Make us your home page
Instagram

Contact us

Do you have updated information for this page? Please send it to Calendar@TampaBay.com

Tampa Theatre

Editor's pick

Categories: Attraction, Tourist attraction, Movie theater

Features: Date night, Icon, Indoor play zone

Parking: Garage, Street

Admission: Adults: $9, Seniors: $7, Children: $7

More in this neighborhood: Downtown Tampa

The landmark Tampa Theatre is a restored vintage movie palace known for its classic architecture and independent film showings. The venue, opened in 1926, seats 1,446 and hosts various film festivals.

The dazzling night-sky ceiling, plush red velvet draperies, gold inlaid facades, Renaissance statues - it's all breathtaking, distracting audiences from the show they paid to see. The theater is one of a handful of restored cinema palaces, built in a Florida-Mediterranean style, which includes touches of Italian Renaissance, Byzantine, Spanish, Mediterranean, Greek Revival, Baroque and English Tudor.

The above-average concession stand sells popcorn, soda, beer, coffee, pastries, fresh-baked cookies, candy and other snacks at reasonable prices. Smoking is permitted outside by the front entrance.

Events at Tampa Theatre

An Evening with Becca Stevens
Tuesday, April 25, 2017 7:30pm

Author Talk with Paula Hawkins
Tuesday, May 16, 2017 7:30pm

Beerfest: Barley's Angels
Saturday, June 24, 2017 8:00pm
Colossal
Wednesday, April 26, 2017 7:30pm
Wednesday, April 26, 2017 10:15pm
Thursday, April 27, 2017 7:30pm

Family Favorites Film Series
Sunday, April 30, 2017 3:00pm
The Princess Bride

Fourth Friday
Friday, April 28, 2017 6:00pm

How to Build a Time Machine
Sunday, May 7, 2017 3:00pm

Oxford Exchange Spotlight: Paula Hawkins
Tuesday, May 16, 2017 7:30pm

Oxford Exchange Spotlight: Siddhartha Mukherjee
Wednesday, May 10, 2017 7:00pm
Science and Storytelling

Rewind: A Different Kind of Movie Series
Tuesday, May 2, 2017 8:30pm
Heat
Friday, May 5, 2017 10:30pm
Westworld
Friday, May 19, 2017 10:30pm
Hackers

Siddhartha Murkherjee: Science and Storytelling
Wednesday, May 10, 2017 7:00pm

Stop the Presses
Wednesday, May 3, 2017 7:30pm

Showtimes

Reader reviews


  • tampa theatre2
  • tampa theatre3
  • tampa theatre4
  • tampa theatre

  • Restaurants

  • Bars

Tampa Theatre - Downtown Tampa