Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive

The Automatic Bids

Here are the 30 conferences that get an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament and the teams leading the race at the moment. Of the 30, only the Big Ten and Ivy League do not have a post-season tournament to decide the automatic bid.Conference Leader

Mid-Continent Southwest Missouri St.

Atlantic Coast Duke

Atlantic Ten Temple

Big East Georgetown, Connecticut

Big Eight Missouri

Big Sky Idaho

Big Ten Purdue

Big West UNLV

Colonial James Madison

East Coast Lehigh

Ivy Princeton

Metro Louisville

Metro Atlantic La Salle

Mid American Ball State

Mid-Eastern Coppin State

Midwestern Collegiate Xavier

Missouri Valley Creighton

North Atlantic Boston U

Northeast Monmouth

Ohio Valley Murray State

Pacific-10 Oregon State

Southeastern LSU

Southern East Tennessee State

Southland Northeast Louisiana

Southwest Arkansas

Southwestern Athletic Southern U

Sun Belt Alabama-Birmingham

Trans America Texas-San Antonio

West Coast Loyola-Marymount

Western Athletic Brigham Young