Make us your home page
Instagram

Is your craft beer vegetarian-friendly? Not always

beer overflow

beer overflow

It often surprises people when I tell them that I don't drink a particular beer because it's not vegetarian.

"How could beer not be vegetarian?" is the invariably bemused reply.

As a vegan, I avoid beers that contain animal products, including honey and lactose (milk/sweet stouts, for example). But even fellow vegetarians are often baffled by the concept that many beers —and wines — are produced with ingredients that come from cows, pigs, and fish.

You see, the clarity of beer and wine has always been a big focus of producers. While a little haze in a finished beer has no effect on its flavor, a clear beer is often considered more attractive than a cloudy or opaque one. To that end, breweries have long used fining (or clarifying) agents to refine the appearance of their product.

The most common animal-derived fining agent is isinglass, a collagen derived from the swim bladder of various species of fish, especially sturgeon and cod. This is a traditional ingredient used primarily in British beers, especially cask ales. Isinglass works by binding to floating yeast and protein particles and precipitating to the bottom of the vessel in a jellylike mass, separating them from the now-clear beer.

Gelatin is a similar product, used more commonly in domestic craft beers. I specify craft beers because none of the big-name domestic brewers use animal-based fining agents. Like isinglass, gelatin is used after fermentation is complete to precipitate haze-forming particles from suspension. Gelatin is a collagen product derived from the skin, bones, and connective tissue of various animals, mostly pigs and cows, and is the same as the stuff you'll find on the grocery store shelf.

While isinglass and gelatin are traditional and widely-used fining agents, many beers are produced without any fining agents at all, most notably all German beers that adhere to the traditional brewing regulations known as the Reinhotsgebot and nearly all Belgian beers.

Perhaps the most common fining agent of all is completely vegetarian-friendly: Irish moss. Also known as carrageenan, Irish moss is used during the actual brewing process — typically a few minutes before the cold break, when the beer is quickly cooled to encourage the precipitation of proteins from the unfermented wort. Irish moss binds to these proteins and encourages a strong cold break, which means clearer wort going into the fermenter.

While Irish moss is effective at precipitating proteins from cooling wort, it does nothing to clean up the mess left by the fermentation process. Gravity, temperature and time can also be used to remedy this. Have you ever seen a fermenter in a brewery? Its conical shape is designed to allow yeast and proteins to settle out at the bottom, where it can then be removed from the rest of the beer.

This process is usually facilitated by a process called cold conditioning, where the temperature of the beer is dropped to near-freezing for a few days, which causes large particles to drop out of suspension. Other breweries go an extra step, running the finished beer through a large centrifuge, which effectively separates larger particles from the clear liquid.

While fining agents — animal-based ones included — are in no way harmful to drinkers, vegetarians and vegans will likely want to know if their favorite beers are vegetarian-friendly. Barnivore.com is the most well-known and comprehensive database of such information currently available.

Even if you're not a vegetarian or vegan, I hope you'll find this information useful. I know that I like to learn about all aspects of the brewing process, no matter how technical. If anything, this might "clear" some of the confusion that I frequently encounter when this subject comes up, and that's always a good thing.

— jg@saintbeat.com

Is your craft beer vegetarian-friendly? Not always 06/04/14 [Last modified: Wednesday, June 4, 2014 4:42pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times

    

Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

Loading...
  1. From the food editor: Almond-Crusted Chicken Tenders

    Cooking

    I decided my almond chicken obsession was becoming a bit much.

    Almond Crusted Chicken Tenders. Photo by Michelle Stark, Times food editor.
  2. Taste test: Unsalted butters

    Taste Test

    Even good things should be tasted in moderation. That's why we divided the columns for our tasting of salted butters. Last week, our judges shared their favorites from the first eight of 16 varieties found at local grocery stores. Here, they review the other eight. We spread the butters on unsalted saltine crackers in …

  3. For Fourth of July, an American feast inspired by founding father Alexander Hamilton

    Cooking

    Are there a million things you haven't done? Is one of them throwing a patriotic party inspired by one of the founding fathers?

    Caribbean Pork With Potato Salad makes for the perfect Fourth of July meal.
  4. 'Baby Driver' literally turns heist movie genre on its ear, set to slick soundtrack

    Movies

    Buckle up for Baby Driver, a movie so full throttle cool that you want to fist bump the screen. Style is the substance of Edgar Wright's inventive heist flick, a fresh, masterful synching of music and getaway mayhem, as if La La Land's traffic jam was moving, armed and dangerous.

    Baby (Ansel Elgort) is a getaway driver for heist arranger Doc (Kevin Spacey). Plagued by tinnitus, Baby tunes out his distracting “hum in the drum” by listening to music while he drives.
Sony Pictures
  5. Canada Day is coming to Tampa's Latin District

    Events

    TAMPA -- Ybor City is Tampa's Latin District, known for showcasing Cuban, Spanish and Italian cultures.

    Toronto native Bryan Grimsdale at the Seminole Heights Grocery Store. He is hosting a Canada Day celebration in Ybor City to celebrate Canada's 150th birthday. The event held at The Dirty Shame will feature games, Canadian treats and Canadian music. MONICA HERNDON   |   Times