weather unavailableweather unavailable
Make us your home page
Instagram

Gulfport

http://www.mygulfport.us/

Categories: Beach

Features: Beach/Waterfront

Parking: Lot

More in this neighborhood: Gulfport

This small beach community is nestled between St. Petersburg and Boca Ciega Bay. Beach Boulevard is the main drag, packed with shops, restaurants and galleries. It also takes you to the Gulfport Casino and Shore Boulevard, which runs along the beach.

With a playground at both ends and plenty of pavilions and shady pine trees in between, this beach was made for birthday parties, picnics and family outings. The beach is short in comparison to most in the area and the water in Boca Ciega Bay is usually not as clear as the Gulf of Mexico, but there are very few shells or rocks to step on and it's usually nice and calm.

There are restrooms and showers located right by the beach. Boats under 17 feet can access the beach via the public dock and there is a fishing pier at the east end of the shoreline. When you're done enjoying the water you can cross Shore Boulevard and easily walk to a string of beach bars. Perhaps you might like to finish out the night singing karaoke at O'Maddy's, a local favorite.

Some things to keep in mind: The beach is tiny in comparison to most, only about a quarter mile, and there are no lifeguards. The scenery in not as breathtaking as many of the other beaches in the area and due to the east-west orientation you won't get to see much of a sunset there. But there is plenty of public parking a stone's throw from the water and best of all, it's free.

For more tourist and business information, check out this website.

Events at Gulfport

Gecko Fest
Saturday, September 5, 2015 10:00am

Gulfport Art Walk
Saturday, July 18, 2015 6:00pm
Friday, August 7, 2015 6:00pm
Saturday, August 15, 2015 6:00pm
Friday, September 4, 2015 6:00pm
Saturday, September 19, 2015 6:00pm
Friday, October 2, 2015 6:00pm
Saturday, October 17, 2015 6:00pm
Friday, November 6, 2015 6:00pm
Saturday, November 21, 2015 6:00pm
Friday, December 4, 2015 6:00pm
Saturday, December 19, 2015 6:00pm

Gulfport Tuesday Fresh Market
Tuesday, July 7, 2015 9:00am
Tuesday, July 14, 2015 9:00am
Tuesday, July 21, 2015 9:00am
Tuesday, July 28, 2015 9:00am
Tuesday, August 4, 2015 9:00am
Tuesday, August 11, 2015 9:00am
Tuesday, August 18, 2015 9:00am
Tuesday, August 25, 2015 9:00am
Tuesday, September 1, 2015 9:00am
Tuesday, September 8, 2015 9:00am
Tuesday, September 15, 2015 9:00am
Tuesday, September 22, 2015 9:00am
Tuesday, September 29, 2015 9:00am

Reader reviews


  • Gulfport Casino
  • Gulfport Beach
  • Gulfport pier

  • Restaurants

  • Bars

Gulfport - Gulfport