Clear73° FULL FORECASTClear73° FULL FORECAST
Make us your home page
Instagram

Contact us

Do you have updated information for this page? Please send it to Calendar@TampaBay.com

Mahaffey Theater

Editor's pick

http://mahaffeytheater.com/

Categories: Attraction, Music venue, Event venue, Performing Arts

Features: Beach/Waterfront, Date night, Outdoor seating, Private room

Payment options: Credit cards accepted

Alcohol: Full bar

Parking: Garage

More in this neighborhood: Downtown St. Petersburg

The Mahaffey Theater is a bayside jewel of a concert hall. This 2,030-seat theater has waterfront views and European box-style seating, which is perfect for the orchestra and dance performances it hosts. It's the usual home for Saturday night Florida Orchestra concerts during its season, but it also hosts touring Broadway shows and musical acts. Across the way, past its sweeping lawn, is the newly-constructed Dali Museum, making the entire compound a little waterfront cultural center. If you attend an event, be sure to go early so you can enjoy a beverage upstairs with its gorgeous view of Tampa Bay. Parking is fairly easy in and easy out into a garage.

The Grand Ballroom, Bayview Room, East Atrium and patio areas are available for special events. Through Mahaffey Gourmet, concert ticketholders receive discounts at participating restaurants within walking distance of the theater. Menus are available at the theater concierge.

In 2005, the theater underwent a $20 million renovation, more than doubling the size of the lobby size and adding guest amenities. It is part of the renamed Progress Energy Center for the Arts.

Events at Mahaffey Theater

1964...The Tribute
Friday, March 31, 2017 7:00pm

Equality Florida Gala
Saturday, April 15, 2017 7:00pm

Florida Orchestra Coffee Concerts: French Bonbons
Thursday, April 20, 2017 11:00am

Florida Orchestra Masterworks: Beethoven and Rachmaninoff
Saturday, April 1, 2017 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Masterworks: Beethoven's Emperor Concerto
Saturday, May 20, 2017 8:00pm
Florida Orchestra Masterworks: Symphonie Fantastique
Saturday, April 29, 2017 8:00pm
Florida Orchestra Masterworks: Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1
Saturday, April 8, 2017 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Pops: A Night at the Opera
Saturday, March 25, 2017 8:00pm
Florida Orchestra Pops: Singin’ and Swingin’: A Century of Ella
Saturday, April 22, 2017 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Pops: The American Songbook: Then and Now
Saturday, May 13, 2017 8:00pm
Florida Orchestra Rock Series: The Music of Journey
Friday, May 5, 2017 8:00pm
Florida Orchestra: Family Concerts
Saturday, May 13, 2017 10:00am
One Night of Queen
Friday, April 21, 2017 8:00pm

Rock Stars and Stripes: The American Rock Experience
Friday, April 14, 2017 8:00pm

Ron White
Friday, April 28, 2017 7:00pm
Tango Lovers
Sunday, March 26, 2017 6:00pm

Reader reviews


  • theater1
  • theater2

  • Restaurants

  • Bars

Mahaffey Theater - Downtown St. Petersburg