Overcast65° FULL FORECASTOvercast65° FULL FORECAST
Make us your home page
Instagram

Skipper's Smokehouse

Editor's pick

http://skipperssmokehouse.com/

Categories: Bar, Music venue, Restaurant

Features: Beloved dive, Icon, Live music, Outdoor seating

Payment options: Credit cards accepted

Alcohol: Full bar

Skipper's is an institution. Generations of music lovers have called themselves regulars at this classic, Old Florida-themed establishment. Not only does it provide a spacious outdoor concert area, communal benches and beachy sand add even more charm, and its restaurant serves some of the best Floridian fare in the bay area – one of the few places that serve gator tail!

It gets a bad rap for being overloaded with aging hippies, but some of the best times can be had with jolly tie-dyed boomers, shaking it to a Grateful Dead tribute band. What gets overlooked in the frantic avoidance of ponytailed dads: Skipper's is a premier concert venue, offering the biggest variety of musical styles. It's where you can catch headliners as diverse as the Avett Brothers, Black Keys, Jonathan Richman, Antibalas Afrobeat Orchestra, Duane Eddy, Dickey Betts and Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings, along with a wide variety of premier local bands such as Nervous Turkey and Rebekah Pulley and the Reluctant Prophets.

Jay Cridlin of tbt* did this wonderful piece on the 30th anniversary of Skippers. It's filled with lore and loving tributes.

Events at Skipper's Smokehouse

Bruce Katz Band
Tuesday, May 12, 2015 7:00pm

Chuck Prophet
Saturday, April 4, 2015 8:00pm

Cinco de Mongo
Tuesday, May 5, 2015 7:00pm

Come Back Alice
Saturday, March 28, 2015 8:00pm

Halcyon
Friday, March 27, 2015 8:00pm

High Cotton
Sunday, April 5, 2015 5:00pm

Hope Darling
Saturday, April 25, 2015 8:00pm

John Ginty Band
Tuesday, March 31, 2015 7:00pm

Johnny G Lyon Band
Saturday, April 18, 2015 8:00pm

Larry Garner Band
Sunday, March 29, 2015 5:00pm

Miss Tess & the Talkbacks
Tuesday, April 21, 2015 7:00pm

Rayburn Anthony
Friday, April 10, 2015 8:00pm

Rock School Blowout
Sunday, April 12, 2015 1:00pm

Samantha Fish
Friday, April 17, 2015 8:00pm

Sean Chambers
Friday, April 24, 2015 8:00pm

Selwyn Birchwood
Friday, April 3, 2015 8:00pm

Tuesday Bluesday
Tuesday, April 28, 2015 7:00pm

Reader reviews


  • skipper's smokehouse
  • skipper's smokehouse 2
  • skipper's smokehouse 3

  • Restaurants

  • Bars

Skipper's Smokehouse - Tampa