Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive

Finalists for teacher of the year announced

The finalists for the Hillsborough County Teacher of Year were announced by Dr. Paul I. Edwards Jr., director of administration for Hillsborough County Public Schools. They are Ann T. Blosfield, head of the science department at Leto; Elizabeth H. Glenn, teacher of math and science for gifted students at McDonald Elementary; Lynn Gray, head of the social sciences department at Middleton Junior High; Norma B. Marsh, teacher in the LIFT program at Alafia Elementary; Laurie E.S. Molina, world history, Florida history and geography teacher at Armwood High; Jerry Murray, head of the science department for gifted students' physical science at Adams Junior High; Linda M. Scholtes media specialist and exceptional education teacher at Dover Elementary and Susan M. Straub, teacher of severly/profoundly mentally handicapped pupils at Lopez Elementary.

The Teacher of the Year program is sponsored by the Department of Education with local corporate sponsors. The 1991 teacher will be named March 8 at a banquet at the Regency Westshore.

Armwood High

A Tony Ippolito Memorial Committee has been formed by the faculty at Armwood High School to establish a Coach Tony Ippolito Memorial Scholarship. Anyone who is interested should contact Vivian Newkirk at the school at 689-1217. Contributions will be accepted and checks should be made payable to Armwood High School.

Leto High

Douglas B. Opfer, a senior at Leto has been named one of 1,500 semifinalists in the 1990 Presidential Scholars program. The White House will announce the 141 winners in May. The scholars will be invited to Washington, D.C., June 16-20 for National Recognition Week and receive the Presidential Scholar medallion.

The semifinalists were selected from about 11,000 students who were identified as potential candidates on the basis of their exceptional scholastic achievement.

Douglas is the son of Vickie and Leroy Opfer.

Buchanan Junior High

Rebecca Higgins placed fourth in public speaking and Heidi Gschwend placed third in business English in the Future Business Leaders of America District XI contest recently. Heidi will be eligible for the state competition in Orlando next month.

St. Mary's Episcopal Day School

An open house for parents interested in grades 1-8 in September is scheduled for 9-11 a.m. today. Tours will be given by members of the student council and will begin in the newly completed school office.

Admissions testing for grades 1-8 will be at 8:30 a.m. Saturday. Sign-up for the tests will be available during the open house. For information call 289-8966.

H.B. Plant High

Lisa B. Goldman, Angela R. Luzier and Stuart M. Smith have been awarded certificates of merit and will advance in the 1990 National Merit Scholarship competition.

Chamberlain High

The social studies pride award winner for Hillsborough County is Steven Birnholz, a student at Chamberlain.

Up next:No Headline