Mostly Cloudy50° FULL FORECASTMostly Cloudy50° FULL FORECAST
Make us your home page
Instagram

Contact us

Do you have updated information for this page? Please send it to Calendar@TampaBay.com

Skipper's Smokehouse

Editor's pick

http://skipperssmokehouse.com/

Categories: Restaurant, Music venue, Bar

Features: Beloved dive, Icon, Live music, Outdoor seating

Payment options: Credit cards accepted

Alcohol: Full bar

Skipper's is an institution. Generations of music lovers have called themselves regulars at this classic, Old Florida-themed establishment. Not only does it provide a spacious outdoor concert area, communal benches and beachy sand add even more charm, and its restaurant serves some of the best Floridian fare in the bay area – one of the few places that serve gator tail!

It gets a bad rap for being overloaded with aging hippies, but some of the best times can be had with jolly tie-dyed boomers, shaking it to a Grateful Dead tribute band. What gets overlooked in the frantic avoidance of ponytailed dads: Skipper's is a premier concert venue, offering the biggest variety of musical styles. It's where you can catch headliners as diverse as the Avett Brothers, Black Keys, Jonathan Richman, Antibalas Afrobeat Orchestra, Duane Eddy, Dickey Betts and Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings, along with a wide variety of premier local bands such as Nervous Turkey and Rebekah Pulley and the Reluctant Prophets.

Jay Cridlin of tbt* did this wonderful piece on the 30th anniversary of Skippers. It's filled with lore and loving tributes.

Events at Skipper's Smokehouse

Applebutter Express
Friday, February 19, 2016 8:00pm

Dave and Phil Alvin with The Guilty Ones
Wednesday, February 24, 2016 8:00pm

Denny Laine
Tuesday, March 8, 2016 7:00pm

Dropin Pickup
Saturday, February 6, 2016 8:00pm
Paul Thorn Band
Saturday, February 13, 2016 8:00pm
Sunday, February 14, 2016 5:00pm

Rockabilly Ruckus
Saturday, February 27, 2016 6:00pm

Runaway Gin
Saturday, February 20, 2016 8:00pm

Samantha Fish
Friday, April 1, 2016 8:00pm
Satisfaction
Tuesday, February 16, 2016 7:00pm

Shoeless Soul
Sunday, February 28, 2016 5:00pm

Ska Spring Fling
Saturday, March 19, 2016 7:00pm
Southern Culture on the Skids
Saturday, March 5, 2016 8:00pm

Steep Canyon Rangers
Sunday, February 21, 2016 5:00pm

Tim Reynolds and TR3
Friday, February 26, 2016 8:00pm

Under the Willow
Tuesday, February 9, 2016 7:00pm

Underground Digital Railroad Project
Tuesday, February 23, 2016 6:00pm

Reader reviews


  • skipper's smokehouse 2
  • skipper's smokehouse 3
  • skipper's smokehouse

  • Restaurants

  • Bars

Skipper's Smokehouse - null