1. Archive

Professor's talk will be on San Antonio history

Published Oct. 10, 2005

Saint Leo College professor James Horgan will present a program on "St. Anthony Church and the Catholic Colony of San Antonio in the 1880s and 1890s" at 6 p.m. Sunday at St. Anthony of Padua Church on Massachusetts Avenue in San Antonio. The slide presentation program is free and open to the public.

Horgan, a member of the faculty since 1965, is chairman of the division of social sciences at Saint Leo College and a professor of history. He is the author of The Pioneer College: A Centennial History of Saint Leo College, Saint Leo Abbey, and Holy Name Priory; and City of Flight: A History of Aviation in St. Louis; and is co-editor of The Reagan Years.

Horgan is working on a publication that will review 270 historical places in Pasco County. It will be published by the Pasco County Historical Preservation Committee.

For information about Sunday's program, call the Rev. J. Dennis Murphy at (904) 588-3081.

Art show winners


The Zephyrhills Art Club recently had its second annual Members Only Juried Art Competition at the Alice Hall Community Center in Zephyrhills. The show featured more than 130 entries. The winners:

Oils: first place, Nancy Rogers; second, Sophie Mulligan; and third, Betty Hullinger. Honorable mentions were earned by Shirley Hartmann, Marion Reynolds and Rogers.

Watercolors: first, Vivian Lewis; second, Vicki Dykins; and third, Delores Sleziak. Honorable mentions were earned by Helen Burke, Sophie Mulligan, and Lenore Atwell.

Pastels: first, Betty Arnall; second, Natalie Wilson; third, Norma Ringle. Honorable mentions were earned by Natalie Wilson, Ruth Bickford and Lou Gaines.

Acrylics: first and second, Vivian Lewis; third, Betty Arnall. Honorable mentions were earned by Eleanor McCarthy, and two ribbons were awarded to Robert Blaesing.

Mixed media: first, Norma Ringle; second, Wanda Caldwell; third, Don Haynes. Honorable mentions were earned by Helen Burke, Arnall and McCarthy.

Betty Hullinger and Vivan Lewis tied for best of show, which is determined by popular vote. Both artists featured children as subjects in their oil paintings.

Judges for the show were Karen Phillips of Saint Leo College; Deborah Gillars of the Zephyrhills High School art department; and Isabel Harris, Zephyrhills artist and art instructor.

PHCC foundation

official to speak

The Dade City Woman's Club welcomes Harry Albertson as guest speaker at the 7:30 p.m. Monday meeting at the woman's club building on Palm Avenue, Dade City. A social period will begin at 7.

Albertson is the executive director of Pasco-Hernando Community College Foundation. He will provide an update on the Dade City Woman's Club's Ruth Touchton Memorial Scholarship. The scholarship is awarded to a Pasco Comprehensive High School girl each year. Michelle Brooks is the most recent recipient.

Louise Musgrove is chairwoman of the education program and she is assisted by Betsy Brownlee, Dean Hudson, Lois Palmer, and Louise Marcum. Call club president Nancy Duffield at (904) 567-7501.

Information about people and events in East and Central Pasco (including Dade City, Zephyrhills and Land O'Lakes) must be sent in writing one week before the event to Suzanne Hayes, Pasco Times, 301 E Meridian Ave., Suite 214, Dade City 33525. For information in East Pasco, call (904) 521-5757. In Land O'Lakes, call (813) 996-6796. Elsewhere, call (800) 333-7505.