Mostly Cloudy63° FULL FORECASTMostly Cloudy63° FULL FORECAST
Make us your home page
Instagram

Brooker Creek Preserve

http://brookercreekpreserve.org/

Categories: Nature preserve

Features: Classes offered, Guided tours, Hiking trails, Horse riding trails, Private room, Public restrooms

Alcohol: No alcohol

Parking: Lot

This roughly 8,700-acre preserve is the largest remaining natural open space in Pinellas County. Pine flatwoods dominate the uplands ecosystem. More than 50 percent of the preserve is wetlands, with branches of Booker Creek, wetlands forests, marshes, cypress domes and wet praires. The park is home to many types of flowers and an estimated 70 different species of butterfly. Trails and boardwalks offer a liesurely stroll of less than a mile or a more challenging four-mile hike. You can ride your horse on scenic or exercise trails, but bring your own water.

A three-building Education Center houses exhibit areas, a conference room, classrooms and a 200-seat auditorium available for corporate and family events. The center hosts monthly events and classes, as well as permanent exhibits. A resource center offers advice on landscaping with native plants and identifying local animals and plants. One large picnic shelter is available on a first-come basis but there are also family-size tables in a screened-in area near the auditorium.

Events at Brooker Creek Preserve

Benefit of Trees to Me
Saturday, January 17, 2015 10:30am

Birds of Brooker Creek
Saturday, January 10, 2015 8:00am
Saturday, February 14, 2015 8:00am
Saturday, March 14, 2015 8:00am

Book Time at Brooker Creek
Thursday, January 8, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, January 15, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, January 22, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, January 29, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, February 5, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, February 12, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, February 19, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, February 26, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, March 5, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, March 12, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, March 19, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, March 26, 2015 10:30am

Botany Hike
Friday, January 9, 2015 9:00am
Friday, February 13, 2015 9:00am
Friday, March 13, 2015 9:00am

Brooker Creek Night Hike
Saturday, January 3, 2015 6:00pm
Saturday, January 17, 2015 6:00pm
Saturday, February 7, 2015 6:30pm
Saturday, February 21, 2015 6:30pm
Saturday, March 7, 2015 6:30pm
Saturday, March 21, 2015 8:00pm

Dragonflies
Saturday, February 21, 2015 1:30pm

Explore the Ecosystems
Saturday, January 3, 2015 9:00am
Saturday, February 7, 2015 10:30am
Saturday, March 7, 2015 9:00am

Footprints on the Land Hike
Saturday, January 17, 2015 9:00am
Saturday, February 21, 2015 9:00am
Saturday, March 21, 2015 9:00am

Frogs
Saturday, February 21, 2015 10:30am

Going Coastal
Saturday, February 28, 2015 1:30pm
Sharky Science

Guided Photography Hike
Saturday, December 27, 2014 8:30am
Saturday, January 31, 2015 8:30am
Saturday, February 28, 2015 8:30am
Saturday, March 28, 2015 8:30am

Intro to Plant Identification
Saturday, January 10, 2015 10:30am

Our Wildest Place Hike
Saturday, December 27, 2014 9:00am
Saturday, January 24, 2015 9:00am
Saturday, January 31, 2015 9:00am

Wildflower Garden Club
Saturday, January 31, 2015 9:00am

Wildlife Hike
Friday, January 16, 2015 9:00am
Friday, February 20, 2015 9:00am
Friday, March 20, 2015 9:00am

Woods Walk
Friday, January 30, 2015 9:00am
Friday, February 27, 2015 9:00am

Reader reviews


  • Brooker1
  • Brooker2
  • Brooker3

  • Restaurants

  • Bars

Brooker Creek Preserve - Tarpon Springs