1. Archive

Pinellas bus driver is "roadeo' winner

Engines roaring and concentration ruling, 25 bus operators from five west central Florida transit systems tested their skills May 26 as the Pinellas Suncoast Transit Authority (PSTA) sponsored the Fifth Annual West Coast Florida Roadeo at its St. Petersburg headquarters. Bus operators from PSTA, Hillsborough Area Regional Transit (HARTline), Manatee County Transit, Sarasota County Transit (SCAT), and Lee County Transit (LeeTran) maneuvered a 35-foot bus through a number of obstacles, including a serpentine pattern and low clearances. Each operator had seven minutes to complete the course.

PSTA bus operator David M. Billups won first place. Billups won another award for the highest overall score. James Chapman from HARTline and Robert Harrell from LeeTran took second and third places, respectively. Four other PSTA operators competed with Billups _ William Halberstadt, Gregory Leck, Robert Giamportone and Lonnie Sansom, whose combined efforts resulted in PSTA receiving the award for the system with the highest overall team score.

Billups will compete in the Florida State Bus Roadeo at the Jacksonville Transit Authority on Aug. 18. Billups competed in the regional and state Roadeos in both 1988 and 1989 and was touted as the best bus operator in the state of Florida during those years.

Bosses are saluted

The Pinellas Association of Educational Office Personnel (PAEOP), Pinellas County schools, sponsored its "Bosses Night" banquet at the Sheraton Sand Key on May 16. The annual banquet is in conjunction with National Education Bosses Week. The 1990-91 Member of the Year and 1990-91 Boss of the Year were named at the banquet.

Evelyn Keller, who recently became the secretary to Lewis Williams, director of School Operations III and IV, was selected as Member of the Year. She was nominated by her previous boss, Johnnie Singletary, principal of Meadowlawn Middle School. Keller has been employed by the Pinellas County school system for 10 years and was Singletary's secretary for eight years.

Hugh Kriever, Area I Superintendent, was nominated by his secretary, Trellis Poe, and selected as the Pinellas County schools' Boss of the Year. He has been employed by the Pinellas County school system for 31 years and has been an area superintendent for the past six years.

Animal control honored

Pinellas County Animal Control recently received the Outstanding Agency Award from the National Animal Control Agency. County Administrator Fred Marquis congratulated and recognized Dr. Kenny Mitchell for the agency's outstanding work.

Group gets recognition

The Pinellas Braille Group, Inc., a volunteer organization for the visually impaired, has two lifetime members who recently received Merit Award Certificates for distinguished service from the National Braille Association: Edythe Goldin, in recognition for 20 years of continuous service, and Mildred Shavlan, president of Pinellas Braille Group Inc., in recognition for 15 years of continuous service.

The presentation was made by Shirley Paczynski, vice president, who had accepted the awards at the recent conference of the National Braille Association in Allentown, Pa.