Make us your home page
Instagram

Contact us

Do you have updated information for this page? Please send it to Calendar@TampaBay.com

Mahaffey Theater

Editor's pick

http://mahaffeytheater.com/

Categories: Attraction, Music venue, Event venue, Performing Arts

Features: Beach/Waterfront, Date night, Outdoor seating, Private room

Payment options: Credit cards accepted

Alcohol: Full bar

Parking: Garage

More in this neighborhood: Downtown St. Petersburg

The Mahaffey Theater is a bayside jewel of a concert hall. This 2,030-seat theater has waterfront views and European box-style seating, which is perfect for the orchestra and dance performances it hosts. It's the usual home for Saturday night Florida Orchestra concerts during its season, but it also hosts touring Broadway shows and musical acts. Across the way, past its sweeping lawn, is the newly-constructed Dali Museum, making the entire compound a little waterfront cultural center. If you attend an event, be sure to go early so you can enjoy a beverage upstairs with its gorgeous view of Tampa Bay. Parking is fairly easy in and easy out into a garage.

The Grand Ballroom, Bayview Room, East Atrium and patio areas are available for special events. Through Mahaffey Gourmet, concert ticketholders receive discounts at participating restaurants within walking distance of the theater. Menus are available at the theater concierge.

In 2005, the theater underwent a $20 million renovation, more than doubling the size of the lobby size and adding guest amenities. It is part of the renamed Progress Energy Center for the Arts.

Events at Mahaffey Theater

Best of the Bay
Wednesday, September 27, 2017 6:00pm

Bill Burr
Friday, October 6, 2017 7:00pm
Friday, October 6, 2017 10:00pm

Bruce Hornsby
Tuesday, November 7, 2017 7:30pm
CANCELED Loretta Lynn
Friday, November 3, 2017 8:00pm
Florida Orchestra Coffee Concert: Orchestra Showpieces
Thursday, October 12, 2017 11:00am

Florida Orchestra Coffee Concerts: Classical America
Thursday, November 9, 2017 11:00am
Florida Orchestra Masterworks: Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7
Saturday, November 4, 2017 8:00pm
Florida Orchestra Masterworks: Carmina Burana
Saturday, October 7, 2017 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Masterworks: Jeffrey Multer Plays Bruch
Saturday, November 18, 2017 8:00pm
Florida Orchestra Masterworks: Tchaikovsky’s 1812 Overture
Saturday, October 28, 2017 8:00pm
Florida Orchestra Pops: Marvin Hamlisch and More
Saturday, November 11, 2017 2:00pm
Florida Orchestra Pops: Swing is the Thing
Saturday, October 14, 2017 2:00pm
Saturday, October 14, 2017 8:00pm

Ian Anderson
Thursday, November 9, 2017 8:00pm
John Mulaney
Thursday, September 28, 2017 7:00pm

La La Land in Concert
Sunday, November 12, 2017 7:00pm
Mannheim Steamroller Christmas
Wednesday, November 15, 2017 7:30pm
Sesame Street Live
Friday, October 20, 2017 10:30am
Friday, October 20, 2017 6:00pm

Tracy Morgan
Sunday, November 5, 2017 7:00pm

Reader reviews


  • theater1
  • theater2

  • Restaurants

  • Bars

Mahaffey Theater - Downtown St. Petersburg