Clear87° FULL FORECASTClear87° FULL FORECAST
Make us your home page
Instagram

Brooker Creek Preserve

http://brookercreekpreserve.org/

Categories: Nature preserve

Features: Classes offered, Guided tours, Hiking trails, Horse riding trails, Private room, Public restrooms

Alcohol: No alcohol

Parking: Lot

This roughly 8,700-acre preserve is the largest remaining natural open space in Pinellas County. Pine flatwoods dominate the uplands ecosystem. More than 50 percent of the preserve is wetlands, with branches of Booker Creek, wetlands forests, marshes, cypress domes and wet praires. The park is home to many types of flowers and an estimated 70 different species of butterfly. Trails and boardwalks offer a liesurely stroll of less than a mile or a more challenging four-mile hike. You can ride your horse on scenic or exercise trails, but bring your own water.

A three-building Education Center houses exhibit areas, a conference room, classrooms and a 200-seat auditorium available for corporate and family events. The center hosts monthly events and classes, as well as permanent exhibits. A resource center offers advice on landscaping with native plants and identifying local animals and plants. One large picnic shelter is available on a first-come basis but there are also family-size tables in a screened-in area near the auditorium.

Events at Brooker Creek Preserve

Birds of Brooker Creek
Saturday, July 11, 2015 8:00am
Saturday, August 8, 2015 8:00am
Saturday, September 12, 2015 8:00am

Book Time at Brooker Creek
Thursday, July 9, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, July 16, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, July 23, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, July 30, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, August 6, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, August 13, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, August 20, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, August 27, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, September 3, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, September 10, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, September 17, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, September 24, 2015 10:30am

Explore the Ecosystems
Saturday, August 1, 2015 9:30am
Saturday, September 5, 2015 9:00am

FireWise Workshop
Saturday, July 18, 2015 9:00am

Footprints on the Land Hike
Saturday, July 18, 2015 9:00am
Saturday, August 15, 2015 10:00am
Saturday, September 19, 2015 9:00am

Music Jamboree
Sunday, July 19, 2015 3:30pm

Ocean Frontiers
Thursday, August 13, 2015 6:30pm

Our Wildest Place Hike
Saturday, July 25, 2015 9:00am
Saturday, August 22, 2015 9:00am
Saturday, August 29, 2015 9:00am

Paradise Lost
Saturday, September 26, 2015 10:30am

Return the Preserve Day
Saturday, July 25, 2015 8:00am
Saturday, August 29, 2015 8:00am

Why Snakes Are Cool
Saturday, July 25, 2015 10:00am

Wildflower Garden Club
Saturday, July 25, 2015 8:00am

Reader reviews


  • Brooker1
  • Brooker2
  • Brooker3

  • Restaurants

  • Bars

Brooker Creek Preserve - Tarpon Springs