Race official expects 1,000 entrants for Midnight Run

Published July 3, 1991|Updated Oct. 13, 2005

The 12th annual Kiwanis Midnight Run provides the usual certainties and uncertainties. With nearly 600 entries received as of Monday, the final figure may go well over 1,000 again this year, according to race director Henry Hardin. And with last year's winner Gavin Sloane in Colorado, there will be a new winner for the 10-kilometer race this year.

Luis Riveros, 23, of Largo and Tampa College, was runner-up last year and in 1989. He's entered but said he isn't in top shape. "I've been commuting on my bike and developing certain muscles which may not help my racing," said Riveros, a native of Peru.

Ron Murawsky, third in 1989 and second to Dror Vaknin at Friday's Radisson Sundown Beach race at Sand Key Park, is also entered. Vaknin will be at Atlanta's Peachtree Road Race on Thursday. Keith Batten and Gary Peters, third and fourth last year, will not be in the field.

In the women's division, defending champion and course record-holder Judy Mercon of Clearwater will be on the starting line. With Barbara Jarnagin entered in the 3K, and Lisa Vaill and Bonnie Ramsdell sitting it out, Mercon is the prohibitive favorite. However, with entries from 20 states and Canada, there could be a sleeper in the field.

Applications will be taken Wednesday starting at 10 p.m. in front of the Dunedin Causeway Plaza shopping center, on the corner of Alt. 19 and Curlew Road. The on-site fee is $10. Age-division awards (plaques) in 5-year groups will go five-deep. The 10K starts at 12:01 a.m. July 4 and the 3K at 12:08.

Previous winners of the Midnight Run and their times are:

1980 _ Marty Egal, 32:17; Loretta Simeon, 38:51;

1981 _ Matt Farmer, 32:21; Loretta Simeon, 38:48;

1982 _ Ron Strang, 32:06; Betsy Bachtel, 37:10;

1983 _ Bart Sellers, 31:40; Bonnie Ramsdell, 39:20;

1984 _ Bill Jenkins, 32:04; Bonnie Ramsdell, 37:07;

1985 _ Irv Batten, 31:05; Juanita Sequra, 38:35;

1986 _ Pat McDonough, 32:34; Beth Farmer, 37:27;

1987 _ Eric Helfrich, 31:49; Michele Farrall, 39:09;

1988 _ Chris Palmer, 32:12; Mary Lou Baldwin, 39:30;

1989 _ Matt Farnen, 34:26; Bonnie Ramsdell, 37:27;

1990 _ Gavin Sloane, 31:42; Judy Mercon, 36:23.