Partly Cloudy84° FULL FORECASTPartly Cloudy84° FULL FORECAST
Make us your home page
Instagram

Mahaffey Theater

Editor's pick

http://mahaffeytheater.com/

Categories: Event venue, Music venue, Performing Arts

Features: Beach/Waterfront, Date night, Outdoor seating, Private room

Payment options: Credit cards accepted

Alcohol: Full bar

Parking: Garage

More in this neighborhood: Downtown St. Petersburg

The Mahaffey Theater is a bayside jewel of a concert hall. This 2,030-seat theater has waterfront views and European box-style seating, which is perfect for the orchestra and dance performances it hosts. It's the usual home for Saturday night Florida Orchestra concerts during its season, but it also hosts touring Broadway shows and musical acts. Across the way, past its sweeping lawn, is the newly-constructed Dali Museum, making the entire compound a little waterfront cultural center. If you attend an event, be sure to go early so you can enjoy a beverage upstairs with its gorgeous view of Tampa Bay. Parking is fairly easy in and easy out into a garage.

The Grand Ballroom, Bayview Room, East Atrium and patio areas are available for special events. Through Mahaffey Gourmet, concert ticketholders receive discounts at participating restaurants within walking distance of the theater. Menus are available at the theater concierge.

In 2005, the theater underwent a $20 million renovation, more than doubling the size of the lobby size and adding guest amenities. It is part of the renamed Progress Energy Center for the Arts.

Events at Mahaffey Theater

Alanis Morissette
Tuesday, April 28, 2015 7:30pm

Alanis Morissette
Tuesday, April 28, 2015 7:30pm

Billy Gardell
Friday, June 26, 2015 8:00pm

Chaka Khan
Friday, November 13, 2015 8:00pm

Chef Robert Irvine LIVE
Sunday, April 19, 2015 7:00pm

Florida Orchestra Coffee Concert Series
Thursday, May 21, 2015 11:00am
Kick Up Your Heels
Thursday, October 29, 2015 11:00am
Our American Music
Thursday, November 19, 2015 11:00am
Bohemian Dances

Florida Orchestra Masterworks: Beethoven & Sibelius
Saturday, May 30, 2015 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Masterworks: Brahms' Violin Concerto
Saturday, November 14, 2015 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Masterworks: Handel's Messiah
Saturday, December 5, 2015 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Masterworks: The Bells & Pictures
Saturday, November 7, 2015 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Masterworks: The Planets
Saturday, May 2, 2015 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Masterworks: Vivaldi's The Four Seasons
Saturday, October 24, 2015 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Pops Series: Hilary Kole Pays Tribute to Judy Garland
Saturday, April 25, 2015 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Pops Series: Judy Garland Tribute
Saturday, April 25, 2015 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Pops Series: Let Freedom Ring
Saturday, May 23, 2015 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Pops: A Night at the Oscars
Saturday, October 10, 2015 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Pops: Curtis Stigers Celebrates Sinatra
Saturday, November 21, 2015 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Pops: Halloween Pops
Saturday, October 31, 2015 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Pops: Holiday Pops
Saturday, December 12, 2015 2:00pm
Saturday, December 12, 2015 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Rock Series: The Music of The Who
Friday, May 8, 2015 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Special Concerts: Singin' in the Rain
Saturday, May 16, 2015 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra: The Music of Led Zeppelin
Friday, October 16, 2015 8:00pm

Jerry Seinfeld
Thursday, April 30, 2015 7:00pm
Friday, May 1, 2015 7:00pm
Friday, May 1, 2015 9:30pm

Mahaffey Theater's 50th Anniversary
Sunday, April 26, 2015 4:00pm

Pat Benatar and Neil Giraldo
Tuesday, May 19, 2015 7:30pm

Second Thursday on the Plaza
Thursday, May 14, 2015 6:30pm
Save the Radio

The Gipsy Kings
Sunday, June 14, 2015 7:30pm

The Price Is Right Live
Sunday, April 26, 2015 7:00pm

UB40
Friday, October 23, 2015 8:00pm

Wendy Williams
Saturday, July 18, 2015 8:00pm

Zeppelin USA
Wednesday, April 29, 2015 7:30pm

Reader reviews


  • theater1
  • theater2

  • Restaurants

  • Bars

Mahaffey Theater - Downtown St. Petersburg