Overcast90° FULL FORECASTOvercast90° FULL FORECAST
Make us your home page
Instagram

Skipper's Smokehouse

Editor's pick

http://skipperssmokehouse.com/

Categories: Bar, Music venue, Restaurant

Features: Beloved dive, Icon, Live music, Outdoor seating

Payment options: Credit cards accepted

Alcohol: Full bar

Skipper's is an institution. Generations of music lovers have called themselves regulars at this classic, Old Florida-themed establishment. Not only does it provide a spacious outdoor concert area, communal benches and beachy sand add even more charm, and its restaurant serves some of the best Floridian fare in the bay area – one of the few places that serve gator tail!

It gets a bad rap for being overloaded with aging hippies, but some of the best times can be had with jolly tie-dyed boomers, shaking it to a Grateful Dead tribute band. What gets overlooked in the frantic avoidance of ponytailed dads: Skipper's is a premier concert venue, offering the biggest variety of musical styles. It's where you can catch headliners as diverse as the Avett Brothers, Black Keys, Jonathan Richman, Antibalas Afrobeat Orchestra, Duane Eddy, Dickey Betts and Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings, along with a wide variety of premier local bands such as Nervous Turkey and Rebekah Pulley and the Reluctant Prophets.

Jay Cridlin of tbt* did this wonderful piece on the 30th anniversary of Skippers. It's filled with lore and loving tributes.

Events at Skipper's Smokehouse

Americana Fest
Saturday, July 18, 2015 4:00pm

Damon Fowler Group
Friday, July 17, 2015 8:00pm

Daryl Hance Power Trio
Sunday, August 16, 2015 5:00pm

Kim Lenz
Friday, August 21, 2015 8:00pm

Pete & Wayne
Sunday, September 6, 2015 7:00pm

Sean Chambers
Friday, August 28, 2015 8:00pm

Shoeless Soul
Saturday, July 11, 2015 8:00pm

Soul Circus Cowboys
Sunday, July 12, 2015 5:00pm

The Sauce Boss
Saturday, October 3, 2015 8:00pm

Under the Willow
Sunday, August 9, 2015 5:00pm

Unknown Hinson
Friday, July 24, 2015 8:00pm

Voo Davis
Tuesday, July 14, 2015 7:00pm

WMNF Presents: Heatwave Deja Vu
Friday, July 10, 2015 8:00pm

Zach Deputy
Friday, September 11, 2015 8:00pm

Reader reviews


  • skipper's smokehouse
  • skipper's smokehouse 2
  • skipper's smokehouse 3

  • Restaurants

  • Bars

Skipper's Smokehouse - Tampa