Make us your home page

Contact us

Do you have updated information for this page? Please send it to Calendar@TampaBay.com

Mahaffey Theater

Editor's pick


Categories: Music venue, Event venue, Performing Arts

Features: Beach/Waterfront, Date night, Outdoor seating, Private room

Payment options: Credit cards accepted

Alcohol: Full bar

Parking: Garage

More in this neighborhood: Downtown St. Petersburg

The Mahaffey Theater is a bayside jewel of a concert hall. This 2,030-seat theater has waterfront views and European box-style seating, which is perfect for the orchestra and dance performances it hosts. It's the usual home for Saturday night Florida Orchestra concerts during its season, but it also hosts touring Broadway shows and musical acts. Across the way, past its sweeping lawn, is the newly-constructed Dali Museum, making the entire compound a little waterfront cultural center. If you attend an event, be sure to go early so you can enjoy a beverage upstairs with its gorgeous view of Tampa Bay. Parking is fairly easy in and easy out into a garage.

The Grand Ballroom, Bayview Room, East Atrium and patio areas are available for special events. Through Mahaffey Gourmet, concert ticketholders receive discounts at participating restaurants within walking distance of the theater. Menus are available at the theater concierge.

In 2005, the theater underwent a $20 million renovation, more than doubling the size of the lobby size and adding guest amenities. It is part of the renamed Progress Energy Center for the Arts.

Events at Mahaffey Theater

Alvin and the Chipmunks Live!
Thursday, October 15, 2015 7:30pm

Billy F. Gibbons
Sunday, November 29, 2015 7:00pm
Brian Wilson
Tuesday, November 17, 2015 7:30pm
Chaka Khan
Friday, November 13, 2015 8:00pm
Chris Cornell
Friday, October 30, 2015 8:00pm

Cirque Dreams Holidaze
Sunday, November 15, 2015 7:00pm
Clifford the Big Red Dog
Sunday, November 22, 2015 3:00pm
Florida Orchestra Coffee Concert Series
Thursday, October 29, 2015 11:00am
Our American Music

Florida Orchestra Coffee Concert: Bohemian Dances
Thursday, November 19, 2015 11:00am
Florida Orchestra Coffee Concert: Our American Music
Thursday, October 29, 2015 11:00am

Florida Orchestra Masterworks: Brahms' Violin Concerto
Saturday, November 14, 2015 8:00pm
Florida Orchestra Masterworks: Handel's Messiah
Saturday, December 5, 2015 8:00pm
Florida Orchestra Masterworks: The Bells and Pictures
Saturday, November 7, 2015 8:00pm
Florida Orchestra Masterworks: Vivaldi's The Four Seasons
Saturday, October 24, 2015 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Pops: A Night at the Oscars
Saturday, October 10, 2015 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra Pops: Curtis Stigers Celebrates Sinatra
Saturday, November 21, 2015 8:00pm
Florida Orchestra Pops: Halloween Pops
Saturday, October 31, 2015 8:00pm

Florida Orchestra: Side-by-Side with Youth Symphonies
Wednesday, October 14, 2015 7:00pm
Pinellas Youth Symphony

Florida Orchestra: The Music of Led Zeppelin
Friday, October 16, 2015 8:00pm

Mannheim Steamroller Christmas
Tuesday, November 10, 2015 7:30pm
St. Petersburg Power and Sailboat Show
Thursday, December 3, 2015 10:00am
The Magic of Christmas starring The New York Tenors
Saturday, November 28, 2015 8:00pm
Friday, October 23, 2015 8:00pm

World's Largest Food Truck Festival Ever! IV
Saturday, October 31, 2015 11:00am

Reader reviews

  • theater1
  • theater2

  • Restaurants

  • Bars

Mahaffey Theater - Downtown St. Petersburg