plans (w/video)

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — Tuesday was a step back in the right direction for the Rays, who halted a season-high five-game losing streak by hanging on — and we mean that pretty much literally — for a 5-4 win over the Orioles.

    The Rays’ Tim Beckham celebrates with Mallex Smith after hitting a three-run homer in the second inning for a 5-0 lead.
  2. Marc Topkin's takeaways from Tuesday's Rays-Orioles game

    The Heater

    Rookie RHP Jake Faria had his lucky rubber duck — OG, the original one he has had since high school — with him, and the Rays had nothing to worry about as he put his rocky Wednesday outing well behind him, working into the eighth while scattering seven hits.

  3. Rays journal: Rookie Jacob Faria continues to show veteran poise

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — The Orioles threatened in the first inning and the second. They loaded the bases with one out in the fifth inning with the top of the order up and seemed poised for a big inning. But those opportunities produced only one run because Rays rookie RHP Jacob Faria kept his composure and got the …

    Jacob Faria goes a career-high 71/3 innings, staying composed when the Orioles threaten.
  4. Rays vs. Orioles, 12:10 p.m. Wednesday, Tropicana Field


    Today: vs. Orioles

    12:10, Tropicana Field

    TV/radio: Fox Sports Sun; 620-AM

    Tickets: $15-$275; available at Tropicana Field box office,, surcharge of up to $5 within 5 hours of game time.

    PORT CHARLOTTE, FL - FEBRUARY 18:  Alex Cobb #53 of the Tampa Bay Rays poses for a portrait during the Tampa Bay Rays photo day on February 18, 2017 at Charlotte Sports Park in Port Charlotte, Floida.  (Photo by Elsa/Getty Images)
  5. Bruce Arena blends intense demands with humor to lead U.S. soccer


    SANTA CLARA, Calif. — Bruce Arena bites his fingernails religiously, a habit he has had since age 10.

    Among some other unmentionables.

    Bruce Arena