Clear54° FULL FORECASTClear54° FULL FORECAST
Make us your home page
Instagram

Contact us

Do you have updated information for this page? Please send it to Calendar@TampaBay.com

Brooker Creek Preserve

http://brookercreekpreserve.org/

Categories: Attraction, Nature preserve

Features: Classes offered, Guided tours, Hiking trails, Horse riding trails, Private room, Public restrooms

Alcohol: No alcohol

Parking: Lot

This roughly 8,700-acre preserve is the largest remaining natural open space in Pinellas County. Pine flatwoods dominate the uplands ecosystem. More than 50 percent of the preserve is wetlands, with branches of Booker Creek, wetlands forests, marshes, cypress domes and wet praires. The park is home to many types of flowers and an estimated 70 different species of butterfly. Trails and boardwalks offer a liesurely stroll of less than a mile or a more challenging four-mile hike. You can ride your horse on scenic or exercise trails, but bring your own water.

A three-building Education Center houses exhibit areas, a conference room, classrooms and a 200-seat auditorium available for corporate and family events. The center hosts monthly events and classes, as well as permanent exhibits. A resource center offers advice on landscaping with native plants and identifying local animals and plants. One large picnic shelter is available on a first-come basis but there are also family-size tables in a screened-in area near the auditorium.

Events at Brooker Creek Preserve

Advanced Plant Identification
Friday, March 4, 2016 10:00am

Birds of Brooker Creek
Saturday, February 13, 2016 8:00am

Birds of Prey
Saturday, February 13, 2016 10:00am

Book Time at Brooker Creek
Thursday, February 11, 2016 10:30am
Thursday, February 18, 2016 10:30am
Thursday, February 25, 2016 10:30am
Thursday, March 3, 2016 10:30am

Botany Hike
Friday, February 12, 2016 9:00am

Brooker Creek Night Hike
Saturday, February 13, 2016 6:00pm
Saturday, February 27, 2016 6:00pm
Saturday, March 5, 2016 6:30pm

Explore the Ecosystems
Saturday, March 5, 2016 9:00am

Family Fun Friday Mornings
Friday, February 26, 2016 10:00am
Alien Invaders

Ferns of Brooker Creek
Saturday, March 26, 2016 10:30am
Footprints on the Land Hike
Saturday, February 20, 2016 9:00am

Frogs!
Saturday, February 6, 2016 10:30am
Invasive Species: Butchers of Biodiversity in Your Backyard
Saturday, February 27, 2016 10:30am

Kitchen Botany
Saturday, February 20, 2016 10:30am

Off the Beaten Path Hike
Sunday, March 20, 2016 9:00am
Preserve Work Day
Saturday, February 20, 2016 8:00am
Saturday, February 27, 2016 8:00am

Seasons of Florida Photography Hike
Saturday, February 27, 2016 8:30am

Wildflower Garden Club
Saturday, February 27, 2016 9:00am

Wildlife Hike
Friday, February 19, 2016 9:00am

Woods Walk
Friday, March 4, 2016 9:00am

Reader reviews


  • Brooker1
  • Brooker2
  • Brooker3

  • Restaurants

  • Bars

Brooker Creek Preserve - null