1. Archive

Hospice of Hillsborough rewards volunteers

Published Oct. 13, 2005

Hospice of Hillsborough recently presented awards to more than 20 Hillsborough County volunteers. Awards went to Arlene Hargrave and Jane Wood for donating the most hours of service to Hospice during 1990. Hargrave worked 700 hours and Wood worked 500 hours.

Volunteers receiving awards for more than 1,000 hours (cumulative) of service included Joyce Singleton, Wilma Humphries, Martha Long, Sylvia Larkin, Marsha Dickey and Mary Jo Shenk.

The "1990 Outstanding Employees of the Year" were Lura Burnette, J.B. Hamner Miller, Carolyn Hoffman, Sylvia Larkin, Alexander S. Moffett, Bob Murphy, Carol Nelson, Harold Noone, George Sadler, Jane Shiveler, Lillian Striker, Louise Thompson, Rose Tucker, Fred Villiard and Jackie Wheeler.

Hospice is a nonprofit agency that provides home-based care to terminally ill patients and their families.

Student receives $3,000 award

Terry Edward Walter Jr., son of Terry Walter of Tampa, was awarded a $3,000 annual scholarship to attend North Central College, a comprehensive college of liberal arts and sciences in Illinois.

The four-year, renewable Presidential Scholarship was awarded after testing, interviews and a review of high school credentials. More than 270 high school students from 16 states, all ranking in the top 20 percent of their high school classes, competed for the awards.

Walter, a senior at Leto High School, was co-captain of the Leto band and treasurer of the Leto computer club. He received third place at the Leto Mu Alpha Theta Computer Competition and fifth place at the Hillsborough County Computer Competition. He plans to major in computer analysis.

Center names year's volunteer

Gasper F. Martino, veteran board member of the Children's Cancer Center, received the center's Pals for Life award for volunteer of the year.

Martino became affiliated with the center during the 1970s while his son was under treatment for childhood leukemia. When his son died, Martino became committed to support programs and services for other children and families experiencing the same suffering.

From 1986 to 1988, Martino served as president of the center for two terms. He has been a member of the board of directors for 14 years and has involved his business, Exxon Corp., in community fund-raising projects on many occasions.

The Children's Cancer Center is at H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute and is a private, nonprofit treatment center that provides comprehensive medical care, social services and financial assistance to more than 500 bay area youngsters with cancer or chronic blood diseases.

Gardener's landscape awarded

Elsie Caton of the Tampa Federation of Garden Club Circles was named a winner in the National Council of State Garden Clubs' competition to select the most outstanding member in each of seven categories. Winners were announced at the council's National Convention in Milwaukee.

Caton won in the landscape design category and was honored at the May 29 board of directors meeting of the Tampa Federation.

The National Council has more than 280,000 members throughout the United States.

Red Cross honors volunteers

The American Red Cross Tampa Bay Suncoast Chapter's 1991 Volunteer Recognition program was held recently at MacDill Air Force Base.

Volunteers honored included Glenda Clare, volunteer of the year for Tampa, and Elsie Gregory, volunteer of the year for St. Petersburg. Mary Skipper was named registered nurse of the year and Ada Appelton was named registered nurse of the year _ lifetime achievement. Florence Stootman was named licensed practical nurse of the year and licensed practical nurse of the year-lifetime Achievement.

Volunteer honors also went to Helen Keene, Ethel McGeorge, Joanne Stewart, Clint Coopernoll, Julie Kinney, Becky Bronson, Maria Hill, Ruth Bronson, Ruth Banosis, Tom Ashton, Mark Lenker, Lorien Camanse, Raymond Meade, Brenda Rouse and James Shimberg.

Members of the First Aid Youth Competition Team who won first place in the state, were also honored: Mark Lenker, Jennifer Johnson, Andrew Wall, Regina Fannin and Jennifer McCombs.

Cadet wins Gold Star status

Cadet Jon Michael Powers achieved Gold Star status at the Citadel, the MilitaryCollege of South Carolina, for the second semester of the 1990-91 college year.

A Gold Star is the symbol of high scholastic rating and is awarded to cadets who made grade-point averages of 3.7 or higher. The star is worn on either side of the collar of the dress and full dress uniform during the next semester.

Powers is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Mike Powers of Tampa.

Students win GTE scholarships

Six Hillsborough County high school students were named winners of GTE Corp. scholarship awards and will receive partial, four-year scholarships to the universities of their choice.

Students receiving GTE College Scholarship Service Awards were Michael Coccagnia and Melissa Via of Chamberlain High School, Jeffrey Casiglia of Gaither High School, Jill Johnson of King High School and William Reid III of Plant City High School. Yared Gabremariam of Tampa Preparatory School was named a GTE National Merit Scholarship Award winner.

The winners were selected by College Scholarship Service of Princeton, N.J., and National Merit Scholarship Corp. of Evanston, Ill., based on overall academic record, leadership, community service, extracurricular activities and outstanding talents and achievements.

Club names best young orators

Winners have been announced in the Boys and Girls Clubs of Tampa Bay's county-wide competition of the School Partnership Oratorical Contest. Students spoke on the topic "If I Were President," and qualified for the event by competing within their schools.

The winners were Bismark Manes of West Tampa Elementary, first place; Chuck Henderson of Broward Elementary, second place; and Michael Laker, of Christ the King School, third place.