1. Archive

Students excel in first history fair

Powell Middle School recently held its first school history fair. The fair, modeled after the science fair, was the first held at a Hernando County school. More than 300 students entered 224 projects. Sarah May and Cynthia Martino won best of show with a project entitled "History of Masaryktown." Other students who won awards at the fair are: David Cates, Greg Caraynoff, Melissa Font, Julia Klugewicz, Chris Steponaitis, Steve Whitten, Rebecca Shuster, John La Conca, Don Lupichuk, Sean McGunnigle, Stacy Payne, David Sutton, Lisa Martin, Joshua Jeffries, Mike Miranda, Philip Roman, Angela Marone, Jason Wagner;

Mark Stora, Ryan Rouse, Eric Wolfe, Kenny Miller, Troy Johnson, Patrick Payne, Mike Cullum, Jennifer DiGiovanni, Amy Revels, Allen Johnson, Tony Vichittia, Tom Conley, David Reichart, Melissa Colon, Jamie Reinhardt, David Miranda, Oscar Patscot, Mike Mannelli, Mike Esposito, Chris Martinez, Scott Kelczewski, Jason Costa, Steve Mahr;

Dan Grob, Kevin Boudreau, Jaclyn Baressi, Rolanda Hawkins, Michelle Isopo, Stephanie Bryant, Diane Zucharias, Jennifer Vilardi, Jill Andexser, Erin Slecta and David Meadors.

Seniors win in math, science, history, writing

Several Hernando County high school seniors were recently honored as Program to Recognize Initiative and Distinction in Education (PRIDE) winners during a school board meeting.

This year's top award winners in writing include Leslie Draper, Hernando High School; Jennifer Germaine, Central High School; and Denise Osborne, Central High School.

Math winners are Deepika Nimmagadda, Springstead High School; Lee Amento, Central High School; and James Wharton, Springstead High School.

Science awards were won by William Griswold, Springstead High School; James Wharton, Springstead High School; and Lee Amento, Central High School.

Winners in Social Studies include Sandy Rouse,Springstead High School; William Griswold, Springstead High School; and Leslie Draper, Hernando High School.

Colavita awarded 1991 memorial scholarship

Jacqueline Colavita recently won the Scott Nicholson Memorial Scholarship for 1991. She is planning to attend Samford University in Birmingham, Ala. She plans to earn a degree in journalism and theater arts.

Hernando High graduate

honored for psychology

Kelly Beth Holbrook, daughter of Dr. and Mrs. William Holbrook, was recently named Psi Chi during the recent honors convocation at Hollins College in Roanoke, Va. Psi Chi is the national honor society for psychology. Holbrook is a graduate of Hernando High School and is currently a junior at Hollins.

10 county schools get

"parent-friendly' title

Ten Hernando County public schools recently received the "Red Carpet" designation as part of the county's "Red Carpet Schools Program" co-sponsored by the Dept. of Education and the Sunshine State School Public Relations Association. The program was designed to recognize schools that are considered "parent-friendly" and encourage family involvement in education.

The ten schools that received the designation are: Moton Elementary School, Mitchel L. Black Elementary School, J.D. Floyd Elementary School, Pine Grove Elementary School, Westside Elementary School, Spring Hill Elementary School, Powell Middle School, West Hernando Middle School, Hernando High School and Springstead High School.

School employees to be honored at reception

Twenty Hernando County school employees will be honored during a reception at 7 p.m. on June 18 in the School Board room. Those being honored include:

Mildred Borges, Deltona Elementary School; John Chisholm, Annie Lawson, Phyllis Sheilds and Johneva Smith, Mitchel L. Black Elementary School; Betty Franke, J.D. Floyd Elementary School; Jean Garrett, Westside Elementary School; Robert L. Greim and Nettie Stone, transportation;

Stanley Johnson, Arthur Muzar and Martin Otruba, Springstead High School; Walter Marks and Jean Matala, Central High School; Richard McCleery and David Papa, Hernando High School; Ruben Mobley and Robert Wardlow, D.S. Parrott Middle School; Janis Wardlow, Eastside Elementary School; and Edna Willis, Brooksville Elementary School.

If you have any announcements you would like to share with our readers, please mail the details to Lisa Peeples, Hernando Times, 201 Howell Ave., Brooksville, 34601.

Up next:BIRTHS