1. Archive

Class 2A state wrestling at a glance

Published Oct. 10, 2005

When: Friday, 3 p.m. Saturday, 10 a.m., with finals after 6 p.m. consolations.

Where: River Ridge High School. Take I-275 north out of Tampa to I-75. Exit at State Road 52. Go west toward New Port Richey about 20 miles to Moon Lake Road. Take a left (south) and continue 3 or 4 miles to the River Ridge subdivision on your left. Enter subdivision on River Ridge Boulevard and go left onto DeCubillus, which turns into Town Center Road. High school is on your right. Admission is $4.

Regional qualifiers: From Berkeley Prep, Tampa Prep, Tampa Catholic and Temple Heights: 103 _ Daniel Sherer (TP) and Kevin Montiel (TC); 112 _ Travis DelRosal (TC); 119 _ Jason Fay (TC) and Ryan Roberts (BP); 125 _ Andy Sterling (BP) and Bert Blackburn (TC); 130 _ Justin Fletcher (TP) and Jason Trina (TC); 135 _ Doug Bransfield (BP) and Alex Paloma (TC); 140 _ Joe Rowdan (TC) and Daniel Amparo (TP); 145 _ Alec Stall (TP) and Matt Zalansky (TC); 152 _ Blair Williams (TC) and Keith Chapman (TH); 160 _ Armando Chirino (TC) and David Mikos (BP); 171 _ Jorge Martinez (TC) and Troy Lancaster (TH); 189 _ Boni Tejedore (TC) and Al Kaplan (BP); 220 _ Jon Moore (BP) and Brad Mushinski (TC); 275 _ Brian Calzon (TC) and Albert Elia (BP).

Class 4A, Region II wrestling glance

When: Friday, 2-8 p.m. Saturday, 10 a.m.

Where: Brandon High School. Take I-275 to I-4. Follow I-4 to 301 S exit just east of Tampa. Go south on 301 to State Road 60 and go left (east) into Brandon. Turn left on Kings Avenue and go three blocks to dead end at Victoria. Turn left, and school is a block-and-a-half on the left.

At stake: Top four in each weight qualify for state tournament.

Regional qualifiers: 4A qualifiers from Armwood, Bloomingdale, Brandon, Chamberlain, East Bay, Leto, King and Gaither include: 103 _ Jimmy Rogers (Bl), Guy Rogers (K), Paul Parilla (C), Dennis Waz (L) and Alfredo Flores (EB); 112 _ Stein Edwards (Br), Stan Patierno (G), Aaron Diaz (C), Shad Dean (EB) and Dave Watkins (Bl); 119 _ Defending state champion Dennis Kitko (Br), Bill Lynn (G), Dusty Deese (L), Dennis Lane (C) and Kirt Kelsey (Bl); 125 _ Darrell Tabor (Br), Bobby Trinh (C), Dan Ballard (G), Scott Pomeroy (K) and Joyner (Bl); 130 _ Eric Trout (Br), Marwan Williams (K), Jeremy Hughes (EB), Al Montealegre (G), Mike Taphorn (Bl) and Steve Woods (A); 135 _ Dereck Tabor (Br), Dan Schimer (C), Joe Cardosa (EB), Kirt Osorio (L), Bill Westbrook (Bl) and Chris Whisner (A); 140 _ Darrin Westbrook (EB), Jon Gonzalez (Br), Jimmy Fox (G), Chris Topping (C) and Dan Taphorn (Bl); 145 _ Lon Passoff (C), Abdel Abu-Khdair (K), Mike Sumnick (Br), John Furby (RB) and Robert Brown (A); 152 _ Marcel Dinard (Br), George Fallieras (C), Todd Gobbi (EB), Adrian Pagan (L); 160 _ Tim Craig (Bl), Mike Reynolds (Br), Roger Castle (A), Kurt Hirshorn (C), Alec Morejon (L) and Harris Reynolds (K); 171 _ Thomas White (L), Brandon Robbins (Br), Tony Jolicoeur (K), Chris Sheets (G) and Kevin Ball (Bl); 189 _ Charles Guyton (Br), Richard Rubright (EB), Danien Butler (C), John Wright (K) and Scott Kimsey (Bl); 220 _ Paul Burke (Br), Richard Ficca (C), Guy Coolidge (G), Fred Wright (EB) and Dean O'Brien (Bl); 275 _ Eric Rivera (EB), Cory Churchill (Br), Tavaris Smalls (K), David Russ (G), Ryan Hillgruber (Bl) and Robert Suggs (A).

3A-Region III wrestling at a glance

When: Friday, 2 p.m. Saturday, 10 a.m., finals at 8 p.m.

Where: Auburndale High School. Take I-275 to I-4 and take I-4 through Lakeland to exit 21. Go south on Route 559 into Auburndale and around Lake Ariana, then to the Magic Market. Make a left there, then a right at next street, Bloodhound Lane. Bloodhound Lane ends at Bloodhound Trail. Gym is second building on the left.

At stake: Top four in each weight qualify for state tournament.

Regional qualifiers: From Jesuit, Jefferson, Robinson, Plant and Tampa Bay Vo-Tech: 103 _ Ricky Perri (Jef) and Nathan Gallant (P); 112 _ James Delossantos (Jes); 119 _ David Smith (TBT) and Greg Martin (Jes); 125 _ Charles DeCroes (P) and Amilkar Capo (R); 130 _ Mondie Richardson (Jef) and James Sultenfuss (Jes); 135 _ Xaviera Johnson (R) and Mike Piper (Jef); 140 _ Josh McDaniels (P) and Pete Aquaviva (Jes); 145 _ James Mellman (P); 152 _ Ed Salgado (R) and Makonen Myles (TBT); 160 _ Brian Quick (Jef) and Justin Amiro (P); 171 _ Torrance Combs (TBT); 189 _ Alex Cottrill (Jes); 220 _ David Apodaca (R) and Antonio Carswell (TBT); 275 _ Horace Peterson (TBT), Scott Baker (R), David Garland (Jes).