Clear46° FULL FORECASTClear46° FULL FORECAST
Make us your home page
Instagram

Tampa Theatre

Editor's pick

Categories: Movie theater, Tourist attraction

Features: Date night, Icon, Indoor play zone

Parking: Street, Garage

More in this neighborhood: Downtown Tampa

The landmark Tampa Theatre is a restored vintage movie palace known for its classic architecture and independent film showings. The venue, opened in 1926, seats 1,446 and hosts various film festivals.

The dazzling night-sky ceiling, plush red velvet draperies, gold inlaid facades, Renaissance statues - it's all breathtaking, distracting audiences from the show they paid to see. The theater is one of a handful of restored cinema palaces, built in a Florida-Mediterranean style, which includes touches of Italian Renaissance, Byzantine, Spanish, Mediterranean, Greek Revival, Baroque and English Tudor.

The above-average concession stand sells popcorn, soda, beer, gourmet coffee, nachos, pastries, candy and other snacks at reasonable prices. Smoking is permitted outside by the front entrance.

Events at Tampa Theatre

Balcony-to-Backstage Tours
Tuesday, February 3, 2015 11:30am
Saturday, February 21, 2015 10:00am
Tuesday, March 10, 2015 11:30am
Saturday, March 21, 2015 11:30am

Brass in Blue
Tuesday, January 27, 2015 7:30pm

Dave Wickerham
Saturday, February 7, 2015 2:00pm

Get the Led Out
Thursday, April 2, 2015 7:30pm

Hollywood Awards Night
Sunday, February 22, 2015 6:30pm

Miranda Sings
Saturday, February 28, 2015 7:00pm

Neil Gaiman and Amanda Palmer
Saturday, February 14, 2015 7:00pm

School of Rock
Thursday, January 29, 2015 8:00pm

The Tenderloins
Friday, January 30, 2015 7:30pm
Friday, January 30, 2015 10:00pm

Totally Classic Movie Series
Sunday, January 25, 2015 3:00pm
Sunday, February 1, 2015 3:00pm
Sunday, February 8, 2015 3:00pm
Sunday, February 15, 2015 3:00pm
Sunday, February 22, 2015 3:00pm

Tough Love
Wednesday, January 28, 2015 7:00pm

Reader reviews


  • tampa theatre
  • tampa theatre2
  • tampa theatre3
  • tampa theatre4

  • Restaurants

  • Bars

Tampa Theatre - Downtown Tampa