1. Archive

Animal control named outstanding agency

Published Oct. 13, 2005

Pinellas County Animal Control recently received the Outstanding Agency Award from the National Animal Control Agency. County Administrator Fred Marquis congratulated and recognized Dr. Kenny Mitchell for the agency's outstanding work.Bosses are saluted

The Pinellas Association of Educational Office Personnel (PAEOP), Pinellas County schools, sponsored its "Bosses Night" banquet at the Sheraton Sand Key on May 16. The annual banquet is in conjunction with National Education Bosses Week. The 1990-91 Member of the Year and 1990-91 Boss of the Year were named at the banquet.

Evelyn Keller, who recently became the secretary to Lewis Williams, director of School Operations III and IV, was selected as Member of the Year. She was nominated by her previous boss, Johnnie Singletary, principal of Meadowlawn Middle School. Keller has been employed by the Pinellas County school system for 10 years and was Singletary's secretary for eight years.

Hugh Kriever, Area I Superintendent, was nominated by his secretary, Trellis Poe, and selected as the Pinellas County schools' Boss of the Year. He has been employed by the Pinellas County school system for 31 years and has been an area superintendent for the past six years.

Student is All-American

Ruth Smith, an elementary education major at St. Petersburg Junior College (SPJC), has been named to the Academic All-American Second Team for Community, Technical and Junior College Students.

The competition was sponsored by USA Today, the American Association of Community Colleges and Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for community, technical and junior college students.

Presidents of two-year colleges are invited annually to nominate students for the Academic All-American Team, which includes 20 members in each of the three teams selected.

Winners are selected in a three-step judging process administered by Phi Theta Kappa.

"We are pleased to participate in this competition to select and to honor the academic all-stars," said Phi Theta Kappa Executive Director Rod A. Risley. "We believe that their superior achievements reflect the overall scholastic excellence of the two-year college system in America. Furthermore, their superlative records of community service are indicative of the spirit of volunteerism that is so evident on our two-year college campuses."

Physical therapy students get award

Randy Diamond Strat, a student in SPJC's physical therapist assisting program, was named one of four recipients of the 1991 Outstanding Student Award presented by the Florida Physical Therapy Association. He is the only Florida junior college student to receive the award this year.

Michelle Lorraine Keys, also named as a recipient of this year's award as a senior at Florida A&M University, attained this award once before while in SPJC's program in 1984. Since 1983, SPJC has had seven students receive the award.

The requirements for the award included proof of membership, active participation in campus physical therapy programs and in chapter activities, community involvement and contributions to publications. Each winner receives a certificate and free fall conference registration or an invitation to the 1992 Leadership Conference with a $50 expense reimbursement.