weather unavailableweather unavailable
Make us your home page

Get the quickest, smartest news, analysis and photos from the Bucs game emailed to you shortly after the final whistle.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Zany poll season ends in stability

Gonzaga's first stint on top of the Associated Press poll lasted through the final Top 25 of the season.

The Bulldogs, the fourth of the four top seeds in the NCAA Tournament, were a runaway No. 1 for a third straight week Monday, receiving 45 first-place votes from the 65-member national media panel. They become the first school from a non-BCS conference to finish No.  1 in the final poll since Massachusetts of the Atlantic 10 in 1996.

Louisville, the overall No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament, is second and got the other first-place votes. Kansas and Indiana, the other No. 1 seeds, are third and fourth followed by Miami, Duke, Ohio State, Georgetown, Michigan State and Michigan.

Forty-four schools were ranked during the 2012-13 season, five off the record set in 2008-09. Five held the No. 1 ranking at some point — Indiana (10 weeks), Duke (5), Gonzaga (3), Louisville (1) and Michigan (1) — and there was a stretch of five polls when there was a different No. 1 each week.

Eleven teams were ranked in all 20 polls this season with Indiana, Michigan and Duke the only ones from that group to be in the Top 10 all season.

There were two one-week wonders this season: Florida State, which was No. 25 in the preseason poll for its only appearance, and Louisiana Tech, which was No. 25 three weeks ago.

Baylor finished No. 1 in the women's poll for the second straight year.

ALL-ACC: Miami's Shane Larkin was named to the coach's all-Atlantic Coast Conference team, along with unanimous picks Joe Harris of Virginia and Mason Plumlee of Duke. Virginia Tech's Erick Green and Duke's Seth Curry were also first-team picks. ACC defensive player of the year Durand Scott was one of three Miami players on the coaches' all-defense team, along with Larkin and Julian Gamble.

ALL-SEC: Florida's Billy Donovan was named Southeastern Conference coach of the year by the AP, and the Gators' Erik Murphy was selected for the All-SEC team. Murphy was joined by Georgia's Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, who was named player of the year Alabama's Trevor Releford, Tennessee's Jordan McRae and Kentucky's Nerlens Noel. Four Gators made honorable mention: Kenny Boynton, Patric Young, Mike Rosario and Scottie Wilbekin.

GRAND CANYON: Former Suns star and assistant coach Dan Majerle was named head coach for the Phoenix school that is beginning a four-year transition to Division I.

SOUTHERN CAL: Police confirmed they are investigating two unnamed players over a series of fights in Spokane, Wash., on March 10. School officials said last week they had suspended starting center Dewayne Dedmon and backup big man James Blasczyk for violating an unspecified team rule.

TEXAS STATE: Doug Davalos won't have his contract renewed for a seventh season. Davalos went 92-107, the third-most wins in school history.

WNIT: The Florida women earned a berth in the 64-team field and will visit Florida International on Thursday at a time to be determined.

Zany poll season ends in stability 03/18/13 [Last modified: Tuesday, March 19, 2013 12:01am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours