Overcast65° FULL FORECASTOvercast65° FULL FORECAST
Make us your home page
Instagram

Skipper's Smokehouse

Editor's pick

http://skipperssmokehouse.com/

Categories: Bar, Music venue, Restaurant

Features: Beloved dive, Icon, Live music, Outdoor seating

Payment options: Credit cards accepted

Alcohol: Full bar

Skipper's is an institution. Generations of music lovers have called themselves regulars at this classic, Old Florida-themed establishment. Not only does it provide a spacious outdoor concert area, communal benches and beachy sand add even more charm, and its restaurant serves some of the best Floridian fare in the bay area – one of the few places that serve gator tail!

It gets a bad rap for being overloaded with aging hippies, but some of the best times can be had with jolly tie-dyed boomers, shaking it to a Grateful Dead tribute band. What gets overlooked in the frantic avoidance of ponytailed dads: Skipper's is a premier concert venue, offering the biggest variety of musical styles. It's where you can catch headliners as diverse as the Avett Brothers, Black Keys, Jonathan Richman, Antibalas Afrobeat Orchestra, Duane Eddy, Dickey Betts and Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings, along with a wide variety of premier local bands such as Nervous Turkey and Rebekah Pulley and the Reluctant Prophets.

Jay Cridlin of tbt* did this wonderful piece on the 30th anniversary of Skippers. It's filled with lore and loving tributes.

Events at Skipper's Smokehouse

Ari and the Alibis
Friday, December 26, 2014 8:00pm

Coo Coo Ca Choo
Saturday, January 10, 2015 8:00pm

Damon Fowler Group
Friday, January 2, 2015 8:00pm

Donna the Buffalo
Tuesday, December 30, 2014 8:00pm
Wednesday, December 31, 2014 8:00pm
Thursday, January 1, 2015 8:00pm
Cajun Dance Party

Eric Lindell
Friday, February 6, 2015 8:00pm

Hymn for Her
Sunday, December 28, 2014 5:00pm

Johnny Rawls
Tuesday, February 3, 2015 7:00pm

Marcia Ball
Friday, January 9, 2015 8:00pm

TC Carr & Bolts of Blue
Tuesday, January 13, 2015 7:00pm

The Spinney Brothers CD Release Party
Tuesday, January 6, 2015 7:00pm

Thomas Wynn and the Believers
Saturday, December 27, 2014 8:00pm

Uncle John's Band
Saturday, January 3, 2015 8:00pm

Voices of the Wetlands All-Stars
Friday, January 16, 2015 8:00pm

Reader reviews


  • skipper's smokehouse
  • skipper's smokehouse 2
  • skipper's smokehouse 3

  • Restaurants

  • Bars

Skipper's Smokehouse - Tampa