Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive

Coaches name best in West

With five first-team selections, Bloomingdale dominates the NationalDivision half of the All-Western Conference boys high school soccer team announced Friday.

Selections on the American Division's first team are more evenly


Following Bloomingdale on the National Division's first team is

Hillsborough, with three players. Plant and East Bay also has players


In the American Division, Gaither and Brandon tie for top honors with three players apiece on the first team. Leto (two picks), Armwood, King and Chamberlain also are represented.

The teams were selected Thursday night in a vote of Western Conference coaches.

American Division First team

Marcus Asgedom, Leto, senior; Danny Bulso, Armwood, senior; Henry Diaz, Gaither, senior; Scott Gifford, Brandon, senior; Brian Hulett, Brandon, senior; Jerry Lucas, King, senior; Sam Macko, Brandon, senior; Mark Pearson, Chamberlain, senior, Edgar Rodriguez, Leto, senior; Kurry Yacinich, Gaither, junior, Jeremy Graeber, Gaither, senior.

Second team

Chris Bay, Armwood, senior; Shane Benton, King, junior; Chad Day, Gaither, senior; Corey Lieber, Chamberlain, sophomore; Chuck Murry, King, junior; Dusty Nieves, Leto, senior; Curt Peyer, Gaither, senior;

Ryan Robinson, Leto, senior; Shane Sullivan, Brandon, senior, Matt Swanson, Chamberlain, senior; Mark Macy, Brandon, junior.

Honorable mention

Carl Boman (Plant City, senior), Chris Franceschi (Armwood, junior), Michael Hernandez (Gaither, junior), Jonas Heydl (Armwood, junior), Kevin Howe (Brandon, junior), Rupert HcLendon (King, senior), Eric Minetti (Leto, sophomore), Lawrence Newberg (Chamberlain, senior), Ross Oaks (Leto, senior), Craig Pearson (Chamberlain, sophomore), Jason Powers (Leto, senior), Randy Roys (Plant City, senior), Jevin Scrivens (King, senior), Derek Thompson (Brandon, senior), Scott Ware (Armwood, junior), Andy Alfonso (Leto, senior) and Daniel Lancz (Chamberlain, sophomore).

National Division First team

David Allen, Bloomingdale, senior; Lin Baugher, East Bay, senior;

Steve Brady, Bloomingdale, senior, Adrian Bush, Hillsborough, senior;

Shawn Haines, Hillsborough, senior; Mike Heald, Bloomingdale, senior;

Chris Martinez, Plant, senior; John McCrae, Bloomingdale, senior; Ted Pamplona, Hillsborough, senior; Bruce To, Plant, senior; Chad Bridges, Bloomingdale, senior.

Second team

Mark Clark, East Bay, senior; Jeff Hacker, Plant, senior; Kevin Hormaechea, Plant, senior; Sergio Jaramillo, Hillsborough, sophomore;

Dickey Larosa, Robinson, junior; Carlos Sanchez, Plant, senior; Justin Scott, East Bay, sophomore; Derek Sopko, Bloomingdale, senior; Tony Terrell, Hillsborough, senior; Jason Winner, Jefferson, senior; Cory Howell, Hillsborough, senior.

Honorable mention

Hugo Arce (Hillsborough, senior), Hahns Bodenbender (Plant, senior), Jeremy Bullian (Jefferson, junior), Chad Hooper (Bloomingdale, senior), Chuck Ivey (Robinson, senior), Jesse Marshall (Robinson, junior), Jack Myers (Jefferson, senior), Jeremy Pierce (East Bay, junior), Jose Rodriguez (East Bay, junior), Mike Sherman (Bloomingdale, sophomore), Rick Torrens (Jefferson, senior) and Jon Vissering (Jefferson, senior).