Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive

DAR chapter presents awards to pupils

NEW PORT RICHEY Scott Myers, Rene Sessa and Richard Scepkowski, all pupils at Mittye P. Locke Elementary School, won first-place awards in the Daughters of the American Revolution, Pithlochaskotee Chapter's Junior Citizenship Contests. The theme for the contest was "American Historical Landmarks Existing Prior to 1790."

St. Augustine was the subject of Scott Meyers' essay; Fort James was featured in a poster by Rene Sessa; and Independence Hall was the stamp design by Richard Scepkowski.

Other contest winners include Jennifer Mathews, second-place essay on Pike's Peak; Adam Johnson, third place, Boston Tea Party; Brandy Karn, second-place stamp design, St. Augustine; Nathan Golub, third place, Plymouth Rock; Bryan Packer, honorable mention, the Alamo; Marcus Goldman, gates of St. Augustine, honorable mention; Derek Faria, second-place poster design; Samantha Brown, third place, St. Augustine at night; Steven Gainey, Old North Church, honorable mention.

Judges for the art work and concepts were Linda King and Sharon McCabe.

Margaret Toscano, regent of the DAR chapter, judged the essays.

Lea Nelson was DAR chairwoman for the Junior Citizenship Contest.

Award winners for the American History Month essay contest with the theme "An American Inventor, 1775-1850" are Allison Mann, Julie Fisher, Erin Lacey Percival, Heidi Danielle Rock, Rebecca Ann Rock, Jeannette Sayer, Karin Ann Kreutzer, Thomas William Kreutzer, Ryan Andrew Jacobs, Rauni Aurel Martin. Honorable mention winners are Trevor Jacobs, Natalie Zinn, Norman Wood, Krupal Shah and Ray Parzik. Geraldine Griffith served as American History Month chairman. DL:

Do you have good news to share? Write to Carolyn Hopkins, Pasco Times, 11321 U.S. 19 N, Port Richey 34668.