1. Archive

Big three dominate team

Just as thoroughly as they did in the recently completed regular season, the county's big three boys basketball teams _ Chamberlain, Plant City and Bloomingdale _ dominated the 1989-90 All-Western Conference squad that was selected Tuesday night in a poll of conference coaches.

In the American Division, Chamberlain forward Jesse Salters was a repeat winner of the player of the year honor.

Bloomingdale center Brian Lott and Plant forward David May share the co-player of the year designation in the National Division.

Overall, Bloomingdale and Plant City led the way with three selections each. Besides Lott, the Bulls, ranked No. 7 in 4A, had second-team picks in guard Alvin Harris and forward Darrin Richardson.

The Raiders, the state's No. 8-ranked 4A team, put guard Russell Evans and forward Gene Mobley on the American Division's first team. Plant City guard Anthony Lamar was a second-team choice.

Besides Salters, the county's leading scorer with 31.4 points per game, Chamberlain (No. 6 in 4A) was represented by first-team guard Ronnie Mason.

Brandon center Duan Williams was the fifth first-team selection in the American Division.

Other first-teamers on the National side were East Bay guard Warren Hall, Hillsborough forward Lawrence Harrold, and Tampa Bay Vo-Tech guard Johnny Miller.

Lott, a senior who transferred from East Bay to Bloomingdale this season, averaged 18.7 points and 9.8 rebounds per game.

May's totals were 20.8 points and 7.7 rebounds per game.

HD: All-Western Conference team

American Division


Name School Ht. Yr. P

Jesse Salters Chamberlain 6-5 Sr. F

Russell Evans Plant City 6-4 Jr. G

Ronnie Mason Chamberlain 5-11 Sr. G

Gene Mobley Plant City 6-2 Sr. F

Duan Williams Brandon 6-4 Sr. C

Second team: Joe Godbolt, Armwood; Rob Curry, Leto; Sparky Kay, Armwood; Anthony Lamar, Plant City; Kirby Nelson, King.

National Division


Name School Ht. Yr. P

Brian Lott Bloomingdale 6-5 Sr. C

David May Plant 6-2 Sr. F

Warren Hall East Bay 6-1 Jr. G

Lawrence Harrold Hillsborough 6-6 Sr. F

Johnny Miller TBV-T 6-1 Sr. G

Second team: Willie Cunningham, Robinson; Alvin Harris, Bloomingdale; Kenny Lyons, Jefferson; Darrin Richardson, Bloomingdale; Carl Fitts, TBV-T.