Clear82° FULL FORECASTClear82° FULL FORECAST
Make us your home page
Instagram

Tampa Theatre

Editor's pick

Categories: Movie theater, Tourist attraction

Features: Date night, Icon, Indoor play zone

Parking: Street, Garage

More in this neighborhood: Downtown Tampa

The landmark Tampa Theatre is a restored vintage movie palace known for its classic architecture and independent film showings. The venue, opened in 1926, seats 1,446 and hosts various film festivals.

The dazzling night-sky ceiling, plush red velvet draperies, gold inlaid facades, Renaissance statues - it's all breathtaking, distracting audiences from the show they paid to see. The theater is one of a handful of restored cinema palaces, built in a Florida-Mediterranean style, which includes touches of Italian Renaissance, Byzantine, Spanish, Mediterranean, Greek Revival, Baroque and English Tudor.

The above-average concession stand sells popcorn, soda, beer, gourmet coffee, nachos, pastries, candy and other snacks at reasonable prices. Smoking is permitted outside by the front entrance.

Events at Tampa Theatre

America Under Attack
Wednesday, May 13, 2015 8:30am

Balcony-to-Backstage Tours
Tuesday, May 19, 2015 11:30am
Saturday, May 23, 2015 11:30am

Beerfest
Saturday, June 20, 2015 8:00pm

David Mann
Friday, June 19, 2015 8:00pm

I'm Still Here
Tuesday, May 12, 2015 7:00pm

Summer Classic Movie Series
Sunday, June 7, 2015 3:00pm
Wizard of Oz
Sunday, June 14, 2015 3:00pm
Key Largo
Sunday, June 21, 2015 3:00pm
Caddyshack
Sunday, June 28, 2015 3:00pm
Vertigo
Sunday, July 5, 2015 3:00pm
Back to the Future
Sunday, July 12, 2015 3:00pm
Top Hat
Sunday, July 19, 2015 3:00pm
Breakfast at Tiffany's
Sunday, July 26, 2015 3:00pm
Sound of Music
Sunday, August 2, 2015 3:00pm
Gone with the Wind
Sunday, August 9, 2015 3:00pm
West Side Story
Sunday, August 16, 2015 3:00pm
Goodfellas
Saturday, August 22, 2015 7:30pm
Casablanca
Sunday, August 23, 2015 3:00pm
Casablanca
Sunday, August 30, 2015 3:00pm
Phantom of the Opera

Tampa Bay Bachelor Auction
Wednesday, June 10, 2015 7:00pm

Reader reviews


  • tampa theatre
  • tampa theatre2
  • tampa theatre3
  • tampa theatre4

  • Restaurants

  • Bars

Tampa Theatre - Downtown Tampa