weather unavailableweather unavailable
Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Alabama's Henry takes top honors

ATLANTA — Alabama running back Derrick Henry was the biggest star of college football's awards night, as he won the Maxwell Award, given to the player of the year, and the Doak Walker Award, given to the top running back.

The awards were presented for the first time at the College Football Hall of Fame on Thursday.

Also Thursday, Henry was chosen the Walter Camp player of the year.

Henry joined Trent Richardson, who won in 2011, as the only Alabama players to win the Doak Walker. Some other recent winners include Darren McFadden, Montee Ball and 2014 winner Melvin Gordon.

"This list is legendary," Henry said. "I'm just thankful to be a part of it."

Henry, Stanford running back Christian McCaffrey and Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson were the finalists for the Maxwell and also are the finalists for the Heisman Trophy, to be presented on Saturday in New York

Watson won the Davey O'Brien Award as the nation's top quarterback.

Henry rushed for 1,986 yards to break Herschel Walker's SEC single-season record and lead Alabama to the College Football Playoff. He ran for 189 yards and was picked as MVP in Alabama's SEC title game win over Florida. Henry is considered the Heisman favorite. Mark Ingram of Alabama in 2009 was the last running back — and only Crimson Tide player — to win the Heisman.

Clemson's Dabo Swinney, who was named coach of the year, said he's glad Watson is only a sophomore. "I think they got it right," he said of his QB winning the O'Brien. "He's special in every regard. He's more than just a great football player. He's a great young man. This is just the beginning for him."

Swinney said he looked forward to joining Watson in New York at the Heisman presentation. "I'm pumped," Swinney said. "I've never sniffed the Heisman presentation."

Texas A&M: Quarterback Kyle Allen is transferring. The sophomore appeared in 10 games this season and threw for 2,210 yards with 17 TDs.

College football award winners

Walter Camp (player of year): Derrick Henry, RB, Alabama

Maxwell (best all-around): Derrick Henry, RB, Alabama

Davey O'Brien (quarterback): Deshaun Watson, Clemson

Doak Walker (running back): Derrick Henry, Alabama

Fred Biletnikoff (wide receiver): Corey Coleman, Baylor

Chuck Bednarik (top defensive): Tyler Matakevich, LB, Temple

Outland Trophy (interior lineman): Joshua Garnett, G, Stanford

Dick Butkus (linebacker): Jaylon Smith, Notre Dame

Jim Thorpe (defensive back): Desmond King, Iowa

Lou Groza (kicker): Ka'imi Fairbairn, UCLA

John Mackey (tight end): Hunter Henry, Arkansas

Ray Guy (punter): Tom Hackett, Utah

Coach of year: Dabo Swinney, Clemson

Alabama's Henry takes top honors 12/10/15 [Last modified: Thursday, December 10, 2015 11:22pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours