Tampa Theatre

Editor's pick

Categories: Movie theater, Tourist attraction

Features: Date night, Icon, Indoor play zone

More in this neighborhood: Downtown Tampa

The landmark Tampa Theatre is a restored vintage movie palace known for its classic architecture and independent film showings. The venue, opened in 1926, seats 1,446 and hosts various film festivals.

The dazzling night-sky ceiling, plush red velvet draperies, gold inlaid facades, Renaissance statues - it's all breathtaking, distracting audiences from the show they paid to see. The theater is one of a handful of restored cinema palaces, built in a Florida-Mediterranean style, which includes touches of Italian Renaissance, Byzantine, Spanish, Mediterranean, Greek Revival, Baroque and English Tudor.

The above-average concession stand sells popcorn, soda, beer, gourmet coffee, nachos, pastries, candy and other snacks at reasonable prices. Smoking is permitted outside by the front entrance.

Events at Tampa Theatre

A Hot and Saxxy Night
Saturday, August 23, 2014 7:00pm

Archives Awareness Week
Friday, July 18, 2014 9:00am

Balcony-to-Backstage Tours
Saturday, August 23, 2014 11:30am
Tuesday, August 5, 2014 11:30am
Saturday, July 26, 2014 11:30am

Beer and Loathing in Las Vegas
Saturday, July 12, 2014 8:00pm

Live Action Filmmaking Camp
Monday, July 14, 2014 9:00am
Monday, July 21, 2014 9:00am

Summer Classic Movie Series
Sunday, August 24, 2014 3:00pm The Black Pirate
Sunday, August 17, 2014 3:00pm Casablanca
Saturday, August 16, 2014 3:00pm Casablanca
Sunday, August 10, 2014 3:00pm Citizen Kane
Sunday, August 3, 2014 3:00pm Dirty Dancing
Sunday, July 27, 2014 3:00pm Blazing Saddles
Sunday, July 20, 2014 3:00pm Lawrence of Arabia
Sunday, July 13, 2014 3:00pm The Gay Divorcee

Tampa Theatre Winefest
Sunday, September 14, 2014 11:30am Wine Brunch
Saturday, September 13, 2014 6:30pm Wine Pairing
Friday, September 12, 2014 7:00pm Wine Tasting

Young Movie Makers Camp
Saturday, July 12, 2014 9:00am Screenwriting 101
Saturday, October 18, 2014 9:00am Special FX Makeup

Reader reviews


Showtimes

  • tampa theatre
  • tampa theatre2
  • tampa theatre3
  • tampa theatre4

  • Restaurants

  • Bars

Tampa Theatre - Downtown Tampa