Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive

Club gets message from Spanish king

Club Iberico Espanol recently had its Spanish Gala dinner at the Columbia Restaurant in Ybor City. More than 250 people attended. The king and queen of Spain, Don Juan Carlos I and Dona Sofia, sent greetings to Club Iberico Espanol in honor of its celebration of the 498th anniversary of Spain's encounter with the New World. E.J. Salcines was master of ceremonies. Frank Torano is president of the club.Latin Chamber honors manager

Carmen Bolt was recognized as Professional of the Year by the Tampa Bay Latin Chamber of Commerce. Bolt is district manager for the Tampa Social Security District, which serves Hillsborough, Hernando and East Pasco counties. The district is composed of 191,000 Social Security beneficiaries receiving $98-million monthly and 16,500 Supplemental Security Income recipients receiving $4-million monthly.

Southprint wins poster award

Southprint Corp. received a Pewter Award in the poster category of the 1990 National Gold Ink competition. More than 2,000 entries in 27 categories were received for the competition, which was sponsored by Publishing & Production Executive and Printing Impressions trade journals.

Southprint's self-promotional posters showcase the work of four Florida photographers. The Tampa company specializes in two to six color offset printing and graphic design.

Architects announce winners

The Florida Central Chapter of the American Institute of Architects (FCC/AIA) announced its chapter award-winners for 1990 and its new officers for 1991.

Rick Rowe of Tampa received the Eduardo Garcia Award; Jan Abell of Tampa received the FCC/AIA Medal of Honor; Steve Lafferty of Clearwater received the Tony Pullara Award of the FCC/AIA; and Enrique A. Woodroffe of Tampa received the Levison Award.

Hellmuth Obata Kassabaum of Tampa received the Firm Award for most outstanding service to the chapter. Zelma Loeb of Clearwater received the President's Award.

Certificates of Merit for outstanding support to the architectural profession went to Frank McLane of Tampa, architect for the School Board of Pinellas County; Kathleen Monahan, director of Community and Cultural Affairs in Tarpon Springs; and Jack Meyer, for sponsoring many of the Tampa section's events.

The chapter's new officers are Robert J. Bitterli, St. Petersburg, president; Paul Renker, St. Petersburg, president-elect; Jeff Mendenhall, Tampa, secretary; Dwight G. Smith, Lakeland, treasurer; Ed Bartz, Tampa, director; Silvio Paredes, Tampa, associate director. They will take office Jan. 1.

Hospital director elected to board

Larry E. Hanan has been elected to the board of directors of the Hillsborough County Unit of the American Cancer Society. Hanan is executive director of AMI Town & Country Hospital. As a member of the board, Hanan will serve on the unit's Public Education Committee.

Builders donating gazebo to park

Members of the Builders Association of Greater Tampa are building and donating a $10,000 gazebo at Fred Ball Park on Bayshore Boulevard in Tampa. Efforts to build the 200-foot gazebo were started three years ago by the Rose Garden Circle garden club to improve the city park.

The renovated park will be dedicated Nov. 7 with Mayor Sandy Freedman as guest speaker. The gazebo is scheduled to be completed by early December.

Builders Association members involved and their donations include Great American Corp., general contracting; Hermes Inc., masonry labor; M/I Homes, lumber; and City Ready Mix, concrete. Landscape architect Karla Price of the Tampa Parks Department is the city's liaison for the project.

Hospital official gets fellowship

Lester W. Holcomb recently attained fellowship status in the American College of Healthcare Executives at its 56th convocation ceremony. Holcomb has been chief operating officer at Tampa General Hospital since 1987 and vice president of professional services since 1983. He has a master's degree in public health from Yale University.

The college is a Chicago-based international professional society representing more than 23,000 health-care executives. Fellowship is the highest level of professional achievement.

Connection elects chairwoman

Kim E. Walker recently was elected chairwoman of the board of the Tampa Connection, a service organization for corporate executives. Walker, vice president of clinical and support services of Tampa General Hospital, served as the group's vice chairman the past two years.

Walker also was re-elected to serve a two-year term as chairwoman of the state Health and Rehabilitative Services (HRS) District VI Advisory Council. The council, appointed by Gov. Bob Graham, represents Hillsborough, Hardee, Highlands, Polk and Manatee counties. Walker has a master's degree in hospital and health administration from the University of Alabama. She has been with Tampa General since 1981.

Council chairwoman appointed

Barbara C. Cordell recently was appointed chairwoman of the Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council. Cordell, director of ambulatory/emergency services at Tampa General Hospital, will help determine the direction of the state Health and Rehabilitative Services emergency medical services program.

Cordell has a master's degree in nursing from the University of Missouri.

Up next:Crunch time