Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive

Plant High names Teacher of the Year

Barbara Shirk, the media specialist at H.B. Plant High School, has been selected the 1989-90 Teacher of the Year by members of the faculty.Ms. Shirk joined the faculty on Feb. 1, 1988, after holding the same position at Dowdell and Coleman junior high schools. Previously she had worked in the Department of Defense schools in Japan.

She now will be eligible to compete on a district level.

Temple Heights School

Students in the seventh and eighth grades at Temple Heights recently took first, second and third place in an essay contest sponsored by the Mocosco River Chapter of the Daughters of American Revolution, in Temple Terrace.

First place was awarded to Timothy Newell for his essay on Benjamin Franklin; second place to Deborah Keller for her essay on Thomas Edison and third place to Clemente Toro for his essay on Benjamin Franklin.

The topic was American inventors from 1775 to 1850.

B.T. Washington

In celebration of Black History Month, students at B.T. Washington are writing essays on "Why We Celebrate Black History Month." Films, music, poetry and pantomimes are among the monthlong activities. There also will be a special guest visitor from Africa.

Seminole Elementary

Betty Castor, commissioner of education, and Tom Freeman, an environmental artist with Southern Association of Habitat Artists, will teach today at Seminole Elementary School.

The program "Environment Education through Art" is an ongoing

public/private partnership between the Southwest Florida Water Management District and First Florida Bank.

McLane Junior High

The McLane Peer Club has been awarded a $1,775 grant from the national "Say No To Drugs" project. The money will be used to purchase a multimedium curriculum for presentation by the Teacher-Adviser Program. The program will sponsor two other projects that will be financed by the grant.

Lewis Elementary

The school's PTA is sponsoring the third annual pancake breakfast from 8-10 a.m. Saturday. Cost is $2.50 for adults and $1.50 for children.

Tampa Baptist Academy

Tampa Baptist Academy has been recognized as a finalist for the International Reading Association's 1989-90 Exempletory Reading Program Award. The award is designed to recognize schools that carry out a reading program to motivate readers.

Holy Names Academy

The speech team of the academy attended the District IV Tournament, sponsored by the Florida Forensics Program and Jesuit High School recently. The following students qualified as finalists for the state competition: Beth Conter, Melanie Laflin, Jennifer Liston, Jennifer Grant, Lisa Griffin, Meeghan O'Connor, Kathleen Mikell, Stacie Depew, Erin Baker, Nicole Matassini, Sunny Cochran, Lisa Barry, Binky Mendoza, Lura Wallauer, Joanna MacLean and Annette Boggs.

Also honored with awards: Marie Koval, Grace Varas, Beverly Daly, Susan Jacobs, Alana Taylor, Amy Marcsisak, Monica Nelson, Bonnie Miller, Teresa Kristensen and Jennifer Orbegoso.

Tampa Preparatory

More than 500 students from 23 schools will compete in the District VI-A Latin Forum on the Tampa Prep campus from 9 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Saturday. Plant and Hillsborough high schools will be host to the forum along with Tampa Prep.

Students will be competing in a variety of activities including academic tests of grammar, vocabulary, derivations, Greek derivations, mythology, customs and abbreviations and the history of the Roman Republic, the Roman Empire and Greece.

Carl Wiersema, a coach and physical education instructor at Tampa

Preparatory School, has been named Florida Athletic Coaches Association District Coach of the Year for Girls' Soccer, for the second year in a row.

The soccer team, in its third season of play, had a 13-6-2 record and wasrunner-up in the district.

Nathaniel Yangco, a sophomore, has been selected to represent the

University of Tampa Pre-College Music Program at the annual University Talent Showcase at 3 p.m. Feb. 24. He is the son of Dr. and Mrs. Bienvenido G. Yangco.

Admission is $4.

Students at the school won 26 superior ratings at the District Thespian Competition recently. The freshman team of Robert Valdez and Jessie Norton won a superior in play writing for Rip Van Winkle.