Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive

Finalists are named in Take Pride program

More than 280 individuals and groups have been named finalists in the fifth annual Take Pride in America National Awards Program. Take Pride in America is a public resource stewardship campaign supported by 13 federal agencies, 50 states and two U.S. territories, as well as numerous private groups and organizations. The awards program recognizes individuals and groups that conduct outstanding stewardship action or awareness efforts on behalf of federal, state, local, private or Indian lands, and the natural and cultural resources they hold.

Nearly 800 nominations for the 1990 awards program were received through participating state and local programs, and 288 were selected as finalists. The finalists, announced by Secretary of the Interior Manuel Lujan, represent 45 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. Winners will be announced this month.

Local nominations included Florida Department of Natural Resources Marine Research Institute, St. Petersburg; Children's Actions for a Renewed Earth, Clearwater; and Tacachale District of the Gulf Ridge Council, Boy Scouts of America, Tampa.

Vice President Dan Quayle will serve as honorary chairman of the panel of judges for the awards program July 22 at D.A.R. Constitution Hall in Washington, D.C. All awards program participants will be invited to the ceremony.

Beta Sigma Phi Sorority marks Founders Day

Charlotte Johnson was named Council Woman of the Year and Bette Burpee was named Council Ideal Sister when members of Beta Sigma Phi Sorority celebrated Founders Day recently.

Arvilla Daeke, who has been an active member since 1959, was presented the distinguished International Founders' Day award and Beverly Blair was installed president of Sunshine City Council, the governing body of the sorority's many chapters.