Mahaffey Theater

Editor's pick

http://mahaffeytheater.com/

Categories: Event venue, Music venue, Performing Arts

Features: Beach/Waterfront, Date night, Outdoor seating, Private room

Payment options: Credit cards accepted

Alcohol: Full bar

More in this neighborhood: Downtown St. Petersburg

The Mahaffey Theater is a bayside jewel of a concert hall. This 2,030-seat theater has waterfront views and European box-style seating, which is perfect for the orchestra and dance performances it hosts. It's the usual home for Saturday night Florida Orchestra concerts during its season, but it also hosts touring Broadway shows and musical acts. Across the way, past its sweeping lawn, is the newly-constructed Dali Museum, making the entire compound a little waterfront cultural center. If you attend an event, be sure to go early so you can enjoy a beverage upstairs with its gorgeous view of Tampa Bay. Parking is fairly easy in and easy out into a garage.

The Grand Ballroom, Bayview Room, East Atrium and patio areas are available for special events. Through Mahaffey Gourmet, concert ticketholders receive discounts at participating restaurants within walking distance of the theater. Menus are available at the theater concierge.

In 2005, the theater underwent a $20 million renovation, more than doubling the size of the lobby size and adding guest amenities. It is part of the renamed Progress Energy Center for the Arts.

Events at Mahaffey Theater

Artlink Professional Artist Series Reception
Thursday, May 8, 2014 6:00pm

Florida Orchestra Coffee Concert Series
Thursday, May 22, 2014 11:00am Earth, Wind, Fire and Water

Florida Orchestra Masterworks: Tan Dun's Water Concerto
Saturday, April 26, 2014 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Masterworks: Tchaikovsky's Pathetique
Saturday, May 17, 2014 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Pops: A Stars and Stripes Hit Parade
Saturday, May 24, 2014 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Rock Series: Music of the Eagles
Friday, May 9, 2014 8:00pm

Gispy Kings
Wednesday, May 14, 2014 7:30pm

Memphis Soul
Friday, August 8, 2014 8:00pm

Morrissey
Friday, May 30, 2014 8:15pm

Puppy Love Benefit
Friday, May 16, 2014 7:00pm

Sid the Science Kid
Sunday, May 18, 2014 2:00pm

Yes
Saturday, August 2, 2014 8:00pm

Reader reviews


  • theater1
  • theater2

  • Restaurants

  • Bars

Mahaffey Theater - Downtown St. Petersburg