Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)


Wrestling: Host Dunedin claims title at Peter Barker Memorial tournament

DUNEDIN — Despite hosting a pre-Thanksgiving tournament for the first time, Dunedin coach Marc Allison seemingly knew that after a long day of wrestling, it would all ended up paying off for his Falcons in the end.

Dunedin sent eight wrestlers to the finals and seven claimed individual titles as the Falcons outpointed second-place Osceola 236-158.5 for the Peter Barker Memorial Invitational title Saturday evening at Dunedin High.

"Well, I'm very pleased with the effort we put out today," Allison said. "Every wrestler contributed today, and the effort was outstanding. This tournament really tells us where we are in the early point of the season and also a little about our younger guys. We wrestled against some really good (Class) 1A and 2A schools tonight."

Dunedin's seven champions were: Shaun Shakoor (112 pounds), Chandler Pope (125), Alex Lebhar (130), Austin Prince (140), Kyle Goodnow (160), Mike Hogan (171) and Anton Rrogomi (189).

Seventeen teams competed in the first-year invitational tournament, which featured some of the better teams around the state, including Barron Collier, Mulberry, Robinson and Osceola.

One of the most competitive finals of the night took place in the 135-pound weight class between Mulberry's Troy Worthen, ranked third in the state in Class 1A, and Dunedin's Kane Plate, who was a district champion and region finalist last season.

Worthen carried the early advantage by leading Plate 4-1 going into the second period. Plate got within 5-3 with 32 seconds left in the third period, but just could not secure a pin late in the match.

O'Town Showdown: Palm Harbor University defeated Longwood Lyman 42-33 for 11th place at the 30-team dual-meet event at Lake Buena Vista. Brandon won the event with a 54-12 victory over Homestead South Dade, the team that ended the Eagles' 459-dual-meet streak in 2008.


103- Tanis Taylor (Barron Collier) over Henry Fuentes (Mulberry) 11-4; 112- Shaun Shakoor (Dunedin) over Wilfredo Sierra (Robinson) 13-1; 119- Robert Monsegur (Central) over Jonathan Poisson (Osceola) 1:56; 125- Chandler Pope (Dunedin) over Anthony Marquez (Central) 8-5; 130- Alex Lebhar (Dunedin) over Stephan Rainey (Pinellas Park); 135- Troy Worthen (Mulberry) over Kane Plate (Dunedin) 5-3; 140- Austin Prince (Dunedin) over Hunter Brawn (Palmetto) 15-6; 145- Derrick Weirthiem (Mitchell) over Jared Young (Hernando) 15-6; 152- Dominic Livingston (McKeel) over Donell Reed (Palmetto) 12-3; 160- Kyle Goodnow (Dunedin) over Christian Padilla (Palmetto) 4-0; 171- Mike Hogan (Dunedin) over Zach Pritz (Hernando) 4-3; 189- Anton Rrogomi (Dunedin) over Michael Sperna (Pinellas Park) 7-1; 215- Jared Willet (Osceola) over Taylor Andres (Indian Rocks) 3-0; 285- Shane Haller (Osceola) over Austin Neff (Hernando) 0:19

Consolation finals

103- Chris Sorrick (Anclote) over Alec Hersh (Dunedin) 4-2; 112- Vic Blasucci (Barron Collier) over Spencer Kemp (Pinellas Park); 119- Michael Blasucci (Barron Collier) over Damien McKenzie (Robinson) 18-4; 125- Justin Timberlake (Mitchell) over Harold Sawal (Barron Collier); 130- Matthew Johnson (Lakewood) over Jon Smith (Robinson) 7-5; 135- Austen Vajer (Barron Collier) over Jordan Harriot (Osceola) 3-1; 140- Matt Dixon (Osceola) over Dominic Driver (Seminole); 145- Michael Grimmet (Robinson) Renan Soares (Pinellas Park) 6-1; 152- Mitche Larivee (Seminole) over David Carr (Mitchell) 16-1; 160- Puerto Rico Nieves (Central) over Grey Sanders (Palmetto) 3-2; 171- Kenny Price (Lakewood) over Grant Lundsford (Palmetto) 5-0; 189- Luis Lantigua (Central) over Zach Bashoor (Osceola) 8-3; 215- RJ Luth (Dunedin) over Nico Aguilera (McKeel) 0:27; 285- Seattle Nelson (Mitchell) over Kendonte Nicholas (Robinson) 0:35

Team scores: Dunedin 236, Osceola 158.5, Robinson 112, Central 100, Mulberry 97, Barron Collier 90, Mitchell 90, Pinellas Park 89.5, Palmetto 80.5, McKeel 66.5, Hernando 64.5, Seminole 62, Indian Rocks 46, Lakewood 40, Anclote 38, Tarpon Springs 22, Admiral Farragut 10

Wrestling: Host Dunedin claims title at Peter Barker Memorial tournament 11/20/10 [Last modified: Saturday, November 20, 2010 11:27pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. HomeTeam 100: Players 21-30


    TAMPA - Jesuit linebacker Anthony Nelson will help lead the Tigers into the 2017 season. Taken 5-17-17 by Scott Purks
  2. For starters: Cobb on the hill against Orioles



    Alex Cobb takes the mound, hoping to duplicate his performance from Friday when he was three outs away from pitching a complete game.
  3. Bucs DE Jacquies Smith (ACL) will start on active PUP list


    In the first quarter of a season opening win at Altanta last season, Jacquies Smith suffered a torn anterior cruciate ligament in his right knee while attemping to cover a punt.

    Jacquies Smith will begin training camp on the active Physically Unable to Perform list.
  4. Odorizzi on disabled list with lower back strain


    Odorizzi (6-4, 4.47) has been victimized this season by the long ball, allowing 23 home runs in his 18 starts. He will miss starts in homer-friendly Yankee Stadium and against the homer-happy Astros in Houston next week.

    Jake Odorizzi was placed on the 10-day disabled list this morning.
  5. Bucs rookies Beckwith, McNichols cleared for training camp


    The Bucs took a calculated risk on two injured players that were discounted in the NFL draft and it may pay off.

    LSU linebacker Kendell Beckwiith (51) fell to the third round after he tore his anterior cruciate ligament in a game against Florida Nov. 19.