Mostly Cloudy72° WeatherMostly Cloudy72° Weather

Tampa Theatre

Editor's pick

Categories: Movie theater, Tourist attraction

Features: Date night, Icon, Indoor play zone

Parking: Street, Garage

More in this neighborhood: Downtown Tampa

The landmark Tampa Theatre is a restored vintage movie palace known for its classic architecture and independent film showings. The venue, opened in 1926, seats 1,446 and hosts various film festivals.

The dazzling night-sky ceiling, plush red velvet draperies, gold inlaid facades, Renaissance statues - it's all breathtaking, distracting audiences from the show they paid to see. The theater is one of a handful of restored cinema palaces, built in a Florida-Mediterranean style, which includes touches of Italian Renaissance, Byzantine, Spanish, Mediterranean, Greek Revival, Baroque and English Tudor.

The above-average concession stand sells popcorn, soda, beer, gourmet coffee, nachos, pastries, candy and other snacks at reasonable prices. Smoking is permitted outside by the front entrance.

Events at Tampa Theatre

A Legacy of Smoke
Sunday, November 23, 2014 4:00pm

Balcony-to-Backstage Tours
Tuesday, November 25, 2014 11:30am

Holiday Classic Movie Series
Sunday, November 30, 2014 3:00pm
Miracle on 34th Street
Sunday, December 7, 2014 3:00pm
Holiday Inn
Sunday, December 14, 2014 3:00pm
White Christmas
Friday, December 19, 2014 7:30pm
It's A Wonderful Life
Saturday, December 20, 2014 3:00pm
It's A Wonderful Life
Saturday, December 20, 2014 7:30pm
It's A Wonderful Life
Sunday, December 21, 2014 3:00pm
It's A Wonderful Life
Sunday, December 21, 2014 7:30pm
It's A Wonderful Life
Sunday, December 28, 2014 3:00pm

Miranda Sings
Saturday, February 28, 2015 7:00pm

Reader reviews


  • tampa theatre
  • tampa theatre2
  • tampa theatre3
  • tampa theatre4

  • Restaurants

  • Bars

Tampa Theatre - Downtown Tampa