1. Archive

Garden club ends season with luncheon

The Dade City Garden Club closed the season recently with a covered dish luncheon at the garden center. The luncheon meeting included installation of officers and also honored the outgoing president with a life membership in the Florida Federation of Garden Clubs. Mrs. J. Frank Changstrom, the personable past president of District VIII Florida Federation of Garden Clubs, was present to perform the installation duties. The new officers are: Joan Pryor, president; Bettyann Sayre, first vice president; Becky Peeler, second vice president; Betty DeWitt, recording secretary; Normeda Hope, corresponding secretary; Mary Young Smith, treasurer; and Juanita O'Berry, assistant treasurer.

Pat Douglas, chairwoman of Azalea Circle, presented outgoing president, Sue Porter, with life membership in the state club. Other active life members, including membership in both the state and national clubs, include Dempsey Webb, Anna Fairty, Elizabeth Thomas, Inez Jeter, Catherine Deal Henrich, Beth Hammond, Ellen and John Sunka, Picola Wallace, Bernice Griffin, Smith, and Pryor.

During the meeting, Dogwood, Hibiscus, and Hollyhock circles were presented with certificates of appreciation for their membership accomplishments from the National Council of State Garden Clubs.

Circle chairwomen for the upcoming year are June Booth, Dogwood Circle; Anna Jane Crouse, Hibiscus; Becky Montgomery, Hollyhock; Judy Morris, Magnolia; Inez Jeter, Poinsettia; and Douglas, Azalea Circle.

The club will resume their meetings after the summer.Anyone interested in joining is invited to attend.

The Zephyrhills Civitan Club will meet at 7 p.m. Monday at the Lions Den on Dean Dairy Road. At the recent Sunshine District meeting in Tampa, the Zephyrhills Club was recognized for the club's banner and a plaque was awarded to past president Larry Wills, for being an honor club last year.

Four members were present recently at Lakeland High School when the school chartered its new Junior Civitan Club.

At 2 p.m. Sunday, Zephyrhills club members will dress as clowns and visit the East Pasco Medical Center.

Civitan is an all volunteer international service organization for men and women who want to be involved in community service projects and develop new friendships. Anyone interested in the club, is invited to attend a Civitan meeting or call Bob Lang at (813) 782-0111.

Quail Hollow school installs officers

The Quail Hollow Elementary School recently installed officers for the 1991-92 year. School principal, Ginny Yanson, administered the oath of office to Donna Sanborn, president; Joan Piraino, first vice president; Patty Hippenmeier, second vice president; Peggy Wheeling, recording secretary; and Rita Brunner, treasurer.

After the installation ceremony, students demonstrated their talents in acrobatics, voice, instrumentals, dance and dramatics during a "Celebration of Excellence." Winners in the 4H Tropicana Speech Contest also presented their winning entries.

Beta Sigma sorority

club installs officers

The new chapter of Beta Sigma Phi Social Sorority, Laureate Beta Omega, recently installed officers. Sue McCullum, president of the sorority's city council, was the installing officer.

The new officers are Charlotte Crumb, president; Esther Hartley, vice president; Mary Lou Lang, corresponding and recording secretary; Kitty Turner, treasurer; and Nancy Smith, extension officer.

Chapters, Laureate Beta Omega and Preceptor Gamma Psi will meet Monday. For information, call Mary Lou Lang at (813) 782-0111.