1. Archive

Vanilla Ice (remember him?) is Razzie favorite

Vanilla Ice's Cool As Ice scooped up seven Golden Raspberry Awards nominations Monday and Sean Young got two bids for playing twins badly as Hollywood prepared to saute the worst of 1991.

Bruce Willis' Hudson Hawk and Dan Aykroyd's Nothing But Trouble both picked up six nominations for the Oscar-spoofing Razzie trophy, a golf ball-sized gold-painted raspberry with an estimated street value of $1.79.

The Razzie nominations come just two days before Wednesday's announcement of the Academy Award contenders.

The 12th Annual Golden Raspberry Awards, determined by more than 350 voters from 26 states and five countries, will be meted out March 29 at a "Press Conference Cum Performance Piece," the Golden Raspberry Award Foundation said in a statement.

Getting the biggest raspberry reception for 1991 was Cool As Ice, nominated for worst picture, worst actor (Ice), worst director (David Kellogg), worst screenplay (David Stenn), two worst new star nominations (including one for Ice) and worst original song.

Other worst picture nominees were Dice Rules, Hudson Hawk, Nothing But Trouble, and Return to the Blue Lagoon.

In an unprecedented double nomination for the same film, Miss Young was nominated as worst actress in Kiss Before Dying as the twin who survives and for worst supporting actress as the twin who's killed in the first reel.

Razzie officials cited Miss Young for her "pathetically puppet-like portrayal of two twins stalked by a psychopath in the risible murder mystery."

John Candy was nominated for worst supporting actress for appearing in drag in Nothing But Trouble.

Last year's worst actor winner, Andrew Dice Clay, was again nominated in the same category for Dice Rules. Another past winner, Sylvester Stallone, was nominated for the eighth consecutive year, this time for Oscar.

Competing with Miss Young for the worst actress award are past Razzie winner Madonna, for Truth or Dare, Kim Basinger for The Marrying Man, Sally Field for Not Without My Daughter, and Demi Moore for both The Butcher's Wife and Nothing But Trouble.

The awards are organized each year by John Wilson, a Los Angeles-area writer for movie advertising trailers and television commercials.