Clearwater Garden Club lists flower show winners

Published May 23, 1992|Updated Oct. 11, 2005

The Clearwater Garden Club has announced the winners of its 1992 standard flower show, "Over the Rainbow," held in conjunction with a recent tour of five homes and gardens in the old Clearwater Bay area.

Juliette Hahn of Island Estates took the top award in the floral design division; Marion Crane of Clearwater received the Creativity Trophy; Rose Moore of Safety Harbor won the Miniature Award; and Arline Giolli of Island Estates took the Novice Award.

Liz Buchanan of Safety Harbor took the top award in Horticulture Excellence and Louise Smith of Clearwater received the Arboreal Award.

Awards of Merit went to Mrs. Buchanan and to Zelda Nagle and MaryAnn Satryb of Clearwater and Dorothy Deth of Largo.

The Clearwater Garden Club's parliamentarian, Mae Keck, installed officers for the 1992-93 club year in ceremonies May 8 at the Bill Irle Restaurant in Clearwater. The installation ceremony marked the beginning of the club's 43rd year.

Mrs. Giolli was installed for a second term as president; Caroline Steen, first vice president; Pat Jacobus, second vice president; Pat Geyer, recording secretary; Helene Howell, corresponding secretary; Christine Vilcek, treasurer; and Dot Colt, assistant treasurer.

Directors are Mrs. Moore, Lucille Delmar and Cynthia Avance.

For information about the club, or to rent its clubhouse for meetings or weddings, call 441-9374.

Lions choose leaders

Carol Spann has been elected president of the East Clearwater Lions Club.

Evelyn Henry is first vice president; Walter Feuerstein, second vice president; Carl Bakelman, third vice president; Fran Bakelman, secretary; Buzz Marone, treasurer; Donna Clark, lion tamer; and Rose Benoit, tail twister.

Directors are Dave Moulton, Ray Brown, Tom Henry and Ed Donaldson.

Diane Noser is membership and program director and Hugo Prestera is eyesight chairman.

The East Clearwater Lions Club meets on the first and third Tuesdays of each month. For information, call 535-3222.

CASADO elects officers

Neal Alexander has been elected president of CASADO, a couples club in Clearwater.

Phil Currey is vice president; Kelly Nash, secretary; and Fred Campbell, treasurer.

New members of the board are Allison Jester, Kappy Koch, Janet McMullen, Scarlett Meyer and David Perkins.

CASADO is the Spanish word for couples. The Clearwater club, organized April 12, 1935, had its anniversary dinner-dance May 15 at the Clearwater Country Club.


David and Mary Miller of Palm Harbor plan to celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary with friends and family at a special Mass at Espiritu Santo Catholic Church in Safety Harbor.

The Millers were married May 23, 1942, in Rouses Point, N.Y. They came to this area in 1977.

They owned a bottled-gas company and, before retiring, he was a postmaster in West Chazy, N.Y.

They have three children and six grandchildren.

Information for the Good for You column may be sent to Pat Scarberry, 710 Court St., Clearwater 34616. Please include a contact name and phone number.