Clear48° FULL FORECASTClear48° FULL FORECAST
Make us your home page
Instagram

Homosassa Springs State Wildlife Park

Editor's pick

http://floridastateparks.org/homosassasprings/default.cfm

Categories: Day trip, Park

Features: Kid-friendly

Payment options: Credit cards accepted

Parking: Lot

Admission: $13, $5 ages 6-12, 5 and younger free.

More in this neighborhood: Citrus County

A 45-foot deep natural spring is the centerpiece of this more than 210-acre park. It's home to a whole host of animals, including native birds, alligators, crocodiles, red wolves, bears, bobcats, cougars, snakes, turtles and more.

And did we mention the hippo? He's somewhat of a local celebrity. Lu (formerly known as Lucifer) was starring in movies when the springs were an exotic animal park. Local residents took a liking to Lu and often visited him between movies. When the park went to strictly native species, Lu was supposed to be transferred. But after a campaign to grant his permanent status in the park, he was allowed to stay.

Lu celebrated 50 years at the park in 2010. Read about it here.

There are also manatees that can be viewed up close through the floating underwater observatory inside the springs. Park admission is $13 per adult.

Events at Homosassa Springs State Wildlife Park

Celebration of Lights
Friday, December 19, 2014 5:30pm
Saturday, December 20, 2014 5:30pm
Sunday, December 21, 2014 5:30pm
Monday, December 22, 2014 5:30pm
Tuesday, December 23, 2014 5:30pm
Wednesday, December 24, 2014 5:30pm
Friday, December 26, 2014 5:30pm

Egg-Stravaganza
Saturday, April 4, 2015 9:00am

Hippopotamus Birthday
Monday, January 26, 2015 10:00am

Homosassa Heritage Day
Saturday, March 7, 2015 10:00am

Wildlife Jeopardy Program
Saturday, January 10, 2015 12:00pm
Marjorie Stoneman Douglas
Saturday, February 21, 2015 12:00pm
Alligators
Saturday, March 14, 2015 12:00pm
Winslow Homer
Saturday, April 11, 2015 12:00pm
Wetlands and Wildflowers
Saturday, May 9, 2015 12:00pm
Florida Panther and Bobcats
Saturday, June 13, 2015 12:00pm
Key Deer
Saturday, July 11, 2015 12:00pm
Bald Eagles

Wildlife Park Art Show
Saturday, February 14, 2015 9:00am

Reader reviews


  • Lu the Hippo
  • Homosassa Springs
  • Springs sign

  • Restaurants

  • Bars

Homosassa Springs State Wildlife Park - Citrus County