Clear63° WeatherClear63° Weather

Brooker Creek Preserve

http://brookercreekpreserve.org/

Categories: Nature preserve

Features: Classes offered, Guided tours, Hiking trails, Horse riding trails, Private room, Public restrooms

Alcohol: No alcohol

This roughly 8,700-acre preserve is the largest remaining natural open space in Pinellas County. Pine flatwoods dominate the uplands ecosystem. More than 50 percent of the preserve is wetlands, with branches of Booker Creek, wetlands forests, marshes, cypress domes and wet praires. The park is home to many types of flowers and an estimated 70 different species of butterfly. Trails and boardwalks offer a liesurely stroll of less than a mile or a more challenging four-mile hike. You can ride your horse on scenic or exercise trails, but bring your own water.

A three-building Education Center houses exhibit areas, a conference room, classrooms and a 200-seat auditorium available for corporate and family events. The center hosts monthly events and classes, as well as permanent exhibits. A resource center offers advice on landscaping with native plants and identifying local animals and plants. One large picnic shelter is available on a first-come basis but there are also family-size tables in a screened-in area near the auditorium.

Events at Brooker Creek Preserve

Birds of Brooker Creek
Saturday, January 10, 2015 8:00am
Saturday, December 13, 2014 8:00am
Saturday, November 8, 2014 8:00am

Book Time at Brooker Creek
Thursday, January 8, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, January 15, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, January 22, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, January 29, 2015 10:30am
Thursday, December 4, 2014 10:30am
Thursday, December 11, 2014 10:30am
Thursday, December 18, 2014 10:30am
Thursday, November 6, 2014 10:30am
Thursday, November 13, 2014 10:30am
Thursday, November 20, 2014 10:30am
Thursday, October 30, 2014 10:30am

Botany 101
Saturday, November 8, 2014 12:30pm

Botany Hike
Friday, January 9, 2015 9:00am
Friday, December 12, 2014 9:00am
Friday, November 14, 2014 9:00am

Brooker Creek Night Hike
Friday, December 19, 2014 7:00pm
Friday, December 5, 2014 7:00pm
Wednesday, November 26, 2014 7:00pm
Friday, November 21, 2014 7:00pm
Friday, November 7, 2014 7:00pm
Friday, October 31, 2014 7:00pm

Dragonfly Discover Walk
Saturday, October 25, 2014 10:00am

Explore the Ecosystems
Saturday, January 3, 2015 9:00am
Saturday, December 6, 2014 9:00am
Saturday, November 1, 2014 9:00am

Footprints on the Land Hike
Saturday, December 20, 2014 9:00am
Saturday, November 15, 2014 9:00am

Guided Photography Hike
Saturday, December 27, 2014 8:30am
Saturday, November 29, 2014 8:30am
Saturday, October 25, 2014 8:30am

Nature Journaling
Saturday, November 1, 2014 10:00am

Observing Nature through Mixed Media Drawing
Saturday, October 25, 2014 10:00am

Our Wildest Place Hike
Saturday, January 24, 2015 9:00am
Saturday, January 31, 2015 9:00am
Saturday, November 22, 2014 9:00am
Saturday, December 27, 2014 9:00am
Saturday, November 29, 2014 9:00am
Saturday, October 25, 2014 9:00am

Talk About Turkeys
Saturday, November 1, 2014 10:30am

Turtle Science: Why Turtles are Cool
Saturday, December 6, 2014 10:30am

Wildflower Garden Club
Saturday, November 29, 2014 8:00am
Saturday, October 25, 2014 8:00am

Wildlife Hike
Friday, January 16, 2015 9:00am
Friday, December 19, 2014 9:00am
Friday, November 21, 2014 9:00am

Woods Walk
Friday, December 5, 2014 9:00am
Friday, November 7, 2014 9:00am

Wreath Making
Saturday, December 6, 2014 10:00am

Reader reviews


  • Brooker1
  • Brooker2
  • Brooker3

  • Restaurants

  • Bars

Brooker Creek Preserve - Tarpon Springs