Make us your home page

Contact us

Do you have updated information for this page? Please send it to Calendar@TampaBay.com

Skipper's Smokehouse

Editor's pick


Categories: Restaurant, Music venue, Bar

Features: Beloved dive, Icon, Live music, Outdoor seating

Payment options: Credit cards accepted

Alcohol: Full bar

Skipper's is an institution. Generations of music lovers have called themselves regulars at this classic, Old Florida-themed establishment. Not only does it provide a spacious outdoor concert area, communal benches and beachy sand add even more charm, and its restaurant serves some of the best Floridian fare in the bay area – one of the few places that serve gator tail!

It gets a bad rap for being overloaded with aging hippies, but some of the best times can be had with jolly tie-dyed boomers, shaking it to a Grateful Dead tribute band. What gets overlooked in the frantic avoidance of ponytailed dads: Skipper's is a premier concert venue, offering the biggest variety of musical styles. It's where you can catch headliners as diverse as the Avett Brothers, Black Keys, Jonathan Richman, Antibalas Afrobeat Orchestra, Duane Eddy, Dickey Betts and Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings, along with a wide variety of premier local bands such as Nervous Turkey and Rebekah Pulley and the Reluctant Prophets.

Jay Cridlin of tbt* did this wonderful piece on the 30th anniversary of Skippers. It's filled with lore and loving tributes.

Events at Skipper's Smokehouse

Chris Duarte Group
Friday, December 18, 2015 8:00pm

Come Back Alice
Friday, January 22, 2016 8:00pm
Damon Fowler Group
Friday, December 11, 2015 8:00pm

Dash Rip Rock
Saturday, November 28, 2015 8:00pm

Donna the Buffalo
Thursday, December 31, 2015 8:00pm
Frank Sinatra Centennial
Saturday, December 12, 2015 7:00pm

Saturday, December 5, 2015 8:00pm

Holey Miss Moley
Sunday, November 29, 2015 5:00pm

Marcia Ball
Friday, January 8, 2016 8:00pm
No Money Down
Friday, November 27, 2015 8:00pm

Reverend Billy C Wirtz
Saturday, December 26, 2015 8:00pm

Rock School Blowout
Sunday, December 6, 2015 3:00pm

Soul Rebels
Friday, December 4, 2015 8:00pm

Suncoast Blues Society's Holiday Party
Saturday, December 19, 2015 8:00pm

Tab Benoit
Friday, January 15, 2016 8:00pm
The Cheaters
Saturday, January 16, 2016 8:00pm
Voo Davis
Tuesday, December 8, 2015 7:00pm

Reader reviews

  • skipper's smokehouse 2
  • skipper's smokehouse 3
  • skipper's smokehouse

  • Restaurants

  • Bars

Skipper's Smokehouse - Tampa