Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive

CARES volunteers are recognized

Volunteers of CARES were honored at the seventh annual recognitionluncheon recently at Elks Lodge 2284 of New Port Richey.

More than 350 attended to honor the many volunteers who give their time, skills and experience to help others.

Among those recognized from the Adult Day Center-East were Jan Davis, Yvonne La Tulippe and Louise Marcum for the Presbyterian Women.

Christina Sieracki, Josephine Wrzesinski and Ruth Hansen were recognized from the Adult Day Care Center-West.

From the Senior Centers, Marie Shadis, Marion O'Maley and Harold Pridemore were honored from Elfers Senior Center; Martha Cofer, Margaret Good and Lloyd Nacion from Hudson Senior Center; Hazel Clary, Gertrude Stute and Mary Blankenbacker from Zephyrhills; and, from the Land O'Lakes office, the Lutz-Land O'Lakes Women's Club and Mary Woodwell were honored.

Eilleen Smith was recognized by the administrative office and Betty Mae Forster as representative payee.

Honorees from the Community Care for the Elderly Program, West Pasco, were Katherine Patrick, Pasquale Piedimonte and Dorothy and Les Talbot. From East Pasco, Thomas "Otis" Harrell and Ida Harrell were honored.

New Port Richey Mayor Bob Prior acted as master of ceremonies. He was given special recognition for his past two years of service as president of the board of directors. Dorothy Mitchell is the new president of the board.

Evie Wichmanowski, manager of the Hudson Senior Center, and Charles Sobel, finance director of CARES, were named Employees of the Year.

Riverside Hospital names employee of year

NEW PORT RICHEY - Shirley Doerr, a licensed practical nurse at Riverside Hospital, has been named employee of the year.

She works in the obstetrical department and provides direct care to newborns and new mothers.

She has been a full-time employee of the hospital since 1983.

Mrs. Doerr and her husband David live in New Port Richey.

As employee of the year, she was given a cruise for two to the Bahamas. The prize also includes paid time off to take the trip.

Phi Delta Kappas get certificates of merit

SAINT LEO - Members of the Saint Leo Chapter of Phi Delta Kappa, a

professional educator's fraternity with membership from both Pasco and

Hernando counties, received certificates of merit for consecutive years of membership.

Cynthia Harper, Henry Walls, Kit Broadbelt, Patrick Reedy, Charles Rine, Elaine Sullivan, Dottie Tauber, Richard Tauber, Katherine Wieghtman, John Geiger and John Mann received certificates as five-year members.

Susan Cooper and Karen Hosack-Curlin were honored as 10-year members.

Outstanding history teacher named by DAR

NEW PORT RICHEY - Marilyn Carey, a sixth-grade teacher at Mittye P. Locke Elementary School, was named outstanding history teacher by the

Pithlochaskotee Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution.

She was selected because of her classroom dedication and devotion to history as a vital part of the school curriculum.

Mrs. Carey is now eligible for consideration in the competition on the state level.

Hunter Blood Center recognizes top donor

HOLIDAY - Robert Little of Holiday became Pasco County's first blood donor with the Hunter Blood Center to reach 20 gallons.

This means that Little has donated 160 pints of blood during his lifetime.

Voice of Democracy contest winner named

NEW PORT RICHEY - John Kane, a sophomore at Ridgewood High School, is winner of the Veterans of Foreign Wars' Voice of Democracy contest sponsored by VFW posts 6180 and 7845.

Kane recently won the District 21 contest. His teacher, Jeannie Deroy, his parents and a grandparent were among those attending the contest. Judges were from Pasco-Hernando Community College. He is eligible to enter the contest again next year.