Scattered Clouds87° FULL FORECASTScattered Clouds87° FULL FORECAST
Make us your home page
Instagram

Contact us

Do you have updated information for this page? Please send it to Calendar@TampaBay.com

Mahaffey Theater

Editor's pick

http://mahaffeytheater.com/

Categories: Attraction, Music venue, Event venue, Performing Arts

Features: Beach/Waterfront, Date night, Outdoor seating, Private room

Payment options: Credit cards accepted

Alcohol: Full bar

Parking: Garage

More in this neighborhood: Downtown St. Petersburg

The Mahaffey Theater is a bayside jewel of a concert hall. This 2,030-seat theater has waterfront views and European box-style seating, which is perfect for the orchestra and dance performances it hosts. It's the usual home for Saturday night Florida Orchestra concerts during its season, but it also hosts touring Broadway shows and musical acts. Across the way, past its sweeping lawn, is the newly-constructed Dali Museum, making the entire compound a little waterfront cultural center. If you attend an event, be sure to go early so you can enjoy a beverage upstairs with its gorgeous view of Tampa Bay. Parking is fairly easy in and easy out into a garage.

The Grand Ballroom, Bayview Room, East Atrium and patio areas are available for special events. Through Mahaffey Gourmet, concert ticketholders receive discounts at participating restaurants within walking distance of the theater. Menus are available at the theater concierge.

In 2005, the theater underwent a $20 million renovation, more than doubling the size of the lobby size and adding guest amenities. It is part of the renamed Progress Energy Center for the Arts.

Events at Mahaffey Theater

Florida Orchestra Coffee Concert: A Patriotic Salute
Thursday, October 27, 2016 11:00am

Florida Orchestra Coffee Concerts: Gilbert and Sullivan
Thursday, November 17, 2016 11:00am
Florida Orchestra Masterworks Series: Beethoven's Symphony No. 9
Saturday, October 1, 2016 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Masterworks Series: Jeremy Denk Plays Ravel
Saturday, October 22, 2016 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Masterworks Series: Mozart’s Jupiter Symphony
Saturday, November 5, 2016 8:00pm
Florida Orchestra Masterworks Series: Songs of the Sea
Saturday, November 12, 2016 8:00pm
Florida Orchestra Pops: Cirque de la Symphonie
Saturday, October 8, 2016 2:00pm
Saturday, October 8, 2016 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Pops: Great American Pops: From Fiedler to Williams
Saturday, November 19, 2016 8:00pm
Florida Orchestra Pops: Ray Charles, Motown and Beyond
Saturday, October 29, 2016 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Rock Series: Daryl Stuermer: The Music of Genesis
Friday, October 14, 2016 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra: Family Concerts
Saturday, November 5, 2016 10:30am
Jeffrey Osborne and Gerald Albright
Sunday, October 23, 2016 7:00pm

Mike Mills and Robert McDuffie
Friday, October 21, 2016 8:00pm

Odd Squad Live
Sunday, November 13, 2016 3:00pm
Pet Shop Boys
Tuesday, November 15, 2016 8:30pm
Peter Cetera
Sunday, October 30, 2016 7:00pm

St. Petersburg Power and Sailboat Show
Thursday, December 1, 2016 10:00am
Tracy Morgan
Friday, November 11, 2016 8:00pm

Reader reviews


  • theater1
  • theater2

  • Restaurants

  • Bars

Mahaffey Theater - Downtown St. Petersburg