Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Wrestling: Host Eagles win their seventh Springstead Invitational in a row

SPRING HILL — It was lucky No. 7 for Springstead on Saturday as the host Eagles captured their seventh consecutive team victory at the 24th annual Springstead Invitational.

This team victory was an easy one on the scoreboard as the Eagles scored 229.5 points, well ahead of runnerup Fivay (117.5).

"I thought it was a mixed bag for us," Eagles coach Sal Basile said. "I wasn't so happy with the way we wrestled performancewise, but the results worked in our favor. I preach a very offensive, aggressive style, and we wrestled too conservative this weekend."

Sending seven wrestlers to the finals, Springstead captured six individual crowns, led by Stephen Pavao's win at 120 pounds.

Pavao (23-4) handed Wesley Chapel's Tony Ruggiero, who placed sixth at state last season, his first loss of the season in 18 matches with a 7-6 decision.

"I think I'm in a class to win a state title this year, and if I believe in myself, I know that I can do that," said Pavao, who was named the event's most outstanding lightweight wrestler. "I knew that coming into the match I could win no matter who my opponent was."

Springstead's Jordan Rivera (138 pounds) won his second title in three years. After placing second last year at this event, Rivera (31-3) defeated Dunedin's Alex Lebhar (30-6) 4-3 in the finals.

Matt Landgraff (106) and Conor Ross (170) were runnersup as freshmen last season, but they captured championships this time around. Landgraff moved to 30-3 by handing Fivay's Cole Manion (20-1) his first loss with a 6-3 decision in the finals. Ross (37-1) beat Fivay's Nicco Lightfoot (25-4) by a 6-1 decision.

Joe Russo (152) and Mike McDonald (113) took the other two titles for the Eagles, both defeating Hillsborough High wrestlers. Russo moved to 23-4 with a 7-1 decision over Kyle Knauer (24-6). McDonald (29-2) continued his tear with a 12-4 major decision over Jacob West (22-7).

Dunedin's Clarence Arrington (126) and Marc Allison (132) went home with individual crowns. Arrington (23-0) scored a 9-1 major decision over George Jenkins' Ryan Strickland (20-7) to win his class, while Allison (31-4) had a much tougher bout against Gainesville's Matt Tamayo (29-4) in a 6-5 decision.

Nature Coast's Dylan Savoury (15-6) fell to two-time state champion Taylor Jackson (38-2), who won a technical fall at 182 pounds, 21-4. Gulf's Spencer Baxter (20-2), who placed third in Class A last season, lost 9-6 to Taylor's brother, Colton Jackson (33-2), at 160 pounds.

Wrestling: Host Eagles win their seventh Springstead Invitational in a row 01/05/13 [Last modified: Saturday, January 5, 2013 9:46pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Lightning takes defenseman Cal Foote with top pick in draft

    Lightning Strikes

    CHICAGO — Former Avalanche defenseman Adam Foote said his son Cal lived in the locker room.

    Cal Foote, second from left, is welcomed to the Lightning by GM Steve Yzerman, far left.
  2. It's Rays' turn to pound Orioles pitching (w/video)

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG - Ah, the fantastic four.

    The Rays smashed the reeling Orioles 15-5 on Friday, scoring a season-high in runs, to climb four games above .500 for the first time since July 1, 2015.

    Rays third baseman Evan Longoria scores on a triple by Logan Morrison during the first inning against the Orioles.
  3. Lightning journal: Plans set for 25th anniversary season

    Lightning Strikes

    CHICAGO — The Lightning revealed some of its plans for its 25th anniversary season Friday, including a ceremony to honor the 2004 Stanley Cup team.

    fit test: Top draft pick Cal Foote puts on his Lightning jersey.
  4. Rays designate catcher Derek Norris for assignment

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — C Derek Norris tied a career-high with three hits in Friday's 15-5 win against the Orioles then was designated for assignment after the game to make room on the 25-man roster for C Wilson Ramos.

    Matt Duffy is expected to resume his baseball activities once the stitches heal.
  5. Lightning picks defenseman Cal Foote


    Cal Foote is the son of former Avs defenseman Adam Foote.