Make us your home page

Artists split $74,500 in prize money at Gasparilla art fest

TAMPA — The 44th annual Raymond James Gasparilla Festival of the Arts announced the winners of its competition Saturday involving $74,500 in prize money.

Laura Nugent of Merriam, Kan., was awarded Best of Show and $15,000 for her painting Prevailing Chartreuse Pattern."

Christiane Hampel of Naples won the Board of Directors' award and $ 7,500 for a piece of jewelry, "Vulcano Pendant."

The Roddy Brownlee Reed Award of Artistic Excellence and $4,000 went to Randall Smith of Winter Park for an untitled painting.

The prize money attracted 1,000 artists who vied for 300 spaces at the festival. Featured art includes ceramic, digital, drawing, fiber, glass, jewelry, mixed media, painting, photography, print making, sculpture, watercolor and wood.

Among other recipients:

Mayor's Award: Richard Auger of Orlando, $3,500.

President's Award: Robert Kastrinos of Orlando, $2,500.

Friends of the Museum Award: Clifton Henri of Chicago, $2,000.

Emerging Artist Award: Valerie Miller, $1,500.

Ruth Ann Pollock Memorial Award of Merit: Martha Serez­li Vargas and Haydar Serezli of Atlanta, $1,300.

Bank of Tampa Award of Merit: Aaron Sault, Marquette, Mich., $1,300.

Brink Foundation Award of Merit: Viki Ryer and James Bird of Salem, Mass., $1,300.

Gensler Award of Merit: Jean Yao, Fort Lauderdale, $1,300.

Hill Ward Henderson Award of Merit: Tavia Brown, Char­lottesville, Va., $1,300.

Waller & Wax Award of Merit: Barbara Foley, Palm Harbor, $1,300.

Wells Fargo Award of Merit: Dylan Strzynski, Ann Arbor, Mich., $1,300.

Artists split $74,500 in prize money at Gasparilla art fest 03/02/14 [Last modified: Sunday, March 2, 2014 7:32pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. A forgotten ballad from The Princess Bride? Inconceivable!


    As we wrap up May Movie Month on Lost and Found, we seek the perfect ride-off-in-the-sunset movie song.  For those who love storybook endings, perhaps your favorite '80s movie is The Princess Bride. Would you like to see the video for that perfect ending of a Storybook Love? As you wish. 

  2. After last year's drug-related deaths, Tampa's Sunset Music Festival says it's stepping up safety, security

    Public Safety

    TAMPA — Alex Haynes worked three jobs. He had a fiance and an infant son. He owned his own home in Melbourne. Last summer, the 22-year-old attended the Sunset Musical Festival at Raymond James Stadium.

    He left in an ambulance.

    Last year’s Sunset Music Festival was marked by dozens of medical emergencies.
  3. The last farmer of Florida's prized Zellwood corn is thinking of packing it in


    MOUNT DORA — Hank Scott steps out of his pickup between the long rows and snaps off an ear that grows about bellybutton-high on the forehead-high stalks.

    Hank Scott, co-owner of Long and Scott Farms, shucks an ear of corn on the farm in Mount Dora, Fla., on Wednesday, May 10, 2017. The farm specializes in Scott's Zellwood Triple-Sweet Gourmet Corn. LOREN ELLIOTT   |   Times
  4. Pain does not exist in the Karate 3 soundtrack ... does it?!?


    Should the Karate Kid series have stopped at the original? Probably, but if we didn't have Karate Kid 3 would will still have the lost song Listen To Her Heart by the Little River Band?

  5. Bar review: The Landing at Jannus in St. Petersburg

    Bars & Spirits

    I've spent many evenings in St. Pete's Jannus Live courtyard, enjoying one of the best open-air venues in the Tampa Bay area. It's where I saw my first concert in Florida: Toadies, on the Rubberneck tour sometime in the mid '90s.

    The drinks at the Landing at Jannus in St. Petersburg are about as cheap as you’ll find at any other regular downtown bar, a nice surprise.